We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Theatre Dr., Johnstown, PA 15904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Johnstown
PA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Dog friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night while visiting family for the holiday. The rooms were clean and the pillow assortment was awesome. Large variety at the breakfast buffet and a nice large area to enjoy it. The staff at the desk was very friendly and efficient. Lots of space to walk my dog.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We do love our 4 legged furry friends as well as their human owners. We hope to see you again in Johnstown in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    26
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
31
14
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Comfort Inn for a 4 day trip and the people there were really nice. My granddaughter loved the pool which was warm enough for my 10 month old granddaughter to get in also. The air conditioner didnt work properly in my kids' room and as soon as I went to the front desk they immediately sent someone there to fix it. The staff was very professional. No complaints except the rooms were a little smelly! I think it was because they were in the middle of renovations but overall the experience was great. Thery had happy hour, continental breakfast, indoor pool, and small lounge. Nice hotel for the money. The best part of all is that Walmart and other stores were right across the street! Convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Deirdre,
Thank you for making us your CHOICE when visiting the Johnstown. We are currently under going some much needed renovations. Please come back and see the newly renovated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnstown
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Good location near restuarants and shopping. Still enjoyed the stay here, this year. The rooms were updated and fresher than last time. The bed is still comfortable and the pillows are the best of any hotel I've been in (even the luxury ones). These pillows look like little squares but they are fabulous to sleep on! Glad we came back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear J.S.,
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review regarding your recent stay.
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. Thank you again and hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Had an absolutely great stay at this hotel. Rooms were clean and the area is great. You can even walk to shop that includes a 24-hour Wal-Mart for those last minute items or snacks!! They have a lot of great features and would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Room are nice and spacious!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Jeanne,
Thanks for making the Comfort Inn & Suites your choice when visiting Johnstown! Hope to see again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My mom and I recently stayed at this property for two days well visiting friends. I just wanted to thank Carol who checked us in for the helpful information regarding the pool, and where to find soup at 9:30 at night. Becky, who checked us was very pleasant and informative on areas that were safe and good areas to relocate.

The hotel was comfortable, breakfast was average, housekeeping staff was suburb. We stayed in 413, only complaint was the air/heat unit wouldn't shut off, and made a loud noise during the night. My only recommendations are to maybe make the eggs scrambled, instead of circle(it was't your normal tasting eggs. The hot tub in the pool was a little dirty, but the pool was warm, and great for a night swim.. Here's a hint if you go during the week, no one really uses it.

Overall, great place, excellent location to shopping and restaurants were right there especially my favorite Hoss's. Will come back again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Darlene,
Thank you for taking the time to write this response about your stay.
I have passed this comment onto Carol and Becky. We are very fortunate to have the wonderful staff that we have. We have won numerous award because of them.
I have notified the maintenance department about your comments regarding the AC unit in room 413. Thanks again and hope to see you again in Johnstown in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland,US
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I planned to stay for two days and extended it for a third day. That should mean something.

First off, something has to be said about the simple things done correctly that make make or break a hotel stay. The staff, from the desk, to the bar, to the cleaning people all did their jobs competently. Every person I dealt with was friendly and helpful.

Second, this is a Comfort Inn, it is not the Ritz or a high end spa resort. If you want fancy, don't go here.

Anyway the hotel was overbooked, due to some college event, so they upgraded our room. I guess better to upgrade the senior citizens than a bunch of college kids. The room was a suite, with a double whirlpool tub and a separate living/dining area. Nice.

The hotel has a small simple bar. It wasn't open when we arrived but they said if we wanted anything they would get it. That was nice and thoughtful.

It has a small pool and hot tub that is just next to the lobby and bar. That was good for families with kids.The young ones could be in the pool and the elders in the lobby could watch them.

Breakfast was provided, again nice and simple and the staff kept up with the demand for food. Did I mention a hotel full of college kids. They had two of the 'make your own waffles' grills, eggs, sausage, breads, toasters, cereals, fruits, donuts, coffee and juices. Simple clean and functional.

Within walking distance is a dozen places to eat and just as many to shop.

So, the plan was for us to spend Friday/Saturday night there, have an active day on Sunday then drive home Sunday evening (3-4 hours). But we were comfortable enough that we decided to spent another night and drive home on Monday after a good night's rest.

Oh yeah, we ate breakfast again. Love those waffles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for the kind words about our property. It means the world to our staff when I share the great comments we receive. They take great pride in our property and try to make every guest feel like they're at home. Thanks again for a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our entire family has been coming here for a family reunion over Labor Day weekend for twenty years and it is our home away from home. We love this hotel and our kids do too but unfortunately we are at a crossroads with its condition. Last year when we were there the yogurt and cream cheese were spoiled due to poor refrigeration. The manager readily gave that information to us. If you know it....fix it.! The rates at this hotel are not cheap and generate enough funds to provide sufficient refrigeration. We were appalled at how nasty the breakfast attendant was when we brought this to her attention. She could have won an oscar for lack of customer service skills or personality in general. The hotel rooms smelled like smoke and everything and I mean everything is just plain old with the carpet as the biggest offender. We collectively made a decision not to write a letter to the management since we were told renovations were planned. Before renting our 8 or so rooms and before changing our hotel entirely we made a call a few minutes ago hoping against hope they had renovated as they told us last year they were going to do. When I talked with the front desk clerk he told me that they had only renovated the "jacuzzi suites" which there are nineteen of. When I asked what those renovations were he said "you know" they put new "jacuzzi's " and I said did they put in new carpet, curtains, bedspreads, air conditioners etc...? As they were the smoke filled or dirty items we noticed or equipment that didnt work well and his answer was no. How very sad they we will be abandoning our favorite hotel and family gathering place for two decades because of their inability to keep up with cleanliness, keep their customers safe from harm regarding food intake at their breakfast bar and provide a smoke free , relatively germ free environment by removing the twenty year old dirty curtains, carpets and bedspreads etc......hopefully the corporation will pay close attention to the loss of long term customers and pressure the management to keep up or get out!!!!!!!................

Room Tip: Go to another hotel until they invest in their hotel and realize their customers are disgusted with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Freshness7636,
I want to first thank you for the past 20 years of business that you have given us, and hope to see you and your family for the next 20 or more years.

I would like to apologize for the rudeness of the breakfast attendent. This is totally unexceptable. We have a wonderful staff and have won numberous awards because of them.

I want to let you know personally that we have been doing on going renovations at this property. We have gone 100% non smoking as of last year and did a full renovation of the pool area that was much needed last April. We started to renovated the whirlpool suites last winter and soon will be completed. We have replaced some of the whirlpools and put in new vanties and flooring in some of the rooms. We have even replaced some of carpet with a new vinyl flooring that looks like hardwood. We have replace all the bed linens. You now have a choice of soft pillows or firm pillows on all the beds. New down alternative comforters.We also have started to do some renovations of the public areas as well.

I hope that before you decide to change hotels that you give us one more chance to show you that we have done some improvments to the property and that we do apprieciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 455 Theatre Dr., Johnstown, PA 15904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Johnstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Johnstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Laurel Highlands region, the Comfort Inn & Suites® hotel is less than one mile from the University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown. This Johnstown, PA hotel is minutes from the Johnstown Flood National Memorial, the Cambria County War Memorial Arena, the Pasquerilla Performing Arts Center concert hall and the Johnstown Inclined Plane, the world's steepest vehicular inclined plane.The John Murtha Johnstown-Cambria County Airport is only three miles away. The Johnstown Industrial Park is one mile from the hotel.A movie theater and a variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are minutes away. Be sure to visit the on-site Comfort Zone lounge, featuring a wide-screen television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Johnstown
Comfort Inn Johnstown
Johnstown Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.