We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor attitude towards takeaway customers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lien's Vietnamese Chinese Restaurant

Lien's Vietnamese Chinese Restaurant
164 Comur Street, Yass, New South Wales 2582, Australia
(02) 6226 2595
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 20 restaurants in Yass
Cuisines: Chinese, Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very poor attitude towards takeaway customers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

ordered over $100 of take away and was told it would take 20 mins. we sat around for a bit and then down at the nearest table in an almost empty restaurant on a sunday night.
we were told to move as that particular table was reserved.
So we went for a walk and came back 20 mins later.
Stood and waited for a while.
THAT table was still empty and as 2 of us had issues standing for so long and we were blocking the door way we sat down again.
Again we were again told that table was booked even though it was not set up and the table next to it was.
We asked about the table next to us and we were again chased off the table.
Food came at least 10 mins after that ie a 50 min wait

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    4
    4
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Service below standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Went with the family to celebrate a birthday after hearing some good reports about this restaurant. Came away disappointed. It was a busy Friday night with only 2 young girls waiting on the tables. You almost had to wave a flag to get any attention. There were numerous Vietnamese & Chinese dishes on the menu and the food came quickly, but it was very average fare. It was hard to see how the Vietnamese differed from the Chinese meals and wasn't like Vietnamese I have eaten in other restaurants serving that cuisine. It was cheap and quick and that was about the best I could say. Service was terrible. Food average. Wont be going back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great fresh Asian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Went looking for a pub meal so wandered into liens at 5 pm.
Met by a friendly young waitress.service was prompt and efficient. Singapore noodles and lemongrass chicken delicious. A great experience. Not to be judged by the less than ordinary decor? Servings generous

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,066 reviews 2,066 reviews
1,198 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 300 cities Reviews in 300 cities
752 helpful votes 752 helpful votes
“Basic but met my needs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

It was late at night and it was too far to keep driving to sydney.
Nothing else in town was open but I chose the Vietnamese options.
Not modern style like I can find where I live but perfectly adequate for a country town with limited options

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Meal Standard Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I had probably in my memory the worst fried rice ever and the accompanying meal was totally without imagination. Although it is BYO it would have been better if like all formal Chinese Restaurants one could have got a drink.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lien's Vietnamese Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Yass, New South Wales
Yass, New South Wales
 

Been to Lien's Vietnamese Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lien's Vietnamese Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.