We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A beautiful place for a peaceful break--Sands Resort,Yamba.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Sands Resort to your Saves list
The Sands Resort
The Boulevard, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Yamba
Langwarrin, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“"A beautiful place for a peaceful break--Sands Resort,Yamba.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I spent a relaxing week here .Taking a break on our east coast excursion. The 1st night we stayed there was dominated with the units downstairs having a very rowdy party until 4.00am.There was a very well displayed number in the unit to ring in case of such events but unfortunately no-one was on hand to answer our complaint at 02.00am.
From the next morning we had a lovely break. The units are well set out and contain everything you require. They were also clean and airy. The lack of passing traffic adds to the lack of noise. The swimming pool area with the spa and bar-b-que area was wonderfully clean and a pleasure to use. Set a little way out of the town had more benefits than not for us. The beach directly opposite added a couple more activities if you desired.
It would have been nice to hear why our early morning call was not answered but after that night we had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: 1.You need a car to stay here. 2.Be aware that there are no lifts which my provide a problem for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan529051, Owner at The Sands Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We do take pride in our grounds and facilities and try to ensure that they are spotlessly clean at all times so it is good to hear that you have enjoyed these facilities during your stay. We would also like to say that we did act on the call and spoke to the people involved (refer to previous trip advisor comments regarding this wedding party group). We look forward to seeing you again if you pass by our lovely town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    18
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
37
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have just stayed as part of a very large group occupying several properties within this resort.
We had a ground floor apartment which was very well presented and comfortable. Kitchen was well found with everything we needed to cook basic food. It is a self catering place so we had to provide pretty much everything, which was fine. The resort is really well located for the beach and town is not far away.
Pool and BBQ area is great but shuts down promptly at 9 PM.
Wifi was a big disappointment, as was phone signal. Not great in this day and age but its common in other resorts in slightly remote parts of Australia.
Garbage bins again were fine, you provide your own bags and we cleaned our apartment on departure.
I was very disappointed when I returned the keys to be reprimanded by the reception staff. It was made fairly clear that talking and laughing with friends on your terrace after dark was frowned upon. They must have realised when booking as a large group we would meet and congregate to the early hours. Not once did anyone actually complain directly to us. If they had done so we would have had the opportunity to possibly move inside.
It strikes me as very much a family resort and it is a wonderful spot if thats what you want. For large groups, be aware.......

Maybe ill go back one day with my kids !

Room Tip: Sea views and higher the better for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan529051, Owner at The Sands Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We must agree that the location of the Sands Resort Yamba is the BEST in Yamba, a fact that brings our many return guests back time after time. We make no apologies however for having spoken to guests at the wedding that sat on their balcony until 4.00 am in the morning partying and making excessive noise with no regard for other guests. Yes the Sands Resort is a family holiday destination and the peace and tranquility that the resort offers is a feature that is valued by both management and guests alike. There are other accommodation venues in Yamba that allow partying until late into the night but The Sands Resort is definitely not one of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

What we had hoped to be comfortable weekend away for a surprise 30th birthday turned out to be anything but. The reception staff were not very friendly when the flaws with our room were pointed out on arrival. We were disappointed with our stay because:
- Booked a three bedroom apartment (2 x queens & 2 x singles) and got 1 x queen & 4 x singles. This would have been somewhat more acceptable had we booked a room at short notice, but I think 3 MONTHS is enough time to organize a room that the guest has requested.
- Only two sets of keys were given to us in a three bedroom apartment, with three sets of couples. Would have been happy to pay a bond for a third set!
- One and a half rolls of toilet paper for 6 people for 4 nights is not enough! No extra rolls were left anywhere in the apartment!
- Considering we could not get phone reception (with any of the providers) wifi would have been good. No wifi in the rooms is disappointing.
- There was a lovely sign from reception stuck to the fridge instructing that all rubbish must be removed or further charges will be incurred. First time I have experienced this in a "resort". Not very impressed.
- The queen bed as advertised was actually a double. Again, disappointing.
- There was a lovely balcony off our bedroom, pity we couldn't open the door to access it, as it was broken.
- One sachet of dish washing power is not enough for 6 ppl staying 4 nights. Especially considering another rule laid out by reception is to wash all crockery/cutlery used, for the next guests.
The Sands really is a lovely resort, convenient to beaches and restaurants. It has a lovely pool, spa and BBQ area, it is just a pity that the management haven't quite met the level of service that you expect when paying resort prices. We'll be back to Yamba, but not The Sands.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan529051, Owner at The Sands Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we do value it. We would like to respond to some of the comments raised. In terms of the rubbish removal, we are a large resort with 70 rooms to accommodate and explain to the guests on arrival where the bins are located and ask as a courtesy to others, that rubbish is removed prior to departure. The cleaning staff are happy and do in fact remove small amounts of rubbish left behind but it is unreasonable to expect that no rubbish at all is removed especially with six guests staying in one apartment for 4 days - it is a pity that if this was going to be an inconveience it was not raised when explained on arrival.

The faulty door was not advised to staff at all otherwise we would have attended to this immediately.

We would have to disagree with the size of the bed as all of our beds are at least a queen in the master suite.

Due to the size of the resort and the number of guests we have inhouse at any one time,it is our policy to only issue 2 sets of keys to avoid security risks, this has never been raised as an issue before. We also have intercom on all of the exit gates and we would have been happy to issue a side gate buzzer if we had been alerted to the inconvenience.

Our website does state that a welcome pack is issued on arrival as is the case with other resorts and we would have been happy to provide another toilet roll if asked.

WIFI is advertised on our website available at the Leisure Centre free of charge - there is no mention of WIFI in the rooms and we apologise for this inconvenience.

Many of the issues raised in these comments could have been alleviated if they would have been expressed to staff during the stay - it is a pity that they are only raised publicly now after departure.

Thank you for acknowledging that the Sands Resort is a lovely resort and management takes pride in the many positive comments that we receive from our guests - many of whom are return guests for many years. The position is ideal being beachfront, a short stroll to the shops and close to clubs and restaurants. Our tropical gardens are immacutely groomed as are our pools sparking clean, with a large range of accommodation styles - many of which have been upgraded recently - we believe despite some minor comments above that could have been easily alleviated if raised early we are still the No 1 holiday destination in Yamba!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

stayed for 8 nights there was a wedding party staying scattered in apartments and townhouses due to partying by wedding goers we didn't sleep until 3.30 am for 3 nights, when we advised office staff they seemed to put their heads in the SAND no way to run a 4 star apartment complex

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan529051, Owner at The Sands Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the views and our lovely apartments during your stay. We did in fact respond to your complaints about the guests and the Manager visited you to discuss the issue after which case we did in fact talk to the guests involved (refer to Trip Advisor comment by guests on 29th October). We do talk to guests booking in for a wedding venue to confirm that we are a family resort and we also discuss noise in the compendiums located in the rooms. We do hope that you will consider The Sands Resort again for your next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I and our 2 young children recently stayed at the Sands Resort Yamba to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had the most amazing holiday and could honestly not fault a thing. From the moment we arrived we received exceptional customer service from all of the friendly office staff who were always more then happy to help.

Once we were checked in and arrived in our room we were pleasantly surprised to find a complimentary bottle of wine and a card congratulating us on our wedding anniversary. The room was lovely and spacious, with quality furnishings and was absolutely spotless. The linen on the beds was all brand new and of a very high quality.The view was breath taking and the facilities were fantastic. We spent many hours playing tennis, laying by the pool and the children loved the spa it was so warm and always so clean.

Overall our experience was amazing and we look forward to going back to The Sands Resort in the near future, Thank you to all of the amazing staff for going above and beyond to make our anniversary such an enjoyable, memorable one. It truly was a holiday of a lifetime one we will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan529051, Owner at The Sands Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback it is valuable to us at The Sands Resort. Since taking over this business we have continually worked towards providing an individual experience to all of our guests and it is pleasing for us to now see that our guests are enjoying the Resort as you and your family have done. We look forward to welcoming you home again once more to The Sands in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Room and layout nice and spacious. Tiles were very sticky throughout so had to wear shoes the whole time. Bed linen is pretty outdated. No mobile phone signal in unit and only offer WiFi in reception area which is not acceptable in this day and age. TV digital signal keep distorting so only had a few channels you could actually watch. What is not included in your overnight stay of $230 is that you must clean up and dispose of your rubbish or face a further charge of $50 ! It would have helped if the Dishwasher would not turn on and soap dispenser cover would keep closed so hand washed everything. This got me thinking that you are actually relying on the previous tenants washing up ability being of high standard when you are eating off the plates and drinking from the cups and this was not a reassuring feeling. One could simply rinse and dry and back in the cupboard. Foreign hair in the spa bath Yuk ! Only 2 spots in the whole complex where you can put your rubbish but if you plan to dispose when you are leaving don't bother as its just not worth firstly locating them and then getting in and out the gates and using remote controlled gates and it just goes on. Take your rubbish with you and put it in the public bins as you drive out .. so much easier. How hard would it be for The Sands to take care of your rubbish ??

The Sands is not near the local shops or restaurants so next time I will be staying at Yamba Surf Motel or Yamba Beach Motel which has a lovely cafe underneath.

Sorry The Sands... very disappointing

Room Tip: If you book ocean view make sure you query whether that is really ocean views or just ocean glimpses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan529051, Owner at The Sands Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
To provide a measured response to this review is necessary as the guests have been blackbanned since departure from the Sands Resort for rude and aggressive behaviour towards the Management at Reception as a result of locking their keys in their apartment and not being able to leave when they wanted to. Management responded immediately to the request and unlocked the apartment to allow the guest to retrieve their keys. Consequently the guest's aggressive and verbally abusive response was difficult to understand. The removal of the rubbish is not unusual in a 4.5 star complex and on checkin this is described to the guest which should be no surprise on departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Terrible manners from people in reception. You have to clean your room or they add $50. Good luck finding rubbish bins and good luck getting your car out. Would not stay again in the sands but yamba is great

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan529051, Owner at The Sands Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
This guest is the partner of the one above and is a result of their aggressive and unwarranted behaviour as a result of locking their keys in the apartment and not being able to get out immediately. These guests have been black banned by the Sands Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Resort

Address: The Boulevard, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Yamba
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Yamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only ABSOLUTE BEACH FRONT Resort Accommodation in Yamba!•Lap pool (SUITABLE FOR TRAINING) with splash area catering for smaller children•Outdoor entertaining areas and barbeques •Large Leisure Centre pool•Outdoor heated spa •Two Tennis courts •Security parking, mostly undercover• Easy walking to shopping, golf club, bowls club and general sights of Yamba. Free WIFI in the Leisure Centre and set within tropical gardens - paradise on the beach! A welcome pack is available on arrival to get you started! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.