We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only real hotel with good food in Johnstown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Market St., Johnstown, PA 15901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Johnstown
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The only real hotel with good food in Johnstown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

If Johnstown Pa. is on your travel list this is the only hotel with full amenities like a full service restaurant, indoor pool and banquet facility. Its walking distance to everything in downtown... flood museum, War Memorial Arena.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear rytr,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Downtown! We greatly appreciate hearing from our guests! I am so happy to read you enjoy every amenity our hotel has to offer; we truly do have something to offer to every one of our guests. Hope to see you again soon!

Many thanks,
Melissa Bird
Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    72
    25
    15
    9
See reviews for
45
27
14
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I am a die-hard Marriott Rewards Member but there isn't a Marriott in Johnstown PA. The next best thing was the Holiday Inn. This was a clean and well kept downtown hotel with nice rooms and a good restaurant. Parking was tight but they had a garage too; all parking was $5.00.

Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear JMMcD,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Downtown on your trip to Johnstown! I am happy that you decided to give us a try and even more pleased to read that you loved your stay! I would suggest signing up for our Rewards program, as well, for those times that your “go-to” is not available – I think you will be pleased with the program. We hope to see you again soon! Enjoy a wonderful day and thanks for taking time to share your feedback; we love hearing from our guests.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa Bird
Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poquoson, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed for the 4th of July weekend. It was a very nice hotel. It was in the middle of Johnstown in a good area. We walked the town streets. Subway was very close. The pool was great. The bed was clean and comfy. I would recommend this Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor ok room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Michael S,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Downtown and for taking the time to post this review. We love reading what our guests have to say. I’m so happy to read that you enjoyed Johnstown and our hotel. Hope to see you again! Thank you.

Sincerely,
Melissa Bird
Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phenix City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were there in 2011 and parked in the garage and rust got all over our truck. Had to call 3 times before I could speak with General Manager...Spoke with him and he said next time your in the area I will comp you a couple of nights..My husband never got all the rust off so we sold the truck...

We had a family emergency last week so we return for 6 days so I called the GM Monica left 2 messages she would never call back so I went down early one morning and she was there. Long story but no notes on the acct. and she said nothing she could do. I ask to speak with her Manager . Called left message and he did call me back. He said he was the GM at that time and he didn't recall speaking with me and if he had he would have filed a insurance claim.(No insurance claim was never mention to me ) . He couldn't do anything because he didn't say that. I guess I dreamed it. Lol.....And they had fixed the garage now.....Well I don't know what they fixed because they are stuff hanging down all over it..ALSO THEY CHARGE 5.00 Per DAY FOR PARKING NOW....Parking is awful there you have to park in the rusty garage........It's not my fault that the GM didn't make notes but I guess I paid for it....I would not stay at that hotel...You pay a lot and don't even get breakfast....We will never stay at that property again. We will be staying at the Comfort Inn next time. It's not worth the money and they want take care of you if you have a problem....

Room Tip: Go to another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Shelia O,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback; we enjoy hearing from our guests. I do hope your family emergency was taken care of last week. In 2011, we did have a different General Manager than we currently do, which is why there are no notes on your claims. We are not aware of promises made by prior management and therefore, cannot honor them, as there is no signed documentation. I do apologize for your frustration. We did start charging a nominal parking fee in August of 2011; our guests enjoy the luxury of ample onsite parking in our secure lot and garage in the City of Johnstown. The Holiday Inn Downtown is a full-service hotel, and like other full-service hotels, does not offer complimentary breakfast. We do have an award-winning onsite restaurant where our guests can enjoy meals daily until 10:00 PM. We do assist our guests to the best of our ability and each situation is different. If you would like to discuss in further detail, please contact me at the hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback. I do hope that one day, you will consider coming back to the Holiday Inn Downtown. We would love to have you as our guest.

Sincerely,
Melissa Bird
Group Sales Manager
814-535-7777
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johnstown hotels

Dunning
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Looks nice from the out side, lobby is clean and inviting. Room was So. So. Whole thing is too expensive for what you get. $135 per night? Come on. No free breakfast? WiFi slow. Carpet in room Lumpy.....yes that's right...LUMPY! Bed way too firm. Fan in Bathroom did not work. AC/Heat unit has face broken on it. I have stayed at Cheep motels that were better than this. Restaurant charges ten dollars per plate for a crappy breakfast buffet consisting of scrambled eggs, link sausage, pancakes, cereal, fruit, dried out potatoes, NO TOASTER or toast, dried out sweet rolls. half cup of coffee and OJ. yet you get the same at a La Quinta, Comfort Inns, and others and its free there. Over priced place. Not worth it to me to return.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Oldfoxbob,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Downtown during your recent trip to Johnstown. We enjoyed having you as our guest. We are a full-service hotel and like other full-service hotels, breakfast is not complimentary. However, we do have an onsite, award-winning restaurant; I read that you did visit. I am passing your comments along to our kitchen regarding the breakfast buffet – these are the first comments I have heard like this from the weekend and we will be looking into these. I would be interested in learning your room number so that our maintenance staff can attend to the issues you pointed out that you found within your room. I do hope you will come back and give us another chance to show you just how great we can be. Thank you again for taking time to share your feedback.

Enjoy a great day,
Melissa Bird
Group Sales Manager
814-535-7777
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

There aren't too many hotel options when visiting Johnstown. We stayed at the Holiday Inn when we were in town recently for a wedding. This is an older downtown hotel that has been nicely renovated. It was clean, well-maintained and had plenty of on-site parking in either a surface lot or and adjacent garage. NOTE that there is a $5.00 a day charge for parking. The hotel was nothing fancy - just a good solid value for a good hotel room.

The lobby was modern, bright and pleasant. The staff at the front desk was very professional and personable and they were quite helpful with directions, etc. - even taking the time to print off MapQuest directions for me.

The rooms were clean and quiet although I should note that this a very pet friendly hotel and we saw several large dogs staying in the hotel. Not of the dogs caused any issues (no noise, etc) but if you have allergies - you might want to inquire about rooms on floors without pets.

Good choice for a nice, clean, reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Jim,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Downtown! We loved having you as our guest. Thank you also for taking time to share your thoughts about your stay. I’m happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was helpful. Hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again,
Melissa Bird
Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Hotel was nice for this kind of town...there's not much there. Front desk was friendly.

We enjoyed the room and the pool.

Pool towels should be provided in the pool area though.

Some of the wait staff for the conference room were a little... off??

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Ryan A,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Downtown during your recent trip to Johnstown. We greatly appreciate your business, as well as the time it took for you to post this review. I do hope you were able to pick up a Visitor’s Guide to give you some great ideas on things to do in the area in your free time. Pool towels are provided at the front desk for our hotel guests; we like to ensure we are never low on clean towels, so this allows us to keep an eye on the inventory. Thank you again. Hope to see you soon!

Melissa Bird
Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown

Address: 250 Market St., Johnstown, PA 15901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Johnstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Johnstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Route 56 in downtown, the recently renovated Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown provides the surroundings and hospitality to make your stay a memorable one. Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck offers a casual atmosphere and delectable menu of classic American & Italian cuisines. Enjoy a favorite drink and snack in Harrigan's Lounge. 159 Beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites feature amenities including an in-room coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and full-size ironing board. The Holiday Inn offers an indoor pool, sauna, whirlpool and fitness room. The Johnstown Holiday Inn is conveniently located to: Frank J. Pasquerilla Conference Center, Cambria County War Memorial, Greater Johnstown Technology Park, Johnstown Flood Museum, Incline Plane and the University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown. Close proximity to DRS Laurel Technologies, Lockheed Martin Corporation, and Memorial Medical Center. Our experienced staff will go the distance with a 3,519 square feet Crown Ballroom of function space for banquets, receptions and meetings for groups up to 350. Four distinctive meeting rooms, catering services, and A\V equipment are available. The Frank J. Pasquerilla Conference Center is conveniently located within walking distance from the hotel. The Conference Center has 31,895 square feet of available space, which can accommodate many large groups visiting the Johnstown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown Hotel Johnstown
Johnstown Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.