We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting history lesson and cheap entertainment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnstown Inclined Plane

Johnstown Inclined Plane
Johnstown, PA
814-536-1816
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Johnstown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built to remove citizens from Johnstown in case of a flood, this is the world's steepest vehicular inclined plane.
Lewistown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Interesting history lesson and cheap entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Lots of history to take in, for $4 round trip. You can even take your car up and down if you would like. Amazing views from the top.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    70
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

While travelling through PA - we drove through Johnstown and stopped to ride the incline. This is when I learned about the horrible flood that destroyed this beautiful little town. The incline was really cool and my family thoroughly enjoyed it. The historic story about Johnstown was very interesting, as well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“What a view!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

You get an amazing view of Johnstown & the area!!! Visit the museum and learn about the terrible flood that wiped out the town, very humbling!!! A great place to visit & the ride is very awesome for all ages!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Married on the Observation Deck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Over 10 years ago, we were married on the Observation Deck of the Inclined Plane. We treated our guests on a trip to the bottom where we picked up the Renaissance Trolley to our reception destination. Visited with our son this year to show him where it all began. He loved the Incline and the views it offered. Great experience!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A bit of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is by far one of the best scenes of Johnstown. It has an overview of the town and gives some of the history of the Johnstown Flood. Their is a lot of history at the bottom of the Inclined Plane meaning Johnstown and also at the top which is Yoders Hill. I think that the Inclined Plane should be tied in the the Park Service which does alot with the Dam Site and the Flood Museum. There is a small fee to ride the incline but worth it, also you can ride with your vehicle to the top or bottom. And it has a gift shop at the top and a restaurant just a few steps away.
It is known as the World Steepest Vehicular Incline Plane.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnstown Inclined Plane also viewed

 

Been to Johnstown Inclined Plane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnstown Inclined Plane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.