We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hostess” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kennett House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennett Square
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kennett House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Kennett House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
503 West State Street, Kennett Square, PA 19348   |  
Hotel amenities
N. Syracuse
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hostess”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent three nights with our wonderful hostess Gilja. The Inn is immaculately kept and the beds are very comfortable giving you a great night's sleep. The Inn is on a corner on the main street through town but our rooms was still very quiet and restful. The breakfast that is prepared each morning is sooo good. The fruit was always fresh and the main entrée cooked wonderfully and full of flavor. From the Inn it is an easy walk into town where there are a number of restaurants (we ate at Le Verona twice which was excellent) and plenty of shops to browse through. There is plenty to do in the area including Longwood Gardens, Winterthur and several wineries. I would highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
55
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Gilja is a wonderful hostess! The Kennett House is delightful! It is immaculate & a wonderful place to call home for our wedding day/night. The food was fresh & yummy, yummy!! I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is a lovely place in Kennett Square, the small town near Longwood Gardens -- clean, comfortable, very good breakfast and accommodating owner/hostess. Would definitely stop there again when visiting Longwood.

Room Tip: One room has nearby private bath, others ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Ma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

we are a mature couple who visited Kennett Square from Boston to see the gardens and mansions near by- we had the Longwood Suite for 2 nights mid-week so very quiet- breakfast was superb as Gilja is an excellent cook- she helped us with restaurant suggestions- ate at Le Verona, an excellent Italian place- downtown a very short walk- home well kept and beautifully landscaped- recommend this B and B to anyone who is in the area and would prefer a small B and B to a large hotel atmosphere

Room Tip: Longwood Suite huge- shower but no tub- one room has bathroom in the hall- love being able to open w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a weekend at Kennett House during the annual Mushroom Festival in Kennett Square. Despite the crowds and hubbub associated with the festival, the bed and breakfast was a haven of tranquility and a step back in time.

The house is historically accurate and beautifully decorated much as it might have looked at the turn of the century. Gilja, the owner of the bed and breakfast, greeted us warmly and proved to be a master cook who not only prepared the meals but also served the plentiful, gourmet-style breakfasts. Gathering in the dining room each morning to mingle with other guests was a great way to start our busy days in Kennett Square,

The town is historic, beautiful and filled with good restaurants. We highly recommend Portabello's for its food and for the friendly owners who go out of their way to greet you and to ensure that you are having a pleasurable dining experience.

At the bed and breakfast, we stayed in the Longwood Suite, a large, comfortable suite containing a separate sitting area- it was like having our own apartment for the weekend. The room and the entire inn were spotlessly clean. Furnishings in the room were a bit dated and the carpet is beginning to show wear and tear. I am also not a fan of dispensers of shampoo, soap and conditioner in the shower. I would much prefer a selection of name toiletries so that I could at least recognize the products that I am using. The 18 oz. container of Trader Joe's lotion was not appealing to use as a moisturizer.

I also didn't like leaving my room key at the front desk every time we left the inn- it may have helped the innkeeper keep track of her guests'' comings and goings, but to me it appeared to be a potential invasion of privacy.

All in all, we had a great time and I would recommend the Kennett House B&B to those who are visiting Kennett Square and/or the many historic places located in the Brandywine Valley area.

Room Tip: Be sure to inquire if your room has an ensuite bathroom. One of the rooms has a private bathroom bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Kennett House gets my highest recommendation. Every detail was well thought out by Gilja, the proprietor. A 1910 construction, this beautiful granite building has been tastefully decorated and comfortably furnished. Breakfast is a work of art, delicious with presentation worthy of a fine-dining restaurant. Gilja is friendly with no hint of being overbearing, and the decor in the public areas as well as our guest room is as well. We were there with friends and had 2 rooms, all four of us were similarly impressed.

Room Tip: Longwood Suite was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I am a travel agent and had never stayed in a B&B, before, so I thought I needed the experience. While planning a two night trip to visit Longwood Gardens, I decided that the time had come to try this type of experience, and I think I am spoiled, now. I can't believe, however, that other B&B's will live up to this standard.
Kennett House is owned and operated by a very sweet woman, originally from Japan. She has done a fantastic job in creating a wonderful experience for her guests. We were very impressed with our whole visit.
The house was constructed with hand-cut granite, which is beautiful. My husband raved about its uniqueness along with the beautiful woodwork inside. Everwhere was decorated in an elegant, but cozy manner. Gilja, the owner, has an amazing eye for details, from the prefectly deorated rooms to the beautiful presentation of her "to die for" breakfasts. We both enjoyed our conversations with this lovely lady.
We stayed in the Longwood Suite, which has a separate sitting room and private bath. The decor fits the period of the house, but with all the comorts and amenities needed. We were the only guests during our stay, since it was on Monday and Tuesday, so we didn't get to experience having other guest in the house. The house had several cozy areas where guests could mingle, but since we were alone, we enjoyed our own little parlor and the relaxing rockers on the front porch.
In this wonderful atmosphere, Gilja served us a breakfast fit for a king. Everything was fresh and beautifully presented. On our first day back at home, my husband and I lamented about how we missed beginning our day with such a memorable meal.
We will definitely return, and several of our friends are very tempted to come with us.
Thank you, Gilja.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kennett House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennett House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 503 West State Street, Kennett Square, PA 19348
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Kennett Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kennett Square
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennett House Bed and Breakfast offers guests the casual elegance of a magnificent granite foursquare mansion, just three miles from Longwood Gardens. Built in 1910, this Brandywine Valley, Arts & Crafts style B&B is nestled in the historic borough of Kennett Square, and features beautiful chestnut and rosewood woodwork, antique furnishings, and oriental rugs. The Kennett House is just a few minutes from Longwood Gardens, Winterthur Museum, Brandywine River Museum, and Hagley Museum. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kennett House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.