We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portabello's of Kennett Square

Portabello's of Kennett Square
115 W. State Street, Kennett Square, PA 19348
610-925-4984
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, American, Seafood, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of historic Kennett Square, Portabello's has something for everyone. Chef Owner, Brett Hulbert's menus offer tempting selections for lunch and dinner! Delicious burgers, soups and sandwiches along with signature dishes which include, Firecracker Shrimp, Mushroom Lasagna and Lamb Chop Schnitzel! Come visit us...we look forward to cooking for you!
Chadds Ford, PA
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stopped in for a quick lunch and wow this place is lovely - tablecloths, attentive service and great, interesting food. Chef owner - he comes and chats with everyone, I had the senegalese chicken wrap - delicious and the sweet potato fires were great. BYOB and they are very helpful about the entire area. Cant wait to try it for dinner,

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    48
    15
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A traveler's delight...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

On the first leg of a long northeastern road trip from our home in South Carolina, we made a stop in the Brandywine Valley to visit the Wyeth museum and other area attractions. We knew nearby Kennett Square had a number of restaurants and we studied TripAdvisor recommendations as well as comments from locals. We made the right choice in Portabello's, on a quiet Sunday night.

Warm and friendly service was paired with a fine meal. Warm bread was served with mushroom hummus and whipped butter with garlic. We then shared a tasty mushroom soup and a scrumptious Tuscan white bean soup. Next came an arugula salad with roasted beets, pecans and goat cheese, all ingredients well prepared and nicely balanced with each other. Our main course was a crab cake entree, with the emphasis on lump crab meat complemented but not overwhelmed by other ingredients.

As we finished up, we were paid a visit by chef/owner Brett Hulbert. I probed a bit for the ingredients in the fabulous white bean soup, one of which was bacon. Bacon is all the rage among chefs these days, and I've found too many instances where it's overused or misused, but not in this case, where the flavor of the soup was enhanced in a very subtle way that worked very well.

Chef Hulbert's passion for his restaurant and his cuisine were evident in our delightful post-meal conversation. We wish him well and expect that Portabello's will enjoy growing success in the years to come.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forked River, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“EVERYTHING was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I were doing the fireworks show at Longwood, this meal was almost better than the show . From the delicious spiced shrimp [bang-bang style] , then the excellent wedge salad, this meal was a lick the plate great. My wife followed with a special shrimp dish, and I had the veal mederra, which was incredible . The waiter was very attentive and the recommendation to visit the Flicker wine shop across the street worked perfectly. Great wine, excellent food, what more do you need?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHERN NEW JERSEY
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Picked this place based on TA. Very friendly place. Excellent service by Barb. We had the bread salad --- I had a veal dish that was excellent- My wife had the Mahi Mahi with mango sauce but she felt the fish was not as fresh. Large portions -- Not sure about value= seems like most of the places in KS are on the expensive side. Don;t knw why. The BOYB aspect helps (keep in mind we come from north Jersey and most places like this are more reasonable). Over all we liked this place and will try again next time we are in the area

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“warm & friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I had the portabello fries - a little disappointing and I did not like the sauce that was served with them. The special of the day was Moonfish ( a little like swordfish) good but the entire meal was not completely satisfying. I will try this restaurant again and orde something different.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portabello's of Kennett Square also viewed

 
Kennett Square, PA
Kennett Square, PA
 

Been to Portabello's of Kennett Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portabello's of Kennett Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.