We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Market St., Johnstown, PA 15901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Johnstown
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I were there during the Columbus Day weekend to go to area attractions like the Flight 93 Memorial, Johnstown Flood Museum, Frank & Sylvia Pasquerilla Heritage Discovery Center, Allegheny Portage Railroad, and the Horseshoe Curve. We chose the Holiday Inn because it seemed like to best place to stay, based on Tripadvisor reviews; we normally don't stay at Holiday Inns because of their less than stellar reviews. Contrary to recent reviews, the front desk staff was quick to check us in, and they were very friendly. Also, we discovered that our room was noisy due to being next to the elevator and it is above the front entrance of the hotel, where the hotel had music playing over a speaker system. The next day, before having breakfast, we asked the front desk if we can switch to a quieter room, and the staff said they can do that as soon as other rooms are vacated and cleaned, which may take a while because the hotel was fully booked but many guests were leaving that Sunday. After we had breakfast, as we passed by the front desk to head for the elevators, the clerk we spoke with barely an hour before flagged us down and said she had a room for us and we can move into it! Earlier, she had kindly said that it may take until early afternoon for a room to be ready. The new room was just what we needed for the remainder of the vacation.

Both of the rooms we stayed in were clean and the beds were comfortable. The furnishings were modern and the bathrooms had lots of countertop space. A refrigerator and a microwave were in each room, so if you didn't always want to eat at Harrigan's for breakfast, which we chose not to on our last morning there, we were able to eat in our room and quickly be transported to the Amtrak station by the hotel's shuttle van.

If we visit Johnstown again, we will stay in the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in "07" are noisy; the numbers ending in "32" are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown! We strive to give the best customer service that has come to be expected of our location, and appreciate the kind words. We look forward to having you as our guest again!

Thank you!
Melissa Bird
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    71
    24
    13
    9
See reviews for
42
27
12
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Our company has stayed here many times over the last year because of the proximity to a company we visit. It appears as though the rudest most ill-mannered folks in the area get hired to work at the front desk. The housekeeping staff is friendlier & seemingly caring. The offenses are many and range from little things like ignoring you when you arrive to larger issues like not being willing to take your reservation via phone or extending your stay but not alerting you that you'll need an updated key because you'll be locked out of your room. Oh and they never apologize for errors or neglecting to fulfill the most basic requirements of meeting guests' reasonable needs. Derrick the evening Supervisor is the only one who is considerate and guest-focused. Too bad his strength isn't shared throughout.

ROOM: Every room we've stayed in has a musty/mold like oder, likely due to air vents not having been cleaned in ages...in some rooms the air shuts off in the middle of the night - adding insult to injury.

We need to work in Johnstown for another month & we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmalloy250, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi Samantha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I would like to apologize for the service that you received from the staff at the front desk, but appreciate your comments about our housekeeping staff as well as the Front Desk Supervisor, Darrell. A great guest experience is our top priority, and I assure you that is how our teams are trained, despite your recent encounter. I am so sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than comforting to you, and hope you give us the chance to make it up to you!

I hope that you do not let this experience tarnish your faith in us. We take our customer reviews very seriously and really use them to better ourselves in the future. In fact, we have scheduled a management meeting to discuss the issues and how we can improve our service. Because of your willingness to share your thoughts, the staff at the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown can only get better from here.
Thank You,
Cassie Malloy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johnstown hotels

Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The room was satisfactory. There was only one desk clerk on when we arrived to check-in and she was having a social discussion with a young man while ignoring our having to wait 10 minutes. The restaurant was way too expensive. The food was good but not excellant. The wine was over priced for the quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Phyllis D,

Thank you for the review of our hotel that you recently posted on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your taking the time to make us aware of the service issues you encountered. I have taken note of your comments regarding the front desk and the restaurant. Rest assured these will be addressed with the appropriate departments. It is my sincere hope that you will consider giving us the opportunity to serve you again should your travels bring you back to Johnstown, PA.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bumblebeetuna
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed over the weekend and had to unclog the drain in the shower. The wad of hair in the drain was enough to fit inside a baseball. Told management about it at checkout and never received a phone call about a refund. This ordeal was gross and someone staying one of your rooms shouldn't have to unclog your drains. Why do you pay your maintenance staff? This hotel is aesthetically pleasing in the lobby, but the room was less than to be desired.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear JiggyjangoV,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry about the clogged drain in the bathroom. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort it may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colliers, West Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our room was clean and spacious. We were greeted and check in was swift. The room was quiet and the TV was fantastic. We were next to the elevator and could hear it going up and down all night, but once I put earplugs in, I was fine. Plenty of hot water, everything was clean. No complaints here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! All of our hotel rooms have new flat screen TVs and refrigerators to help make your stay feel more like home. As a note for your next stay - if you are unhappy with being in a room next to the elevator, please feel free to visit us at the front desk and inquire if any rooms located further away from the elavators are open. We would be happy to check for you and see if we can move you to another room before you even unpack! We can't wait to have you back for another stay!

Thank you!
Melissa Bird
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Better than average Holiday Inn property. Pretty impressive entrance and lobby with cheerful front desk staff. Cool looking hallways, nicely decorated, lots of working drink and ice machines and an artistic 'kneel wall' which was not to be sat on (or presumably kneeled on). The room was fairly large with a really comfy king-sized bed, small couch and coffee table, desk and chair. Super clean. Very comfortable feeling room, would have been happy to stay there more than 1 night.

There's a really large onsite bar/restaurant with a small outdoor patio. The blonde bartender with the wonky make-up and psycho eyeballs should look for a career in the military. She's really not cut-out for work in the hospitality industry.

Breakfast staff was awesome. The buffet seemed like a good value at $10 including coffee and juice but the trough of scrambled eggs were not like any eggs I've ever eaten. How do you mess up scrambled eggs? I think they could have been powdered eggs if such a thing still exists. Nasty. Juice, sausages, muffins and fresh fruit were all good. Toast would have been nice.

Good location. Walking distance to the Cambria County War Memorial, 10 minutes tops, so if you're going there this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was located in downtown Johnstown, but were very impressed with the hotel itself. The lobby and restaurant are beautiful - and look like new. The restaurant food was great. We normally don't eat in hotel restaurants but arrived after a long day in the car and didn't want to go out again. The rooms were well decorated and very clean and comfortable. The only downside to the hotel was that there is not really much around it downtown to walk to. The Inclined Plane is a few blocks away as is the Flood Museum and War Memorial but the area otherwise is a little too quiet for walking around in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for noticing the recent remodel of our hotel! In 2011 we underwent an extensive $2 million top-to-bottom renovation and are very proud of the beautiful property we have to offer! I will be sure to pass your kind words along to the restaurant/kitchen staffs as well as the housekeepers for a job well done. We are within walking distance of a variety of area attractions you listed such as the War Memorial and the Incline Plane, as well as restaurants and other businesses. Next time you are in the area please inquire to the front desk staff about things nearby to do. We would love to assist you in any way we can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown

Address: 250 Market St., Johnstown, PA 15901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Johnstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Johnstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Route 56 in downtown, the recently renovated Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown provides the surroundings and hospitality to make your stay a memorable one. Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck offers a casual atmosphere and delectable menu of classic American & Italian cuisines. Enjoy a favorite drink and snack in Harrigan's Lounge. 159 Beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites feature amenities including an in-room coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and full-size ironing board. The Holiday Inn offers an indoor pool, sauna, whirlpool and fitness room. The Johnstown Holiday Inn is conveniently located to: Frank J. Pasquerilla Conference Center, Cambria County War Memorial, Greater Johnstown Technology Park, Johnstown Flood Museum, Incline Plane and the University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown. Close proximity to DRS Laurel Technologies, Lockheed Martin Corporation, and Memorial Medical Center. Our experienced staff will go the distance with a 3,519 square feet Crown Ballroom of function space for banquets, receptions and meetings for groups up to 350. Four distinctive meeting rooms, catering services, and A\V equipment are available. The Frank J. Pasquerilla Conference Center is conveniently located within walking distance from the hotel. The Conference Center has 31,895 square feet of available space, which can accommodate many large groups visiting the Johnstown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown Hotel Johnstown
Johnstown Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.