We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blast from the past” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coney Island Lunch

Coney Island Lunch
127 Clinton St, Johnstown, PA 15901-2129
814-535-2885
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 145 restaurants in Johnstown
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: This is a local favorite, the hot dogs are really great. I grew up eating them and it is the first place I go when I return to Johnstown. This place is a must experience whein in Johnstown.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Blast from the past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

After visiting the Johnstown Flood Museum my partner insisted we find Coney Island to grab a hot dog or two. He hadn't been there in many years but said this was a must when in Johnstown. It is a large luncheonette - very basic surroundings and very limited menu - but what we had was good.

Regarding the overpowering onions I read about in the other reviews - I didn't think they were strong when eating them, but about an hour later I was still tasting them! No problem though as my partner ate them too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    14
    15
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Virginia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Perfect for a quick bite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great little place to have a quick, inexpensive and tasty lunch. The hotdogs are very good and you can have almost any topping (except sauerkraut - how odd!). There are other offerings - burgers and grilled cheese, for example -- and the prices are totally reasonable.

Typical lunchonette atmosphere, elevated by walls full of historic photographs of Johnstown. If you're out and about, do be sure to stop by.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A local flavor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Coney Island is a local taste of Johnstown. If you didn't grow up with their hotdogs and sundowners you'll be amazed that any local could enjoy the bland chili and the overpowering onions. However, if you're looking to experience something you can't find anywhere else, then the Coney Island is for you. If you find yourself hungry after the bars close there is no better place to fill your belly downtown. Just be warned it's not for everyone.There is a reason this place has been here forever.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Love the atmosphere of this place. It's like you're instantly transported back 50 years when you walk in. It's very informal and a bare bones establishment. They don't even have pickles, fer crissake! Pickles aside, the hotdogs are great and so are the burgers. That's about all they have, but they're good at what they make so stop by for a cheap lunch if you have the time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Hot Dogs, Inexpensive, and Quick!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Not quite the Sabret push cart, dirty water dogs that I grew up with (and served) on the New Jersey Shore as a kid, and an adult, but a very good, quick, and inexpensive lunch. Plus, lot's of great old pictures of Johnstown, PA on the walls! That, along with the tradition of many years in the city made for a great lunch!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coney Island Lunch also viewed

 

Been to Coney Island Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coney Island Lunch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.