We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good Place for Lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rey-Azteca

Rey-Azteca
736 Scalp Ave, Johnstown, PA 15904-1639
814-266-2294
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 152 Restaurants in Johnstown
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Rey Azteca 736 Scalp Ave Johnstown, PA 15904 (814) 266-2294 Open M-F 11:00 Am to 10:00 PM GREAT AUTHENTIC MEXICAN FOOD!!!
Restaurant details
Description: Rey Azteca 736 Scalp Ave Johnstown, PA 15904 (814) 266-2294 Open M-F 11:00 Am to 10:00 PM GREAT AUTHENTIC MEXICAN FOOD!!!
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Place for Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The food is quick when you go - great place for lunch. The servers are friendly and the food is pretty tasty. I've heard some sketchy things about bugs being found in the food, which makes me very leary, but I have not had it happen to me so I'll continue to eat there until I find something. Prices are just right, too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    18
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Bland”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended to me when I visited Johnstown. What a disappointment. No way is this Mexican. Even the guacamole needed salt and the chips were tasteless. Everything seemed bland, as if they tried hard to "Americanize" the food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland,US
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“It's where the locals go to have Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Wife and I avoid the fast food scene and it was Sunday evening driving around Johnstown looking for dinner.

This place was not only open, but the parking lot was 3/4 full. So we knew it had to be good. And it was.

Granted, it was the standard mexican menu, but it was what you hope to get. A well prepared food(on heated plates, sweet), fairly inexpensive, enough that you are taking food home and a nice atmosphere.

What more could you ask for?

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tire Hill, PA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great food, great portion size for the money, great prices, great service. Not much more needs to be said...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place for Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

When we visit our daughter at UPJ & discuss where to eat Rey-Azteca is always at the top of the list. The food is always good. Especially the fresh made tortilla chips & salsa they start you out with; this time we tried the queso and it was wonderful - not too spicy but still had a little kick. I love how you can get platters with a little bit of everything - good for me because I have a hard time deciding. My husband loves one of their shrimp dishes - sorry I can't remember which one. The service is always great. You should really check this place out if you like authentic Mexican food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rey-Azteca also viewed

 

Been to Rey-Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rey-Azteca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.