We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Johnstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Johnstown to your Saves list
Knights Inn Johnstown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1540 Scalp Ave., Johnstown, PA 15904 (Formerly Rosewood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Johnstown
Latrobe, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ok for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were in town for a sporting event and needed a place to stay overnight. The hotel is an older hotel. The actual hotel is separate from the front desk. My children, ages 9, 11 & 14, have been spoiled by staying at Hampton's or that scale of hotel. They were not impresses. It was a hotel that my family would have stayed at when I was a kid. It was clean, but small. It had only the basics and that was ok. If you aren't picky and can do without extras, it is a good deal. I should also say that other hotels were around $100 more per night!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
6
3
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

On work trips, I want a cheap hotel... But I still have certain standards. Knights Inn was worth it to me. I got my room for $44 a night, so for that price I am expecting clean sheets, a clean room, and hot water. This hotel met that well. I like that they don't have those gross hotel duvet covers; the bed had a white thinner comforter on top, that is washable.

But, since I am an expensive hotel girl a heart, I will tell you what I didn't like, so you are prepared. The shower curtain is feels way too close in taking the shower... And you know that isn't washed every week. This was a motel, that they closed (walled) in. Yes, a little weird... But funny enough, before it was a Knights inn, 3 years ago, we had drove past this place and thought it was scary! Things have changed a lot in 3 years. But back to being a closed in motel... Your only window is the "front" and the hallway light is so bright it is easy to lose concept of what time of day it is... The bright hallway light still manages to come in thrust the night. Light is important to me, so I notice things like that.

But if you can get this place for less than $45, for a work trip, totally I worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel latched on to the Knights Inn name. Now they will have corporate resources to help with advertising and upgrading.
I spent 2 nights here because of a wedding. For the money it was ok. The public areas were all very nice and newly updated. The rooms were a bit strange to say the least.
1. each floor had its own door to get into. You couldn't go from the first to the second floor with out going outside.
2. The rooms were all solid concrete. There was no cell service in the rooms because of this.

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. 2 maids had quit and so the young man who does maintenance was helping to clean the rooms. I asked for extra towels and toilet paper and it was brought right to the room.

I would not have stayed here if it had not been for my attending the wedding.

Hopefully they will start working on updating the rooms. That would bring in more people I'm sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuBois PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I can over look a few flaws in a motel, if the price is low enough - however this motel is fairly expensive, at $380 a week.
Here are a list of issues I have with this place
1: 80's style motel
2: Mortar is falling out of the bricks
3: Some of the bricks are crumbling
4: The drain on the sink in my room is broken
5: Burns in the bathroom counter top
6: AC spits out luke warm air
7: Older TV set
8: They used magic marker to write the room numbers over the doors
9: Drywall in the hallway is cracking
10: Exposed electrical wiring were lights use to be in the hall ways

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johnstown hotels

robesonia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

As a college graduate, i found it hard to believe i couldn't find the door to get to my room.ODD. Front wall of room was all window with a curtain that didn't cover the entire space.ODD. The light from the hall lit up the room.ODD. Coffee pot dirty and used.ICK. Shower curtain moldy and towel rack fell off the wall.ICK. No thermostat control...room was like a sauna even though it was cold outside.ODD. TV wouldn't stay on if you turned off the lights. ODD. Can't review continental breakfast...didn't attempt it...just wanted to leave.SAD.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, MI
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is a great value and an awesome find. The property was recently purchased and is being renovated. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. I was skeptical when I first saw the motel because the overall design is unusual, but I enjoyed my stay completely. When the renovations are completed, I believe this will be a gem in the lodging choices in Johnstown. There is a lounge/restaurant on the premises as well and the food is enjoyable. As a representative property of Knights Inn, I am impressed. Most Knights Inns I just don't find pleasant, this is the lone exception. Great for Wyndham rewards as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bumpass, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This Inn formerly called, Rosewood Inn, recently bought and "refurbished" to a Knights Inn. I'm still trying to figure out what they refurbished! This has to be the most customer unfriendly hotel, (service and hotel design) I've ever stayed in. Lobby/dining/bar/restaurant are in separate building from all the rooms. No convenient way to get from rooms to lobby etc except walking out to the street. Who thought of this one? No ice machines near rooms so had to get ice from lobby, which meant walking around buildings and street to get ice. Maid service was questionable. Shower barely worked. Rooms dark and dingy, poor lighting. I'll never stay there again and told them that during checkout. The location of the hotel was ideal for Thunder in the Valley which was their only good point. I had requested a first floor room, which I did not get and was told they were booked solid. Interesting that there were only 2 other vehicles in the parking lot the first 2 nights we were there. Booked????

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Johnstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Johnstown

Address: 1540 Scalp Ave., Johnstown, PA 15904 (Formerly Rosewood)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Johnstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Johnstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Johnstown 2*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Knights Inn Johnstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Johnstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.