We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uepi - a divers paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uepi Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Uepi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Uepi Island Resort
Save
You added Uepi Island Resort to your Saves list
Uepi Island | Marovo Lagoon, Uepi, Solomon Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uepi
Wamboin, NSW, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Uepi - a divers paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Both my wife and I spent ten glorious days at Uepi in September of this year (2011). As I had never dived before, I was trained by the local dive masters including the owners Grant and Jill. In the end, I completed 15 dives in the most amazing tropical waters I have been in - far better than the Barrier Reef, Fiji, Vanuatu and PNG. The variety of aquatic animals and coral gardens was abundant and first class. The wreck dives are a must do. My wife snorkelled whilst I dove and she loved every minute of it as the snorkelling can be carried out right at the resort on amazing coral walls.

In addition, there are organised fishing trips, kayaking, sail boats and ski paddling to keep you entertained when your not diving/snorkelling.
We found the accommodation very comfortable and the million dollar views from the Lagoon front bungalows were awesome. Those that complain about the lack of hot water need to harden up - the weather dictated cool showers 24/7.

The food was nice, fresh and plentiful. The lunches delivered to your bungalow allowed for peaceful quiet time away from others.

After dinner, the evenings where spent (predominantly around the bar area) discussing the days dives and what to expect the following day. Even the organised games of volleyball with the staff were a highlight.
A very big thanks to Gill, Grant, Josh and Wes for an unforgettable holiday. I hope to visit there again and enjoy the delights all over again.

Room Tip: Water front Bungalows have great views and the water is only metres away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
32
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

My grandmother went there about 10 years ago and she was 80...the people were so loving towards her, it was like paradise, the water was so warm and the fish so exotic. Unfortunately she had a dvd on Uepi and she lost it or lent it to someone, I am sure she would do anything to get another one of those dvd's to savor the memory. It must have been a promotional one, if anyone has one....I am sure she would pay $100 for it. That is how much she loves Uepi. Now she is 90 and cannot go but would love to have the dvd to remind her of her beautiful time there.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We went here to dive and relax after a few days at Munda & Tetepare......Uepi was hands down the highlight. Dive sites are close and very good, Grant, Jill & Josh really looked after us.....thank you!! Dive guides were all awesome and geat fun, we chatted, laughed, dived and even fished with them - special shout out to Dilly!!!
This is a family run resort and you do feel like guests of the owners (that may not suit everyone), breakfast & lunch are communal and on one evening we were tired and would have liked dinner in our lovely cabin but hey, everyone there were lovely and the dinners were always a feast of lovely soups, fresh local food ie fish, crab & western fare....delicious (desserts were awesome)....so NO complaints!! I noticed in another view some negative feedback on food - this is a very remote place and the owners do an excellent job to plate up such good food.
This is a special l part of the world and a lovely resort with a B & B feel.....we felt lucky to have gone and would definitely go back.
P.S. No smoking resort

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

For divers who want a romantic getaway in a pristine location, Uepi Island Resort on the Marovo Lagoon is a place to consider. Grant and Jill run a top notch resort. Where in the world can you visit and have coral reefs with 6000 ft walls right at your doorstep. Swimming with the sharks is unreal. The welcome jetty has reef sharks that constantly cruise by. Check out their website.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

A family-run lodge. Older cabins need to be spruced up. The (Australian) family ought to spend a bit more time and energy in getting the place a bit more resort-like. Dinners fabulous. Lunch delivered to your cabin is average, breakfasts a bit monotonous. Alcohol very expensive. You dine at communal tables, sometimes with the owners. No chance to dine in private. Pleasant island, good snorkelling, an enjoyable stay, nothing more, nothing less. The layout of the resort is a hotch-potch. Lovely views.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Spent an excellent four days at Uepi diving with my 15year old son. Accomodation felt well cared for with beautiful views from the deck and hammock. Food was always good and the relaxed, shared eating meant we met many interesting fellow divers. Owners Jill and Grant were always welcoming, helpful and practical with advice and guidance. The dive team similarly were patient and very dedicated to helping - spending many hours helping fix one of our regs between dives. Good range of dive sites ranging from a few aircraft and shipwrecks, many coral walls to sinkholes and caves. And generally sites were very accessible. Snorkeling with sharks next to the resort has to be seen to be believed.

We'd both love to go back and I'm sure will do one day.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londra
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We had high hopes for Uepi Resort after friends' recommendation. We were actually disappointed. The resort is pretty, but not mind blowing - the jungle side cabins very spacious but quite basic particularly as there is no hot water and the bathroom is quite old and tired looking. The roofs are not sound proofed, they are metal, and the sound of the rain when it rains (and it rained a lot!) is deafening.

Lunch is brought to your room picnic style with no choice - a bit hit and miss, nice sometime and sometimes greasy. Dinner was fabulous, with plenty of choice, fresh fish and crab each night, loads of food. However meals are consumed at the 'group' table which might not be to everyone's taste.

The owners live on the premises and they did not seem have the extra care for their clients, as least not for us. For example, we asked many times where the 'Dry room' for cameras they had mentioned was. Never got a reply!
Some areas of the resorts are quite run down (the boatyard).

The dive centre is ok - the dive guides were not particularly friendly nor forthcoming with us, (new clients) and gave preferential treatment to return guests. Also, they all had betel nut red gums, which isn't very reassuring when you rely on them to guide your dive! Dives sites for us were mixed - some very good ones and some not so good (Charapona was disappointing)

Overall a decent resort but for the price they charge, not worth the money.

I would go back purely to snorkel with the (fed by them) resident shark population - an amazing, incredible experience which I will remember for life.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Uepi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uepi Island Resort

Address: Uepi Island | Marovo Lagoon, Uepi, Solomon Islands
Location: Solomon Islands > Uepi
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uepi
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an international reputation for excellence, Uepi Island Resort in the Western Province is the ultimate getaway in the Solomons. World class diving, snorkeling and sea kayaking is complemented by beachfront bungalow accommodation, friendly personalized service and meals based on fresh local produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uepi Island Hotel Marovo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uepi Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.