We are return customers of the Yamba Sun and have previously dealt with the owners who have always offered NRMA discounts reducing the daily rate by $9. We have always been very happy to spend our holidays in Yamba & will continue to do so however will NEVER stay at the Yamba Sun again. The position is great however the manager in my opinion is not friendly & as we were not paying by credit card, demanded the cash up front on arrival & did not honour the reduced rate as quoted on the phone when I booked (1 week before). As this is not a fair arrangement, we offered to pay a deposit which in the end was not necessary. We have never been asked for cash up front in the past. We were not offered the $10 meal voucher & manager was hesitant to provide when we settled our account on the day before leaving (as per the information booklet in the room). The wotif website states $10 meal voucher & I believe that this is every night. As the motel (advertised as resort style) does not have a restaurant, the voucher that we eventually received was for a lovely restaurant in the town & on the back states that it is a gift from the restaurant. We were advised that the voucher is only available if you book on line (I certainly couldn't see anything about this). We are a mature couple and certainly do not cause any problems or damage the property. We will never again recommend to our many family & friends that the Yamba Sun is a great place to stay. It used to be when the owners were on site, but not now. We felt that we were intruding and were even told that our rubbish would be sorted. I believe in recycling too, but is it really necessary to tell loyal and valuable customers? You've lost our business forever. It is far cheaper to stay in a fully furnished apartment overlooking the glorious Pippie Beach (actually half of what we paid for a week at the Yamba Sun.
My advice is not to stay there. They don't have a restaurant or a fitness centre. They are not...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are genuinely sorry that you had such an unpleasant experience. This review really is a surprise as our conversations seemed quite cordial. It is only ever our intention to take care of our guests during their stay, offering daily room servicing is only a part of what we offer so guests can totally relax.
Report response as inappropriate
Obviously there was some miscommunication on our part; and again we humbly apologise.
You did request a deluxe room which is $20 more than a standard queen room, still excellent value. We are new here so we don't know everyone and as good Managers should, we always check the client history and we always ask for a credit card to secure the booking, we do understand that not everyone has a credit card but it is the right of every accommodation manager to have some security against their bookings.
As for the meal voucher, they are an online incentive (one per booking) but we are happy to offer these if the guest mentions that they saw it online, you asked for one near the end of your stay so we gave you one. And you are correct; they are a gift from the restaurant.
Again we do apologise if you were offended and we hope you would reconsider and give us an opportunity to change your minds as we do value our reputation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.