We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History, hospitality and gentle hedonism” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Globe Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Globe Inn
Save
You added The Globe Inn to your Saves list
70 Rossi Street, Yass, New South Wales 2582, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Yass B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“History, hospitality and gentle hedonism”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at The Globe, visiting from nearby Canberra for a trip down memory lane as I was born in Yass and spent my childhood there. The building was an instant flashback to many of my childhood impressions of Yass. The two days we were there were the hottest days on record in many parts of south eastern Australia and The Globe is not airconditioned, but Greg and David place fans strategically and the many overhead fans meant that we were able to use a bit of common sense and relax in relative cool whenever we needed to between journeys around town in the searing heat. On our last day the temperatures had dropped into the 20's and the doors were opened so beautiful cool air drifted through the building. We stayed in the Queen Room upstairs, a very spacious room with ensuite and four windows. The building is fascinating, with large rooms, timber floors, a huge verandah looking out over part of the town and well appointed with interesting decor throughout. Our bedroom was very comfortable and quiet. Breakfast times can be arranged beforehand and breakfast is high quality. Greg and David are wonderful hosts and, as someone else has pointed out, they know exactly when to step in and when to step out. They take the time to share stories, but they never interfere with your journey. We enjoyed complimentary port and chocolates in the lounge room in the evening and relaxing afternoon teas in the upstairs tea and recreation room adjacent to the verandah, with interesting magazines throughout the building to read at your leisure. We have stayed in many guest houses in Europe and the UK and this one is up there with the best of them. We will return, and many thanks to Greg and David for a great stay. Excellent value.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrgrep, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We were pleased to be part of your trip down memory lane when you recently stayed with us. We endeavour to be available to assist guests with their needs whilst still being mindful of their privacy. For our guests opting to sit and relax around The Globe Inn we like to take time to provide those extra creature comforts that make their stay more enjoyable. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    18
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
130
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We drove from Melbourne to Port Stephens at Christmas and decided to break our journey with an overnight stay in Yass as this seemed like a logical half-way point in our trip. We chose The Globe Inn after a google search of accommodation in the area.
What a lovely place to stay! The Globe Inn is gorgeous and well maintained. The interiors are beautifully decorated with quality furniture, artworks and lots of great magazines to read.
Our room was incredibly spacious and had a super comfy bed and pillows. There are so many lovely spaces to explore in the building, the balcony is beautiful with a lovely outlook on the historic courthouse and we loved relaxing in the front sitting room with a port after dinner.
Breakfast was superb, we had fresh fruit, yoghurt, yummy bread and great bacon and eggs.
David and Greg are wonderful hosts who achieve the right balance in being there if you need them but leaving you to relax and enjoy their beautiful building. We'll definitely be back and would highly recommend The Globe Inn to anyone looking for a place to stay in the Yass region. It's a shame we don't drive up the Hume Hwy more often!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrgrep, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We greatly appreciate your kind comments. We put a lot of effort into creating a comfortable cosy environment for our guests to relax in. It is lovely to see visitors to our historic property soaking up the atmosphere. We hope you come up the Hume Highway again soon and pay us a visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Loved our stay at the Globe Inn. The owners David and Greg are wonderful hosts. The rooms are a good size and very clean. The service and breakfast is excellent. The front verandah is a wonderful spot to relax with a drink and some nibbles. There is coffee and tea available all day and on our visit we had home made shortbread and fruit cake. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrgrep, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We are happy your group enjoyed their time spent at The Globe Inn, Yass. Many guests love taking advantage of our spacious front verandah to relax over their drinks and nibbles. We hope to see you again at The Globe Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We were driving from Melbourne to Sydney and were looking for a stop off along the way. We googled "best place to stay in Yass" and found the Globe Inn. We were not disappointed, this place was mikes ahead of all the motels available in Yass. David and Greg are lovely, the building is gorgeous and the surroundings are warm and functional. We were pleasantly surprised. We wanted to leave Yass early to head up to Sydney and Greg and David were very happy to provide a beautiful breakfast early so we could hit the road. I've stayed in many b&bs and the Globe Inn is up there with the best. Thanks guys, see you next time we're driving through. Lisa, Matt & Kirst

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrgrep, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We were pleased we could accommodate you on your recent trip through Yass. We like to be able to provide an alternative to the motel style accommodation more commonly found enroute between Melbourne and Sydney. It delights us that you googled "best place to stay in Yass" and were not disappointed! We are always happy to provide an earlier breakfast for those travellers who need to hit the road before the day gets away on them. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We recently stayed overnight at the globe in to break up our trip between Sydney to Griffith. Upon entering the building we were made to feel welcome right away, both David and Greg were so friendly and accommodating. The property is kept in immaculate condition throughout and has a real country charm about it. It is the small touches that make this place really special, free port and chocolate in the library, soft jazz music playing throughout to add to the relaxing atmosphere, homemade sweet treats and tea and coffee on offer in the grand dining room, a collection of magazines and books to read, a gorgeous balcony with a water feature overlooking the tree lined street with comfortable chairs and table for reading and soaking up the fresh country air and sunshine. The bedrooms were extremely spacious and light filled with big windows that opened to let in the fresh air, comfortable beds and pillows and fully equipped bathroom within the room. It really is charming place to stay…and the most important thing the breakfast was amazing, gourmet in-fact, the guys seem to put an emphasis on fresh ingredients and seem to make what they can rather than by pre-made, when we were there they had stewed their own fruit (pears and apricots) and cooked a fresh breakfast speciality each day, we were treated to Zucchini frittata one day and French toast the next day with freshly brewed coffee or tea…I would highly recommended a stay at the globe inn and would certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrgrep, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed both visits to The Globe Inn, Yass. We like to provide the little extras that make your stay a memorable one whether it is the homemade treats for afternoon tea to the complimentary port and chocolates before retiring for the evening. Each of our guestrooms have comfy beds, magazines to read and private bathroom facilities. We are happy you enjoyed our breakfast, especially the French toast which is a favourite amongst our guests. We hope to see you again soon at The Globe Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a really special B&B, David and Greg provide a lovely, warm welcome, and are very receptive at judging how much 'hosting' or privacy you would prefer. They give great tips on things to do, and the breakfast was 5 stars. We only stayed one night but wishes we could stay longer. The verandah upstairs is incredible, no better place to watch the sun go down in Yass, the only thing I would say is I hope they may consider offering cheese platters or something similiar so you can stay in and enjoy the view! We will certainly return. Great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrgrep, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We aim to provide our guests with top class service whilst at the same time being unobtrusive. Many of our guests take full advantage of our large verandah overlooking the historic courthouse and the distant hills as the sun sets. We are now offering cheese platters which may be preordered upon booking so guests need not leave the comfort of their home away from home once they arrive at The Globe Inn. We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you visit Yass.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Qld
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Globe Inn is a beautifully furnished and very comfortable B&B in Yass. We stayed here twice on a driving holiday to Tasmania (on our way there and back) - we had a suite with two adjoining rooms, which worked well for our family of 2 adults and 2 children. Greg and David are lovely hosts, and breakfast was delicious (best poached pears and vanilla bean yoghurt!). Yass has an amazing amount of history to explore, and the Globe Inn is very well located in the centre of town. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrgrep, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We appreciate your comments and are pleased you and your family enjoyed both visits to The Globe Inn. Our family suite is ideal for travelling families as it provides two separate rooms enabling parents and their children to have their own private areas whilst parents can still keep a watchful eye over their children. Our poached pears are becoming a regular breakfast item due to their popularity. Yass is an interesting town with many of its charming heritage buildings still being used....including of course the National Trust heritage listed Globe Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Globe Inn

Address: 70 Rossi Street, Yass, New South Wales 2582, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Yass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Yass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Yass, only 45 mins from Canberra and 15 mins from the Murrumbateman wine region, The Globe Inn (circa 1847) is a boutique bed and breakfast. David Small and Greg Miller are the lucky custodians of The Globe Inn. They are looking forward to sharing the rich history of the inn with their guests and seeing them fall in love with the Georgian residence. Enjoy a wine on the spacious verandah before heading out to dinner at a local award winning restaurant. Complete the evening with complimentary port and chocolates before retiring to your room for a blissful night's sleep. Awake to a sumptuous cooked breakfast. Accommodation consists of five guest bedrooms, all with en-suites. For romantics, book the rustic Mediterranean-inspired garden room with stone floor, wood fire and spa bath. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Globe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.