We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 stars if I could” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uepi Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Uepi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Uepi Island Resort
Save
You added Uepi Island Resort to your Saves list
Uepi Island | Marovo Lagoon, Uepi, Solomon Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uepi
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“6 stars if I could”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just had a week in this fantastic resort, scuba diving.

This is a small intimate resort, owned and managed by an Australian family for 30 odd years.
The whole resort runs like a well oiled machine. Meals, diving, accommodation, transfers all perfect.
Accommodation is spacious, comfortable and clean, not five star chain hotel, but that is not what we want.
The food is fantastic, sourced locally as much as possible to help local economy, plentiful seafood.
Dining is at communal tables, so you get to socialise with the other guests, who were mostly divers also.
Uepi Resort and our travel agent recommended we combine stay with transfer and time at Wilderness Lodge a few hours South by boat. We did this and absolutey recommend the combination.
We will certainly be returning to Uepi.
The scuba diving in the Uepi area is spectacular.
All the staff are very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
29
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We loved this place. It does feel like you are guests of the owners/managers and are living like one big communal family which may put off some people. It also means that you have to be fairly sociable at dinner times which may not always be to everyone's liking. We met quite a few regular guests and dinner conversations with strangers actually added to the holiday. This is a place for divers although the snorkelling is amazing enough on its own right. Harmless sharks off the jetty? The resort is dated but it is charming and has the charm of feeling like it is an outpost in the middle of the jungle. This is a remote resort on a remote lagoon in a remote corner of the world. It is run well (no mean feat given its location) with attention to all the right details. Not much of a sandy beach but plenty of places to swim. The diving was phenomenal and this is why this is a popular spot for serious recreational divers. Marovo lagoon is outstanding beautiful and remarkably untouched by tourism. Go before this disappears. Thanks to Josh, Josh's mum, Lloydie, Jason and all the others for making it all so enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My wife and I have recently returned from a trip to the Solomons which included a 4 night stay at Uepi.

First off, the snorkelling is just mind blowing with coral and fish everywhere! For example, if you just snorkel around the 'Welcome Jetty' where your boat transfers arrive/depart from, you can swim along the edge of a coral drop off that descends 30m almost vertically downward. 3 types of shark (none dangerous) will come up and take a look at you as you snorkel along and just marvel at the abundance and diversity of species you can see. A short boat ride away (at a cost of something like $10 - $15 each) is the manta ray cleaning station where huge rays come into water only 8-10m deep and slowly swim around beneath you as the cleaner fish give them a wash and brush up - a magical experience!

The accommodation we had was a beach-front bungalow which was a fairly long walk away from the bar and dining area but it's on a flat, sandy path that's well maintained so it's not a big deal. Each bungalow is a good distance from the next one (at least 50m at a guess) and has a nice veranda with seating and a hammock. The beach-front bungalows look out onto Marovo Lagoon whilst the others are set back slightly from the water but still appeared to be great and were very close to the water. Our cabin was the last in the line and had the sea at the front and forest on the side and back. We actually spotted a rare hornbill in one of the trees from outside our bungalow which was really awesome!

Dinners are communal and consist of a 3 course meal with the main being a buffet. The food is really excellent and, if someone has caught anything on one of the evening fishing trips, includes an extra sashimi course! We had fresh, raw Spanish Mackerel one night but the Wahu I caught the next day was definitely better! Alcohol is very expensive but they allow BYO so if you want wine or something, better to bring it with you.

Besides snorkelling, diving, relaxing and the odd fishing trip, there's not so much to do on land. There is a bush walk but that's only for the very sure-footed as it's quite treacherous under foot and is strenuous in the heat.

My only regret with this place is that we didn't do any diving. My wife can't swim and snorkels in a life jacket (a great idea we came up with on our honeymoon) so as we wanted to do things together; diving was off the menu. Of the people we met there, some had been back more than 30 times for the diving and atmosphere of the place! One very nice lady was a photographer who regularly comes to Uepi to get photos of the rare sealife there - this should speak something about just how good the snorkelling and diving at this place is.

The whole resort is very professionally set up and run though in doing so lacks the real Solomon Islands experience - possibly the only negative thing I can say apart from bemoaning the lack of mosquito nets over the beds. The bungalows all have screened windows but as the cleaners tend to leave the door open when they've been out, the screens don't do a lot!

Room Tip: Beachfront bungalows are awesome - your lunch is delivered to your hut each day and you can sit out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Taking a nostalgic trip by reading recent reviews on Uepi. I was at Uepi in 1989! Diving, snorkelling, feeding the sharks that came up to the pier. We did not have the bamboo pipes entertainment. Things were pretty laid back, still with the communal dining. Loved kayaking at the crack of dawn and a pod of dolphins would keep you company. Peaceful. Loved the transport from Honiara. Is the soccer field still doubling up as an airfield and you take a motorised outrigger ride to the resort? I can only say - it sounds like things haven't changed much. That's great!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinsville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We took our 6 and 8 year old children along with my mother to Uepi. I was worried about all of them, taking them to a relatively remote place for 2 weeks. During this time, my husband and I were a part of a medical mission (www.marovomedical.org) so we were gone much of the day during the week. I should not have been worried. The owners, Jill and Grant, and all of the staff were amazingly hospitable. They catered to some of our irritating dietary restrictions with impressive patience. My kids got to swim with reef sharks, see Nemo and sea anemones, snorkel is the best place in the world to snorkel. They saw a monitor lizard and named him Solomon. We hiked to a fresh water waterfall in the rainforest with our guide who carried a machete and had to use it to clear the path. We saw beautiful sunsets, tons of hermit crabs, lionfish, blue starfish, sea turtles. It was the trip of my lifetime.

The accomodations are not luxury but are certainly adequate. Ceiling fans and screens for the crosswind were enough to keep the rooms cool. The rainwater showers were... refreshing. The food was great and the community dining experiences made for great memories. This resort recycles, composts and gardens, and are wonderful neighbors to the Marovo lagoon. They work with the other islands to keep the environment sustainable, including caring for the reef and responsible timber production. On top of this, they support twice a year medical missions that help keep the locals healthy. This experience brought back a little of my faith in humanity.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Visited Uepi two years ago for the 1st time.
Found the diiving great with brilliant dive guides that take you where you want most the time.
Cabins are fine and the food amazing considering how isolated you are.
Jill and Grant where great hosts and staff very friendly.
Just back from diving Kuredu in Maldives, but to us this is our big trip planned for September and cannot wait!
Lets face it sometimes you have to pay a little more to get the best and as we are returning it has to be pretty good..
10 weeks to go....
Mark and Chris

Room Tip: You like diving - visit Uepi for its isolation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The resort is great recommend cabin C4 it is off the water but gets the best sea breezes from both sides of the island. New bar area terrific. Needed more music playing at night. A real shame to have to walk thorough all the old sheds and laundry, etc on the way to the dining room. Need more trees to block this out. The price of wine, beer and mixers is quite high although they do allow you to bring your own duty free alcohol. Loved the plunger coffee and Scotch Finger biscuits in the room great to have after diving. Rooms clean and comfortable and spacious but they do vary a little. Stand alone are the best.
Diving was great the guides let us do pretty much as we wanted. Lots of sharks, few rays. Viz not brilliant at times. Babito day trip is an absolute must. 40m viz on the vertical tuna boat, Sinkhole is a real buzz with barge at the bottom at 40-55m. Extra dives are AUS$73 each! whether it is a shore or boat dive. Years ago we could grab a tank and do a shore dive for free. I thought this was very expensive. Went snorkelling with a passing pod of short-finned pilot whales a rela buzz. Only caught one fish on fishing trip.

Room Tip: C4 or other stand alone rooms are best. Waterfront nice but they do get hotter as face away form pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Uepi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uepi Island Resort

Address: Uepi Island | Marovo Lagoon, Uepi, Solomon Islands
Location: Solomon Islands > Uepi
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uepi
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an international reputation for excellence, Uepi Island Resort in the Western Province is the ultimate getaway in the Solomons. World class diving, snorkeling and sea kayaking is complemented by beachfront bungalow accommodation, friendly personalized service and meals based on fresh local produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uepi Island Hotel Marovo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uepi Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.