We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not So Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort

Save Saved
You added Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort
4.5 of 5 Ranch   |   Yamba Road, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty lodging in Yamba
Bateau Bay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not So Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just finished a weeks stay on an ensuite powered site. Pretty disappointed with the park, it has certainly declined in its presentation, customer service and overall maintenance of the entire park. Stayed here last year and it was 100% better. Current management don't seem to be as diligent as the past. I arrived to find the power outlet that we were supposed to plug into being faulty, continually tripping the fuse system. When I reported this to the manager on duty he claimed it must have been my lead and was quite rude about it.
It then got one of his own and of course the problem continued, no apology. He said he would arrange an electrician to inspect the point and suggested I plug into another vacant site power supply. I never saw an electrician inspect the point while I was there nor did anyone come back to me with a response to wether it had been repaired or not. Many other issues, Bbq weren't cleaned daily, ensuite were full of ants, dead cockroaches on the floor on arrival. My wife had to clean it herself. We had to constantly spray surface spray to kill the ants & Cockroaches.
No staff ever was seen cleaning the ensuite or refill the toilet paper. We purchased our own.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we apologise that your stay with us was not as you had hoped. Your concerns have all been noted and will be addressed and fully reviewed.

It is our aim to ensure that all of our guests have an enjoyable and relaxing stay, and do appreciate your comments, as it assists us to not only maintain our standards, but also improve both our service levels and facilities.

The comments re the decline in presentation of the property, unfortunately we were hit by a couple of very destructive storms that week, and one the day you arrived. Combined also with being a little short staffed, to be honest, we struggled to cope with staying on top of the debris clean up. While this is by no means an excuse, it is an honest account of what happened and feel we should explain, so you know what you encountered is not the norm.

We pride ourselves on providing an exceptionally high standard of cleanliness and service, so we are disappointed to read the comments.

With the ants, unfortunately due to the excess wet weather our region has encountered for the last few months, this is an issue we face daily.. The ants are coming out of the ground, seeking refuge from the water in any place that is dry. We would have been happy to supply some surface spray, had we been aware that ants were an issue. Please note, we also have a regular pest control maintenance program.

If you would like to discuss your comments further, please contact our manager directly on +61 2 6646 2194, her name is Jackie. Or alternatively if you can provide us with a contact phone number, we will gladly give you a call.

Regards
Danella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    67
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
245
39
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caboolture, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a short 2 night stay here and loved it. We stayed in a Waterfront villa with our 2 young children with water and little sandy beach right at doorstep. Cabin was very spacious and clean, but a little dated. Spa was great. Park facilities Fantastic and staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have a Motorhome and had an en-suite with private shower and toilet for the night. The site given was just 5 meters from the waters edge and was peaceful and felt like a real holiday park. The en- suite was a bit dated but very clean. The facilities such as Laundry was modern and clean and they had 2 pools which were top notch and would entertain kids for hours on end complete with water slides! True value for money. And literally 200 meters away we had dinner at the Yamba Chinese restaurant - yummmmm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Bryant family have been holidaying at The Blue Dolphin every year since 1965.
We have looked and stayed at other parks up and down the coast but we have found none to be in a location to rival Blue Dolphin.
It is now 48 years since we first found and stayed at The Blue Dolphin and we only hope for a few more years of holidays there in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Wow – thank you so much for your fantastic review..
What a great way to start our day reading this positive reinforcement.

We are so pleased to hear you always enjoy your stay as we do try very hard to provide a product and location for all guests to enjoy. We are also so very thankful to you and your family for being such a loyal guest of ours for so many years.

We have been fortunate to operate Blue Dolphin since December 2005 and totally agree that it is a magical location. You have been a loyal customer for much longer than our tenure and we do hope we can also share many more years with you and your family.

Have a fantastic day!

Regards
Danella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed mid Feb on a powered site in our caravan with small dog - whilst we didnt need the ensuite facilities they turned out to be a bit of luxury after using our smaller caravan bathroom for the past few weeks. The pools were wonderful, staff were friendly on check in & we enjoyed being able to walk along the riverfront reserve in the evenings. Did wonder if there had been a recent management change as when making the initial inquiry by phone the staff member had to ask the manager for answers to very basic questions ie rates, location of site when travelling with pet etc & same situation when we arrived - everything had to be ok'd by the manager which seemed odd & slightly unprofessional. Can recommend the pub overlooking the ocean for food & drinks - fabulous views ! & the Caperberry Cafe for coffee & good onsite baked food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danella_FreeSpirit, S at Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review on our park.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay as we do try very hard to provide a product and location for all guests to enjoy.

Yes there has been a change in management which came into effect late last year. We have also recently reviewed our pet policy, which includes the areas within the park that guests with pets can use (with the waterfront now being one of the new areas), hence our staff checking with management to ensure what they were advising was correct. We apologise if you found this unprofessional however until our staff are comfortable with all the changes, most double check to ensure they are giving out accurate information.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards
Danella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We recently stayed two nights in a spa villa, and were very disappointed with the cleanliness of the villa. The bottom sheet of the queen bed had obviously not been changed, and we found two long hairs on it as well. There was a real problem with ants in the kitchen, which necessitated in us having to throw out food. Along with all this the spa was not in a clean condition as well.

Have travelled extensively and never found these problems before.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we apologise that your stay with us was not as you had hoped. Your concerns have all been noted and will be addressed and fully reviewed.

We pride ourselves on providing an exceptionally high standard of cleanliness, so we are disappointed to read the comments. The sheets are always changed after every departure, so we can guarantee that were a fresh set, however had you let us know that something wasn’t quite right, we could have immediately replaced these for you.

With the ants, unfortunately due to the excess wet weather our region has encountered for the last month, this is an issue we face daily.. The ants are coming out of the ground, seeking refuge from the water in any place that is dry. We would have been happy to supply some surface spray, had we been aware that ants were an issue. Please note, we also have a regular pest control maintenance program.

If you would like to discuss your comments further, please contact our manager directly on +61 2 6646 2194, her name is Jackie. Or alternatively if you can provide us with a contact phone number, we will gladly give you a call.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Kind regards
Danella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed in the new 3 bedroom waterfront unit for two nights 7th & 8th February. Checking in was easy and the staff member friendly. On unlocking the door and entering the unit we could see that the floors were very dirty and the outdoor area was covered in leaves and dirt. We immediately went to reception to notify them and to ask for a vacuum cleaner. We were told that their policy was not to give out any cleaning equipment and that they would see if a cleaner could come that afternoon to fix the problem but would more likely be the next day. The cleaners arrived the next day at 1.30. As we had a 7 month old and a two year old asleep at the time, we had already swept the floor several times and would be checking out the next morning we told the cleaners not to worry but showed them the dirt we had swept into the corner of the room. There is a beautiful 2 door fridge in the unit but alas that was not working properly. The fridge section was not chilling and the freezer was not feezing. We had problems with the hot water, not sure why. Ants were also a big negative finding their way onto the dining table and in the bed in the main room On a positive note the beds were comfortable and the layout of the unit good. We were going to bring all these negatives to the attention of the staff on departure but the office was extremely busy and with two small children we could not hang around. For the money we paid we expected better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we apologise that your stay with us not as it should have been.

We pride ourselves on providing an exceptionally high standard of cleanliness and we are disappointed to read the comments re this. Our staff should have arranged for one of our housekeepers to immediately have come to your room to ensure all was at it should have been.

Your concerns have all been noted and will be addressed and fully reviewed.
We would like to discuss your comments further, so would you be so kind to contact our manager directly on +61 2 6646 2194, her name is Jackie. Or alternatively if you can provide us with a contact phone number, we will gladly give you a call.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Kind regards
Danella – Senior Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort

Address: Yamba Road, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Yamba
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty lodging in Yamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.