We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced poor quality.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harrigan's

Harrigan's
Holiday Inn, 250 Market Street, Johnstown, PA 15901
814-361-2620
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Harrigan's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 145 restaurants in Johnstown
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Vine Street
Transit: Hotel parking garage with elevator, optional stairs, well lighted. Surface level parking lot also available.
Description: Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck has been in operation serving the Johnstown community for over 30 years. Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck is a Mediterranean/American restaurant specializing in foods from Italy, France, and Spain. Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck has an extensive WINE SPECTATOR award winning wine list. Ninety-five percent of our wines have Wine Spectator or Wine Advocate scores of 90 points or higher. Harrigan's offers 190 by the bottle, and 31 by the glass. Harrigan's hosts several wine events throughout the year, bringing in internationally famous wine makers.
1 review
“Over priced poor quality.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Had chilean sea bass. Had to send it back 3 times. Instructed chef on how to cook fish. Had mgmt taste how fish should taste after 3rd attempt. Hard to believe they actually have a bonified chef.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Harrigan's, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear rchristian6,

Thank you for taking time to post your review of our restaurant. We do appreciate your feedback. I am so sorry to read you did not enjoy your dining experience. I do hope you will consider coming back to see us in the future so that our new chef can show you just how great our food can be. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Melissa Bird
Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    9
    15
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't order the Strip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Bartender Lori was Nice. However She menu drops and runs. I was never offered water with my cocktail. I started with the lobster bisque which is 4 star worthy. Just a tab salty. I ordered the dry aged strip medium. It came cooked well and even though i usually can eat a well cooked steak, this steak had no flavor, was very dry and i only got 3 bits in. The Potatoes and vegetable medley had no taste, salt and pepper didn't help.

if it wasn't for other guest complimenting seafood dishes, and me enjoying the bisque, i would have given this place 1 stars.

if by chance the chefs or owner reads this Why would you ever serve a 30 dollar steak cut in half? also it was slow, and you had waiters sitting at the bar watching the hockey game, I tended bar for a few places, and was never allowed to sit at the bar in uniform or on the clock

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Harrigan's, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Noturfriend,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us in Harrigan’s Café and Wine Deck recently. We appreciate your business and the time it took for you to post this review. We truly appreciate the feedback our guests provide. I will agree with you that our lobster bisque is delicious! I am very sorry to read you were not pleased with the rest of your meal, however. We would love to have you give us another chance to show you just how wonderful our food can be – we welcome you back anytime you are hungry while in town. Thank you again for your review. Enjoy a wonderful day.

Regards,
Melissa Bird
Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“We didnt expect so much and got taken by a positive surprice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We are so happy we checked into hotel rather late and was hungry after we had been driving most of the day expect for our visit to Luray Cavern in Virginia so we asked if we could get a table here so we did , and in we came and now I am sort of sorry that we dont remember the name of the waiter , but she was not so young , but a great waiter that could her task in buisness thats for sure, I ate a great steak and husbond got some fish the girls also got some nice food
, the food the service was so good so we actually decied right there and then that we wanted to eat there the next evening too which we did then I got some surf and turf or what they called it with a crabcake and filet mignon on plate still food was great -this was some of the best food we got on our trip in the States this year so I can recommend anyone to go here to eat , and its so nice when You are staying at a hotel to be able to go eat and then go back and have a rest in the room afterwards if needed

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Harrigan's, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear mutter38,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown and for vising Harrigan’s Café and Wine Deck. We are thankful you chose to eat in our restaurant and are even more thrilled you enjoyed the service and food. We hope the next time you are in Johnstown, PA, that you come visit us again!

Warmest Regards,
Melissa Bird
Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

So husband and I were in town for a wedding (reception) that was being held at the Holiday Inn the next day - we were also celebrating our upcoming anniversary. We decided to go somewhere nice. In all of Johnstown, this seemed to be THE place to go - eating at a hotel wasn't on our radar, but we made reservations anyway. When we arrived we were quickly shown to our table by the window. The hostess also explained to us that Octoberfest was being celebrated in the restaurant with the live band and that we could either have the special buffet or order off the menu. We were also given a chance to look at the buffet before ordering, which helped.

We went with the buffet (all German food) as it gave us more choices and was actually less expensive than ordering off the menu. Although it wasn't the kind of food that I was thrilled to eat, the food was actually quite good; not sure how authentically German it was, though. The live music was decent, but kind of blaring (was German - think accordion); but hey - they're celebrating. The service for drinks to be brought to our table was a bit slow. After dinner we were able to sit in the lounge area of the restaurant where there are comfortable sofas and chairs. There were glasses and plates all over the center and side tables that hadn't been cleared yet from the people that were there about an hour ago - didn't help with the ambiance.

One note: there was an older African-American gentleman who was very attentive in clearing our table off. I asked him if he knew the wi-fi code and he said he did not. In about 3 minutes he came back with the code written down for us. . . that is great service and should be noted.

Overall it was an average visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Harrigan's, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear rocyomama,

Happy Anniversary! I wish you and your partner many more years of happiness!

Thank you for your recent visit to Harrigan’s Café & Wine Deck – we appreciate your business and feedback. I am happy to read you were able to try our Oktoberfest Buffet. I am sharing your comments with our management staff so the cleaning of the tables concern will be addressed. Thank you for sharing the positive review on Malcolm – he certainly is a great employee and we’re very thrilled to have him on our team. He always goes above and beyond for our guests. We do welcome you back to Harrigan’s anytime you are in Johnstown! Thank you again for your visit.

Take care!
Melissa BirdSu
Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Friendly atomsphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Went to the Holiday Inn bar one night while in town .Very friendly staff and we werent staying there, decor was nice.Came back the next night to eat service was fast, food portions were big ,piano playing while enjoying a delicious meal.Would recommend for drinks or a meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Harrigan's, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear damlich,

Thank you for your recent trip to Harrigan's Cafe and Wine Deck. We truly appreciate you visiting us, as well as your review. It is through feedback like yours that we know we are providing a great service to our guests. We welcome you back anytime! Please stop and see us soon.

Warmest Regards,
MBird
Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harrigan's also viewed

 

Been to Harrigan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrigan's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.