We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Overll Experience In Johnstown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Back Door Cafe

Back Door Cafe
402 Chestnut St, Johnstown, PA 15906-2729
814-539-5084
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 152 Restaurants in Johnstown
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Johnstown, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Overll Experience In Johnstown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This restaurant always does a fantastic job. Out of town guests from DC and NYC often tell us this is as good as it gets when we take them there. Everything made from scratch, and creative chef's creations, coupled with a unique cozy atmosphere set this appart from other local options.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    17
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A must go to place if you're in Johnstown PA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Thank goodness for this restaurant. I've been traveling to this area for a while and I always make it one of my MUST spots to eat. This area isn't known for their restaurants and this is definitely a gem among all the mediocre places in this town.

The menu changes frequently and it's alway a wonderful surprise to see what they are serving from the local farms. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and very willing to modify the menu for dietary needs.

Oh, they are closed on Monday and reservations are strongly recommended since it is not that large of a restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really don't get it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I read the reviews and was especting a nice evening. What I got was very overpriced and over rated poor food. A hostess described a very tasty sounding half chicken flavoredr with a spicy rub and juicy inside and some delicious sounding potatoes only to return and advise me they didn't have potaotoes tonight, really?. Even McDonalds has potatoes. What I got was a dry tasteless piece of chicken with some rice a roni. (The description of the rice sounded great too). I assume the atmosphere is described as "quaint", let me interpret that for you, it means crowded and uncomfortable. NEVER AGAIN and I will also warn my friends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is not a place you would find on your own unless you were a local. If I could give partial stars I would actually give a 3.75 No much to look at from the outside but nice atmosphere inside. Some nice menu choices and entrees were reasonably priced. Bringing my rating down just a bit were the price of very tasty but undersized a la carte dish as well as (2) $7.00 desserts. Overall a pleasant but slightly overpriced experience. Pride of ownership was obvious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best gourmet restaurant that Johnstown has to offer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are looking for a place to treat yourself to a gourmet meal on a special occasion or otherwise, this is the place. There are few tables (part of the restaurant's charm) so make a reservation. Chef and manager are extremely helpful and knowledgable about their meal offerings and wine list. If you have never tried duck or think you won't like it, this is the place to try it. The lamb chops melt in your mouth and the sweet onion baked in cream is to die for. The desserts are eclectic and interesting. In my humble opinion, give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Door Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Back Door Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back Door Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.