We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pappys needs to install some lights!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pappy's Family Pub

Pappy's Family Pub
1020 Eisenhower Blvd., Johnstown, PA 15904
814-266-8691
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 151 Restaurants in Johnstown
Restaurant details
Somerset, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pappys needs to install some lights!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This place was so dark. It really made me wonder why. I couldn't really tell if its a clean place or not and I like to know these things. The decor was really outdated. The food was average. I have been here twice and both times it was just ok. The food was served very fast and the waitresses were very friendly. They have a game room with a few arcade games in it and the children like this.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Food is good. Place needs cleaned tho.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We visited here on 9-15-13. The place is so dark it is hard to see anything. The sunroom had crumbs and dirt everywhere. Our hostess did wipe off the table and chairs before seating us. We were attended to promptly and often(not too much to be annoying). The food was really good, even my 6 year old ate all his. But the bathrooms are totally disgusting! They smell like nasty cat liter. There was a can of Lysol disinfecting spray on the sink ledge. The faucets and sinks are covered in rust. The toilets were both unflushed and nasty. I didn't want to use the bathroom, let alone wash my hands. Yuck! There is a game room and a mini gold course here also. The game room is darker than the restaurant itself. Hard to see anything. The place needs lighting and cleaned.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“I LOVE PAPPY'S!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We frequent Pappy's for trivia on Saturday nights. What a great family event! They run specials on pizza/wings during trivia, which is even more of an enticement to come. The servers are all very friendly and start to recognize you when you come in. It truly is a family pub. They run great specials on stromboli during the week for lunch. I recommend anyone to stop in here when they are hungry. All the food is great - I love the stromboli.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Another Comfortable Old Shoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Although it's seen a couple different owners over the years, Pappy's is virtually unchanged since opening in the mid-1970s.
The menu is uncomplicated, service is good and the food is above average fare.
Tuesday is 1/2-price pizza night, and with 37 million and 3 screaming kids in the main dining area, the accoustics are simply overwhelmed.
But the Atrium offers a quiet respite from the din.
Other nights are no louder/no quieter than anywhere else with a wide-open dining area.
FREE ENTERTAINMENT - you can watch your pizza being tossed, built and baked.

Pappy's isn't a 4-star dining experience - but the food is good, dependable and inexpensive.
GREAT place to take kids.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappy's Family Pub also viewed

 

Been to Pappy's Family Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pappy's Family Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.