We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even close, the best restaurant in the area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Back Door Cafe

Back Door Cafe
402 Chestnut St, Johnstown, PA 15906-2729
814-539-5084
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 149 Restaurants in Johnstown
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Portage, PA USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not even close, the best restaurant in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Drinks are great. Food is wonderful and the atmosphere is sophisticated and intimate. Never had a bad experience and eat here when I can. I always order the soup. There are several entree's that I favor. Quality is always foremost. Yummmm!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    30
    15
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great find in Flood City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We visited based on the online reviews. Our appetizer was the shrimp, cheese, and hungary pepper puff pastry pizza. Very tasty, but needed some seasoning. The handmade pasta dinner was also good, but the noodles were over cooked and not drained well. We got the impression that the regular chef wasn't in the kitchen, so not sure what to make of the meals. Drink list is extensive. We might go back if we're in the area, but I'd be hoping for better seasoned dishes. The staff are really nice. Very courteous and able to assist with menu suggestions. Atmosphere was low key, something you'd find in a more metropolitan area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Try it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a very cozy place, lots of drink options. The food is really great compared to what else is in the area. You can tell they really care about food. Next time I'm in Johnstown, I'll be there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“completely unexpected kind of wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

there are probably all kinds of small places to grab a decent bite in Johnstown, but, there are probably very few that have the ambition to match the kind of cuisine one would think only be found in major metros with enough foodies to care about quality seasonal ingredients. this is the kind of place one would hope to have at home in their own neighborhood. it was nearly impossible to resist ordering any of the delightful sounding specials, but we wanted to see how good regular menu items were - crepes, soups, salads, pizzas and the like. all exceeded expectations. there was also a nicely curated cocktail menu. the men's bathroom is a must see for those interested in historical representations of women. I was told the women's bathroom has an equally unique decorative style.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, caters to loyal locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I eat here when I'm in town on business, usually with at least one local. The food is great, the atmosphere is cozy and grown up with a little whimsy. Find a local who is known to the staff, and bring them along. An otherwise cool/professional interaction becomes intimate and inventive. Ask for recommendations and try them!!! Worlds best mushroom soup.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Door Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Back Door Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back Door Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.