We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OWNERS/ EMPLOYEES VERY RUDE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lickdale Campground

Lickdale Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jonestown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lickdale Campground
Save
You added Lickdale Campground to your Saves list
11 Lickdale Road, Jonestown, PA 17038   |  
Hotel amenities
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“OWNERS/ EMPLOYEES VERY RUDE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A group of friends and I decided to stay here the night with our RV. We are younger people, ages 25-30. The owner/ employee ( who states she ran the place for 12 years) harassed us the entire time. She basically told us that “she doesn’t like people like us staying at her campground”. She said this to us after we did nothing wrong. We were harassed multiple times during our stay for doing nothing wrong. We were being very stereotyped. The neighbor campers even came over to us and asked us what the lady was making a scene about because they didn’t think we did anything wrong. They even said that we were being so quiet they didn’t even know we were there until the lady starting yelling at us for no reason. So if you are not “a family with a husband, wife and kids” don’t stay here because you will be harassed the entire time. My friends husband couldn’t even pick up his child without a lady in a golfcart chasing him around the campground saying “you need to pay five dollars”.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our group of 7 campers spent the Halloween weekend and had a fabulous time. The staff could not have been more friendly. The reservation process was also very simple. We had nice large, level sites grouped together as requested.There were great activities for the kids around the Halloween theme. Included pumpkin carving, costume contest, trick or treating, etc.The kids also enjoyed the nearby playground!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Seemed like a good option b/c High Meadow was filled. Nice shade, as opposed to KOA up the road. Pulled in and was checked in by a team of kids. Can't fault them for anything they are kids and they seemed to be good at what they were doing. Ordered two bundles of wood, which they delivered to the site after they led us to our spot. Noticed a lot of perm sites with out buildings to store their stuff. Got all set up and place looked a bit run down. Playground/ dog crapping area needed some maintenance. We stayed to ourselves bc the perm ppl make the non perms feel unwelcome. They do whatever they want to do around there. Cross through your campsite kids running like wild animals not being tended to and big @ss dogs barking all day. Then the bugs came out. We overall had a nice weekend due to being there with good friends. Was happy to leave this place in the dust.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Not sure what others saw here, but my family and I loved the place. Staff was incredibly helpful, and even delivered food/wood to our site. Shuttled to Hershey by the owner, who was friendly and informative. The tent sites were large and spaced adequately, and there was enough for the kids to keep themselves entertained, between the game room and tubing. Admittedly, the siren was a bit unnerving, but we only heard it once in a four day say. The bathrooms were very clean. There was no junk and the permanent sites (probably about 1/3 of the total) were not overbuilt. Maybe other commentors saw the 55 gal. drums that were watering the saplings throughout the day-I thought it was a good idea, but to each his own. I will be going back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Called to make reservations for the RV Weekend 2012 in Pa, reservations were availavble. Tentatively book a site. Campground offered transportation to the Park. Great no need for a vehicle. WRONG !! They would ONLY transport you if you bought a amusement park ticket from them expalined that we were here for the show and they would still not transport us to the park. Immediately CANCELLED the reservations, only to be continously called stating we have NOT paid for our reservation. Office staff has much to be desired and have NO CLUE as to what is going on. Would not recommend.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We talked to the owner at the York Camper Show earlier in the spring so while we were camped yesterday 7/15 at another campground nearby we thought we would check this one out. I entered the store from the front and found the reservation desk. There were 3 girls working and they all ignored my husband & I. Finally one reluctantly came over and asked what we wanted. I ask her if we could tour the campground and also if there were any sites open for a specific date in August. She was so rude and arrogant we almost walked out immediately. But she finally said yes there were sites open on the weekend that we wanted. Great I replied, can you mark those sites on the map and we can check them out as we tour the place. "NO, we do not give out sites until you check in" just as simple as that - 1st red flag. We took our car pass and left that rude young girl and proceded enter the campground - next red flag was all the junk everywhere, the place is a dump. Maybe it is under construction but I doubt it. Everything looked run down. The sites along the creek looked really nice but the rest of the place looked like the people lived there all year round. We left quickly and needless to say we won't be staying here ever.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmitch9999
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay at Lickdale campground.
good: good sized wooded sites , some along Swatera creek
Tubing trip avail.
Well stocked general store with reasonable menu
Ice cream shop!!
Easy access from I81
walking distance to 6 or more fast food restaurants
No insects
Family campground
Well shaded

Not so good:
Besides creek activities, and a playground there is not much to do here.
WiFi limited to 120 CONSECUTIVE minutes per day without charge, I couldn't get the access on my iPad after that even after clicking buy now for additional minutes
staff at the front desk could not resolve issue with Internet, owner was supposed to stop by 'sometime' we never did hear back from anyone on it
Tube rental cost does not include shuttle service, we were overcharged, check your receipt
limited 10 or so cable channels
Some road noise from interstate

We liked the nice setting along the creek, tubing was a nice activity, most of the campers when we were there we either stopping in for the night off interstate en route north or south or multiple family groups together.

We had an ok time, just prefer campground with more activities (no swimming pool here) and better wifi access.

Room Tip: Creek side sites are worth the small surcharge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lickdale Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lickdale Campground

Address: 11 Lickdale Road, Jonestown, PA 17038
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Jonestown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Jonestown
Number of rooms: 90

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lickdale Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.