We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but breakfast is a long process.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Jim Thorpe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Jim Thorpe to your Saves list
Inn at Jim Thorpe
24 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Hoboken, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice, but breakfast is a long process.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We spent two nights at the Inn for a white water rafting trip in Jim Thorpe. It’s a nice, basic hotel. Less “dainty” than a typical bed and breakfast but not as nice and modern as it looks from the outside. We stayed in a standard room and would probably go up to the next level if we were ever to go back. The room was small and the air conditioner/heater is right next to the bed—and it’s the kind that goes on and off all night while the temperature adjusts. The walls are very thin so every time the fan went off we’d be jolted awake and listening all the rooms around us. But the room was clean and the staff is very helpful.

One word of warning about the restaurant: they give you a $7 per person voucher, and it is adequate to cover a few options on the menu. But don’t count on a quick breakfast if you have plans for the day: they were very crowded on our last day, and the breakfast process took at least an hour from start to finish. The service was so slow that there were many people waiting for tables by the time we left. Most people around us were extremely frustrated because they had bike trips planned or just wanted to check out and get on the road. So it would be nice if they had a continental breakfast option, especially when so much of Jim Thorpe’s tourism is centered around active outdoor days. All in all, though, it was a positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    116
    30
    11
    7
See reviews for
32
228
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Very Nice place, we stayed at 55 broadway (2 bedroom suite)
Hotel has a restaurant and I found the food to be exceptionally good. Manhattan quality at 1/2 price.
I didn't run into any problems except on arrival. I thought it was a little strange that the front desk person didn't greet me but instead kept chatting with other employee for 5 minutes while I was just standing there and staring at her directly and waiting to check in. Only when their conversation was over she turned her head to me to say "can i help you" I understand that locals are not in rush but it seems that employees are not trained in hospitality customer service. I didn't spoil the experience but was a bit strange. We stayed for 4 nights. There are tons of things to do in and around the town.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Arrived Friday night and checked into a beautiful room with a super comfy king bed. The Inn will have a restaurant finished in the next month but we received slips for a complementary breakfast at the Albright Mansion a short walk up the street. Wasn't that a treat? Historic building with period decorating made us feel like we'd stepped back in time. The food? Delicious.There was an Earth Day Festival in the town square. Music, food and fun vendors in abundance. We also hit the Asa Packer Mansion for a tour. A very knowledgeable/funny guide helped us picture the town in the 1800s. Saturday night we stopped by the Opera House for an Earth Day Concert. Tim and Jules opened the show with the George Wesley Band putting on a very energetic show. Sunday morning we fit in a few hours of bike riding on the Lehigh Trail. But the best part of the weekend is how comfortable the staff at the Inn make you feel. The cleaning crew couldn't have been nicer when I asked for some extra coffee in the morning. The staff at the desk were friendly and helpful at check-in and check-out. I'll be back with the rest of my family in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

The Inn at Jim Thorpe is an old building with updated features. We had a package that included a room for two nights, dinner, and breakfast both mornings. The room had a king size bed, fridge and microwave, big bathroom, and a lovely balcony with two rocking chairs and a little table. The package was very reasonably priced, including dinner (worth $30 per person) and breakfast each day ($6 per person). Because their restaurant was being remodeled, our breakfast was down the street at the Albright Mansion (excellent), and we were given a choice of restaurants for dinner, for which we chose Moya (also excellent). Jim Thorpe is a quiet town with beautiful scenery within walking and/or driving distance. Cute shops and casual restaurants make it a perfect getaway for a few nights. A few more positives: The hot water in the shower is plentiful and forceful, and the towels are fluffy and soft; the staff was friendly and very helpful -- we arrived early and our room was not quite ready, but we were given a friendly welcome, a parking sticker for the free lot by the hotel, and recommendations for lunch. One item of puzzlement: We left for the morning and returned at 1:45 p.m., and our room had not been made up. When we inquired at the front desk, we were told that staff did not enter the rooms when you were staying. She asked if a basket was left by the door for towels. We said we really needed a few hand towels but otherwise were okay. However, when we returned, the room was completed made up, trash emptied, fresh towels, etc. I have never stayed in any hotel that did not make up the room each night. Still not sure what the real deal is, but it was "corrected" immediately. This did not detract with the overall experience, just a strange issue. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is okay with a nice room in an older building. Ah yes, all this and free wifi in the room too!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We stayed in one of the rooms that has a seperate bedroom attached. This is a real boon for a family with small children as it allows you to pack them away and have some alone time for yourself in the main room.

The hotel itself is 'of the period' so the corridors are quite narrow and the furniture of an old style but we can't complain about the cleanliness and comfort. The room was a little dark being on the back of the building but very quiet

The restaurant is being redone at this time but i imagine the new bar would be lively so rooms above it may be noisy.

The best feature is the balcony running along the outside of the building where you can sit at the end of the day in the sun having a drink (bring your own). The balcony on the second floor can be used by any of the guests so I would not want a room on this floor on the balcony side as you may have hotel guests sitting outside your window.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We had a wonderful time! The rooms are a bit small for the price you pay but overall it is a charming place with tons of history and right in the center of town. Jim Thorpe is such a quaint, picturesque town with many interesting shops, cafes & eateries. You can spend a full day just exploring everything it has to offer. Make sure to take a trip to hike to the nearby waterfalls right outside of town!

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

Here's a real, honest review of the Inn at Jim Thorpe.

At first we were impressed with the hotel - it's exterior architecture and lobby are well restored and charming. The room itself was quite small and, as one of my friends noted, look like someone's grandmother's house. The furniture and decor is old and outdated. Not horrible, mind you, but barely, if at all, above Holiday Inn Quality and for considerably more money. As far as bed quality - sleep on the floor, it is softer than their mattresses.

The staff here was neither friendly or unfriendly. I would describe them as indifferent. They did not go out of their way to be helpful in any way, especially when a problem arose.

So what made our stay so bad? My friends and I called and reserved a ski and stay package for two nights. We planned to arrive Friday, ski Saturday, stay Saturday night and ski Sunday before leaving. I feel that I am a normal, reasonable person and believed that by purchasing a 'Ski and Stay' package for two nights, I would be able to 1. Stay for two nights and 2. Ski for two days. However, the Inn at Jim Thorpe apparently believes that two nights of a Ski and Stay package means you stay in their tiny, outdated room for two nights and ski for only one day, as they refused to furnish us with lift tickets for the second day. This is despite the fact that our bill clearly reflected two nights of their Ski and Stay package. The staff simply acted like we should have known that two nights of the Ski and Stay only included one lift ticket and offered no remedy. Needless to say, this was never explained to us beforehand.

Long story short, we arrived at the Inn at Jim Thorpe feeling optimistic and like we had gotten a good deal. We left feeling cheated. Not the type of experience I would want to repeat.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Jim Thorpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Jim Thorpe

Address: 24 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1849 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn at Jim Thorpe combines old world charm with modern conveniences in the heart of one of America's most picturesque and historic small towns. Steps to shops, galleries, opera house, pubs, restaurants, train rides, river rafting, kayaking, and hiking/biking trails. Suites with whirlpools and fireplaces. Spa services, adventure packages, spa getaways, romantic couples escapes, midweek packages and show & stay packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Jim Thorpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Jim Thorpe Hotel Jim Thorpe
Hotel Jim Thorpe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Jim Thorpe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.