We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best park on the east coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort
4.5 of 5 Ranch   |   Yamba Road, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Yamba
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best park on the east coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Bryant family have been holidaying at The Blue Dolphin every year since 1965.
We have looked and stayed at other parks up and down the coast but we have found none to be in a location to rival Blue Dolphin.
It is now 48 years since we first found and stayed at The Blue Dolphin and we only hope for a few more years of holidays there in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Wow – thank you so much for your fantastic review..
What a great way to start our day reading this positive reinforcement.

We are so pleased to hear you always enjoy your stay as we do try very hard to provide a product and location for all guests to enjoy. We are also so very thankful to you and your family for being such a loyal guest of ours for so many years.

We have been fortunate to operate Blue Dolphin since December 2005 and totally agree that it is a magical location. You have been a loyal customer for much longer than our tenure and we do hope we can also share many more years with you and your family.

Have a fantastic day!

Regards
Danella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    83
    33
    16
    14
See reviews for
271
50
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed mid Feb on a powered site in our caravan with small dog - whilst we didnt need the ensuite facilities they turned out to be a bit of luxury after using our smaller caravan bathroom for the past few weeks. The pools were wonderful, staff were friendly on check in & we enjoyed being able to walk along the riverfront reserve in the evenings. Did wonder if there had been a recent management change as when making the initial inquiry by phone the staff member had to ask the manager for answers to very basic questions ie rates, location of site when travelling with pet etc & same situation when we arrived - everything had to be ok'd by the manager which seemed odd & slightly unprofessional. Can recommend the pub overlooking the ocean for food & drinks - fabulous views ! & the Caperberry Cafe for coffee & good onsite baked food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danella_FreeSpirit, S at Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review on our park.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay as we do try very hard to provide a product and location for all guests to enjoy.

Yes there has been a change in management which came into effect late last year. We have also recently reviewed our pet policy, which includes the areas within the park that guests with pets can use (with the waterfront now being one of the new areas), hence our staff checking with management to ensure what they were advising was correct. We apologise if you found this unprofessional however until our staff are comfortable with all the changes, most double check to ensure they are giving out accurate information.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards
Danella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We recently stayed two nights in a spa villa, and were very disappointed with the cleanliness of the villa. The bottom sheet of the queen bed had obviously not been changed, and we found two long hairs on it as well. There was a real problem with ants in the kitchen, which necessitated in us having to throw out food. Along with all this the spa was not in a clean condition as well.

Have travelled extensively and never found these problems before.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we apologise that your stay with us was not as you had hoped. Your concerns have all been noted and will be addressed and fully reviewed.

We pride ourselves on providing an exceptionally high standard of cleanliness, so we are disappointed to read the comments. The sheets are always changed after every departure, so we can guarantee that were a fresh set, however had you let us know that something wasn’t quite right, we could have immediately replaced these for you.

With the ants, unfortunately due to the excess wet weather our region has encountered for the last month, this is an issue we face daily.. The ants are coming out of the ground, seeking refuge from the water in any place that is dry. We would have been happy to supply some surface spray, had we been aware that ants were an issue. Please note, we also have a regular pest control maintenance program.

If you would like to discuss your comments further, please contact our manager directly on +61 2 6646 2194, her name is Jackie. Or alternatively if you can provide us with a contact phone number, we will gladly give you a call.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Kind regards
Danella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed in the new 3 bedroom waterfront unit for two nights 7th & 8th February. Checking in was easy and the staff member friendly. On unlocking the door and entering the unit we could see that the floors were very dirty and the outdoor area was covered in leaves and dirt. We immediately went to reception to notify them and to ask for a vacuum cleaner. We were told that their policy was not to give out any cleaning equipment and that they would see if a cleaner could come that afternoon to fix the problem but would more likely be the next day. The cleaners arrived the next day at 1.30. As we had a 7 month old and a two year old asleep at the time, we had already swept the floor several times and would be checking out the next morning we told the cleaners not to worry but showed them the dirt we had swept into the corner of the room. There is a beautiful 2 door fridge in the unit but alas that was not working properly. The fridge section was not chilling and the freezer was not feezing. We had problems with the hot water, not sure why. Ants were also a big negative finding their way onto the dining table and in the bed in the main room On a positive note the beds were comfortable and the layout of the unit good. We were going to bring all these negatives to the attention of the staff on departure but the office was extremely busy and with two small children we could not hang around. For the money we paid we expected better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we apologise that your stay with us not as it should have been.

We pride ourselves on providing an exceptionally high standard of cleanliness and we are disappointed to read the comments re this. Our staff should have arranged for one of our housekeepers to immediately have come to your room to ensure all was at it should have been.

Your concerns have all been noted and will be addressed and fully reviewed.
We would like to discuss your comments further, so would you be so kind to contact our manager directly on +61 2 6646 2194, her name is Jackie. Or alternatively if you can provide us with a contact phone number, we will gladly give you a call.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Kind regards
Danella – Senior Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We look forward to our Yamba holiday each year at the Blue Dolphin. A great place for the whole family ,from catching mud crabs and fish to surfing at all the great beaches.An easy ride to town for some good food and shopping.Yamba has all our outside activity needs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our stay at Blue Dolphin was fantastic. Our girls had sooo much fun and I loved having an en suite when camping. What a wonderful facility you have for families. We will and have recommended Blue Dolphin to all our friends. Thankyou

Room Tip: Camping with en-suite is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed in an ensuite cabin - they are very basic but we wanted inexpensive, and it was comfortable. However I would probably opt for a more expensive cabin or villa if we were to stay again. Especially as we had no air con (which was our choice), but I would go for a more pricey air conned cabin in summer as they get incredibly hot. However the rest of the park was lovely, with great pools and playground which the kids loved, and fantastic bbq facilities. The staff were friendly and very helpful at all times during our booking and stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort

Address: Yamba Road, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Yamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Yamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort caters from camp sites to 3 bedroom modern apartments. We have something for everyone and facilities that are 2nd to none in Yamba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.