We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place to stay in unfortunate circumstances” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Market St., Johnstown, PA 15901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Johnstown
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“a great place to stay in unfortunate circumstances”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed for two nights with my family in the winter time...the rooms were all wonderfully clean, comfortable and just right for us all. The restaurant served us whenever we popped in, even though the staff was ready to go to their own Christmas party...great service with a smile. No problems and all went well, i would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Johnstown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear patlikestravel,

Thank you for your review of our hotel! I am sorry to hear the reason for your stay was unfortunate - thank you for choosing to stay with us. I will pass along to our housekeeping staff that you were happy with your clean room – they work very hard to keep our entire hotel clean and ready for guests. It is also very pleasing to me to see that our Harrigan’s staff served you with a smile. Thank you for recommending us to others you know travelling to Johnstown. We do hope to see you again, under better circumstances. Thank you again.

Kind Regards,
Melissa Bird, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    72
    25
    15
    9
See reviews for
45
27
14
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaver, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was our first time staying in the downtown area as we usually stay closer to the Galleria at a Comfort Inn and we were very impressed with our stay at Holiday Inn. At check in the desk clerk was polite and friendly and he even gave me a free gift for being a rewards member. Nice little touch. The lobby was clean and welcoming. Our room was on the sixth floor and had a view of the hospital next door. Being downtown, the views are limited to neighboring buildings but I wasn't expecting anything great. Our room was very clean as was our bathroom area as well. The bed was VERY comfortable and we slept very well. The walls were pretty thin and I could hear conversations from across the hall but overall the hotel was quiet.
Didn't use pool but it looked clean and inviting.
We did, however, use the restaurant and although on the pricey side (as hotel restaurants can be) the food was delicious and we enjoyed our dinners. Staff was friendly, and the piano player even came to our table and asked for song suggestions. Which she then played. Nice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear g_locks86,
Thank you for your review of our hotel! We greatly appreciate all reviews our guests provide , as they allow us to recognize what works and what needs improvement to ensure all of our guests enjoy a comfortable and delightful stay. I’m glad you were able to try our hotel during your last stay in Johnstown and even more pleased that you were impressed. We train all of our staff to be polite and friendly with our guests. We recently went through an entire property rennovation – glad you like what we did in the lobby and rooms. I agree – the beds are very comfortable! I will pass along your compliments of a clean room and bathroom to our housekeeping department; they work very hard to make sure our rooms are ready for our guests when they arrive. We do you decide to stay with us again on your next visit to Johnstown! Thanks again for your positive review!

Kind Regards,
Melissa Bird, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed for one night for a business trip and was pleasantly surprised by the amenities of the hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. They have a business center that's open for 24 hours which I used to browse the internet and print/copy some stuff - free of charge. Free wifi in rooms is awesome! The hotel had clean sheets and towels, and comfortable beds. Cable TV was nice. The neighborhood around the hotel is really old, but about 10-15 minutes drive away from malls and good restaurants. Elevators are a bit old but not an issue for me. A few cozy, nice little restaurants down the street.. Vending machines in each floor.. I had a good night's sleep before my meeting in the morning. Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear sweetdoctor,

Thank you for sharing details of your experience while recently staying at the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown. We take pride in our amenities and friendly staff and are happy that you were pleased with both, especially our business center and comfortable, clean beds. Glad you found your way to the shopping areas and additional eating options. Maybe next time you are here, you can eat at our on-site restaurant, Harrigan's Cafe and Wine Deck, which has an extensive WINE SPECTATOR award-winning wine list. Hope your business meeting went well while you were here, too.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next visit!

Melissa Bird
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austintown, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Room was clean and quiet, had a view of the incline, nice to see it lit at night. Pool area was also clean, hot tub and sauna were relaxing. We didn't eat there as they wanted $20 more for breakfast, price overall not very competitive with other hotels in area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear palefoot:

Thank you so much for sharing details about your positive experience at the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown! We are happy to hear you were pleased with your room, the hot tub/sauna, and beautiful view of the Inclined Plane. Hope you got to check out the Stone Bridge, too, while you were here - it looks great at night, too. We look forward to having you as our guest again!

Thank you!
Melissa Bird
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I were there during the Columbus Day weekend to go to area attractions like the Flight 93 Memorial, Johnstown Flood Museum, Frank & Sylvia Pasquerilla Heritage Discovery Center, Allegheny Portage Railroad, and the Horseshoe Curve. We chose the Holiday Inn because it seemed like to best place to stay, based on Tripadvisor reviews; we normally don't stay at Holiday Inns because of their less than stellar reviews. Contrary to recent reviews, the front desk staff was quick to check us in, and they were very friendly. Also, we discovered that our room was noisy due to being next to the elevator and it is above the front entrance of the hotel, where the hotel had music playing over a speaker system. The next day, before having breakfast, we asked the front desk if we can switch to a quieter room, and the staff said they can do that as soon as other rooms are vacated and cleaned, which may take a while because the hotel was fully booked but many guests were leaving that Sunday. After we had breakfast, as we passed by the front desk to head for the elevators, the clerk we spoke with barely an hour before flagged us down and said she had a room for us and we can move into it! Earlier, she had kindly said that it may take until early afternoon for a room to be ready. The new room was just what we needed for the remainder of the vacation.

Both of the rooms we stayed in were clean and the beds were comfortable. The furnishings were modern and the bathrooms had lots of countertop space. A refrigerator and a microwave were in each room, so if you didn't always want to eat at Harrigan's for breakfast, which we chose not to on our last morning there, we were able to eat in our room and quickly be transported to the Amtrak station by the hotel's shuttle van.

If we visit Johnstown again, we will stay in the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in "07" are noisy; the numbers ending in "32" are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown! We strive to give the best customer service that has come to be expected of our location, and appreciate the kind words. We look forward to having you as our guest again!

Thank you!
Melissa Bird
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Our company has stayed here many times over the last year because of the proximity to a company we visit. It appears as though the rudest most ill-mannered folks in the area get hired to work at the front desk. The housekeeping staff is friendlier & seemingly caring. The offenses are many and range from little things like ignoring you when you arrive to larger issues like not being willing to take your reservation via phone or extending your stay but not alerting you that you'll need an updated key because you'll be locked out of your room. Oh and they never apologize for errors or neglecting to fulfill the most basic requirements of meeting guests' reasonable needs. Derrick the evening Supervisor is the only one who is considerate and guest-focused. Too bad his strength isn't shared throughout.

ROOM: Every room we've stayed in has a musty/mold like oder, likely due to air vents not having been cleaned in ages...in some rooms the air shuts off in the middle of the night - adding insult to injury.

We need to work in Johnstown for another month & we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmalloy250, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi Samantha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I would like to apologize for the service that you received from the staff at the front desk, but appreciate your comments about our housekeeping staff as well as the Front Desk Supervisor, Darrell. A great guest experience is our top priority, and I assure you that is how our teams are trained, despite your recent encounter. I am so sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than comforting to you, and hope you give us the chance to make it up to you!

I hope that you do not let this experience tarnish your faith in us. We take our customer reviews very seriously and really use them to better ourselves in the future. In fact, we have scheduled a management meeting to discuss the issues and how we can improve our service. Because of your willingness to share your thoughts, the staff at the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown can only get better from here.
Thank You,
Cassie Malloy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johnstown hotels

Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The room was satisfactory. There was only one desk clerk on when we arrived to check-in and she was having a social discussion with a young man while ignoring our having to wait 10 minutes. The restaurant was way too expensive. The food was good but not excellant. The wine was over priced for the quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Phyllis D,

Thank you for the review of our hotel that you recently posted on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your taking the time to make us aware of the service issues you encountered. I have taken note of your comments regarding the front desk and the restaurant. Rest assured these will be addressed with the appropriate departments. It is my sincere hope that you will consider giving us the opportunity to serve you again should your travels bring you back to Johnstown, PA.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown

Address: 250 Market St., Johnstown, PA 15901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Johnstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Johnstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Route 56 in downtown, the recently renovated Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown provides the surroundings and hospitality to make your stay a memorable one. Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck offers a casual atmosphere and delectable menu of classic American & Italian cuisines. Enjoy a favorite drink and snack in Harrigan's Lounge. 159 Beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites feature amenities including an in-room coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and full-size ironing board. The Holiday Inn offers an indoor pool, sauna, whirlpool and fitness room. The Johnstown Holiday Inn is conveniently located to: Frank J. Pasquerilla Conference Center, Cambria County War Memorial, Greater Johnstown Technology Park, Johnstown Flood Museum, Incline Plane and the University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown. Close proximity to DRS Laurel Technologies, Lockheed Martin Corporation, and Memorial Medical Center. Our experienced staff will go the distance with a 3,519 square feet Crown Ballroom of function space for banquets, receptions and meetings for groups up to 350. Four distinctive meeting rooms, catering services, and A\V equipment are available. The Frank J. Pasquerilla Conference Center is conveniently located within walking distance from the hotel. The Conference Center has 31,895 square feet of available space, which can accommodate many large groups visiting the Johnstown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown Hotel Johnstown
Johnstown Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.