We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat here at your own risk” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nyko's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nyko's Restaurant
935 Scalp Avenue, Johnstown, PA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 145 restaurants in Johnstown
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Actually the restaurant has American, Korean, Italian & Greek food. Also sushi. Interesting menu. Worth including on Trip Advisor. Tables cloths and cloth napkins!
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Eat here at your own risk”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place doesn't know what it is... A bar, sushi, Italian, etc. ...and non of it is worth eating. I ate here twice and that was it for me. The Italian food has a terrible spicy sauce. And the fish was really poor and not very fresh.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    4
    9
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I am local to Johnstown, and I never would have expected there to be such a great sushi place in the area. There are some many choices at a decent price. Its also nice that i can go there to eat with my husband that doesn't like sushi and they have tons of choices for him as well.

If you go for sushi get the LOVE ROLL. Its delicious.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Nyko's has excellent sushi and variety of dinner choices. Service has always been very good. Sometimes it's difficult to get a table on busy nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ecclectic menu with something for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a great restaurant to go with a group because everyone will find something to please. We had two vegetarians and an ominivore and we were all satisfied. Coming from the DC area on a visit, I wasn't sure what to expect from the sushi bar, but it was very good. We had California roll, the tofu appetizer and edamame. For entrees the fish of the day was excellent as was the gnocchi in an alfredo basil sauce with garlic toast. We tried two desserts, carrot cake (alright) and chocolate cake (super rich but very tasty). The venue is large, but with a bit of a cafe feel, with booths, tables and outdoor seating options. The waitstaff is friendly and very responsive. I will definitely come back when I am in the area again and want an upscale meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Who knew Johnstown had sushi that was this good?! But try the other menu items, too :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I've visited Nyko's twice now for sushi and wow, I couldn't be happier. The Hawaiian roll was an unexpectedly good combination, and the sashimi was perfect.
Everyone was more than satisfied with their meal here. We had several in our party that ordered from the main menu (not sushi) and they were pleased. I have to say that we weren't sure, given the range of the menu -- Ribeyes, Eggplant Parm, Sushi, and Pork Normandy all in one place?! -- but the kitchen delivered on everything at our table.
The service was friendly and accomodating.
Next time we visit Johnstown, we will certainly go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nyko's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nyko's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nyko's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.