We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVERAGE FRENCH FOOD” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Little Frog - CLOSED

The Little Frog
66 Pacific Highway, Wyong, New South Wales 2259, Australia
0243534444
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“AVERAGE FRENCH FOOD”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had been looking forward to visiting this restaurant for some time as we use to go to one in Darlinghurst of the same name in the 1970's. The food was cooked well and we enjoyed it however as some other reviews stated it could be more FRENCH. Apparently new owners took over a month or so ago so give them a chance . The waitress was polite and attentive and also new in the job.We will go back again in a few months to see how they have progressed . I think it will depend on your previous experiences with French food to gauge your opinion of the menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    5
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“As French as Wyong”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Firstly attempted to book dinner for 4 @ 8pm. The impression I got from the staff member was it was too late. It was a Saturday night! I asked what time Kitchen closed and was told about 8pm. So I made booking at 730pm. We arrived to be greated well and seated fast. Many pictures of Wyong area on walls and very little French influence. The menus were presented in a folder similar to a resume folder. 3 mins later we were asked if we wanted to order. A reply of no put that aside for now. Our French Champagne was poured into wine glasses? Really no Champagne glasses? The menu was interesting but in all honesty the food could have been served in an Australian Bistro. Scallops, Duck, and Profiterols. Sides of vege were needed as very little on plate otherwise. Expensive for what it is. Around $80 pp for 3 course meal with Coffee. Not worth the money for average Food and average service with little French ambience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“dreadfully disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

20 Gosford Red Hatters booked for lunch on Saturday the 13th of July.
The day before Bastille Day.
We had expected to have a French Menu....not one dish even slightly resembled French Cuisine.
It was the waitresses first day and she did her best, but it was really disappointing to say the least.
They had smoked salmon on the menu and they ran out after only 6 people ordered it.
The restaurant is now run by Srilankins .They tried but it just didn't work, they kept coming to take photos of us to use as advertising, I would say,
My advise to them would be to change the sign on the front window, if they are not going to serve
Traditional French Cuisine don't say you are. It is false advertising.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
“Worst French restaurant I have experienced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Attended this restaurant as a I love French food.
Atmosphere was not even lacking, it was non-existent.
Staff were bordering on rude.
Taste was very average
value for money would have been acceptable if the above items were fine, however overall the experience left us with a very bad taste in our mouths.
Definitely would not recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had been to the Little Frog twice before (March 2012 and May 2012) and were extremely happy!
So we had a family birthday dinner there again in December and were so very disappointed.
The service was dreadful. The waitress (who I think was a co-owner) was clearly over her head.
The chef had changed since we'd last been there.
The garlic bread was excellent; the sides as well as the vegetables served with our meals were very good as well but the "meat" components were terrible.
Given the restaurant was in a shambles that night the waitress repeatedly said that there would be a delay if we decided to order dessert and made us feel most unwelcome and that they didn't want to serve dessert.
We will NEVER go back!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Frog also viewed

 
Wyong, New South Wales
Wyong, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Little Frog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.