We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a 1 night stopover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Thunderbird Motel to your Saves list
Thunderbird Motel
264 Comur Street, Yass, New South Wales 2582, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Yass
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“OK for a 1 night stopover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed one night at the beginning of our 4 week trip. Room was basic but comfortable. We had not pre booked but staff were helpful in allocating a quiet room. We really only slept there as we were visiting family and spent most of our time with them. Bed was comfortable and amenities were clean, and that is all you really need.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryanne C, Owner at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks JacdeeS for your recent review. You stayed in one of our standard rooms which as you said was basic, quiet, clean and comfortable. These are our last rooms to refurbish and we expect to commence them in the new year. Looking forward to you staying with us again soon and may we suggest an Executive or Deluxe room on your return visit.
Kind Regards
Maryanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    53
    10
    0
    3
See reviews for
36
45
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The room we had was lovely. Very clean and obviously renovated recently. Receptionist was great and had to deal with some arrogant and nasty women whilst i was standing in line. Who'd want to be in customer service? She handled herself wonderfully.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryanne C, Owner at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Lachy83 Thank you for your positve response to your stay at our 4 star motel. Yes you stayed in a recently refurbished deluxe room which is well appointed with modern furniture, new bathroom and soft furnishings. We are very fortunate to have professional staff who handle the odd difficult situation well. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thunderbird Motel when next you are passing by this way.
Kind Regards
Maryanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We called only about 3 hours before arriving and they were very pleasant in taking our booking at such short notice. The room was very clean and had all the amenities we needed (family of 4). Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone to book this place to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryanne C, Owner at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Katie D Thank you for your kind response. Our family rooms are very popular, with their own kitchenettes and large bathrooms, sleeping up to 6 persons and allowing plenty of space for the children and parents to relax. Hoping to see you back this way soon
Kind Regards
Maryanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drouin, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were travelling through to Melbourne from Sydney and stopped in for an overnight stay in Yass. We were very pleased with the service and the wonderful staff who were more than happy to go out of their way to assist us in our stay. The room was large, very well presented and clean. We ate at their restaurant the 'Ewe and Me', and were very pleased with the service from the wait staff, however more importantly were blown away with the meals, they were fantastic!! The meals that we all had were wonderful and were presented like we were sitting a Melbourne restaurant. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryanne C, Owner at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Paul Many thanks for your very positive remarks. Our staff are doing a fabulous job looking after our guests. It is providing a quality service that is so important to us. The familiy rooms are so spacious with great amentities as you said. I have forwarded this review onto our new chef who was very happy you all enjoyed your meal and service in the restaurant. We will be only too happy to look after you when you pass by Yass again.
Kind Regards
Maryanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed for 1 night driving from Sydney after busy week end/daylight saving aiming to reach Melbourne early next day, fresh after dinner and night. As it was my birthday, my husband decided for us to have a nice dinner in this good motel's restaurant which seemed very attractive on website. We did not read the fine details properly, however we were most disappointed to hear on my call prior to our arrival time, that in spite of long week end, Rugby grand final and end of school holidays where peak rates apply, the restaurant WAS CLOSED!!! Queen Spa room was superb on all points but expected a shower cap to be provided nevertheless. Simple pub down the road was the best alternative...not fit for a celebration. Michele

Room Tip: we had a ground level room, quiet from road noise even not too far back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryanne C, Owner at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Michele
Thank you for your review. We are sorry we did not meet with your expectations in regard to the restaurant being open on a public holiday.The decision to close on Public Holidays was made some years ago. As we had no bookings in the restaurant and only 3 guests in the entire motel on that Monday public holiday (we think everyone had travelled home on the Sunday due to the fact that the grand final was on) we felt the decision to be closed that day was the correct one. Our cleaning staff are very thorough and we do usually have shower caps in the bathrooms -that one may have been missed. We hope you will try us again when next you are travelling through Yass
Kind Regards
Maryanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Turned up with wife and four daughters (6-15), had options for rooms - went with the big (nay huge) room with queen bed, two singles and fold out - awesome. Desk staff very helpful and nice. Centre of town so went for a walk - had chinese - watched free DVD provided by Motel.
Excellent stay

Room Tip: Room 2 suited us well
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryanne C, Owner at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Richard
Fabulous feeback thank you. Our 4 star motel has the best and biggest rooms for families. They sleep 6 however are big enough to add a rollaway for a 7th person if necessary. Glad you enjoyed our lovely Chinese. Next time you might consider our very popular restaurant offering wonderful beef, lamb and seafood dishes as well as $10 meals for children. Hope to see you again sometime
Kind Regards
Maryanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

A family of five and a family of four stayed in two family rooms. Enormous family rooms. Plus large bathroom with bath, and a separate toilet. And a large kitchenette area. After 10 hours cramped in the car it was a delight to not be squeezing past each other in the motel room. Meticulously clean. Fantastic staff, knowledgable and helpful. Opposite a lovely park with playground and tourist information centre. A short walk to the centre of town with its beautiful historic architecture. What's not to like?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryanne C, Owner at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Linnylee

Thank you for your positive comments. So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Thunderbird Motel.
Our wonderful motel is set up well for large families and there is pleanty to do in Yass if staying for a few days or using it as a base to do the Tourist thing in Canberra - much cheaper option to stay in Yass. You're very welcome to return when you are next passing through Yass
Kind Regards
Maryanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motel

Address: 264 Comur Street, Yass, New South Wales 2582, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Yass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Yass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.