We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience at the Inn at Jim Thorpe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Jim Thorpe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Jim Thorpe to your Saves list
Inn at Jim Thorpe
24 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Experience at the Inn at Jim Thorpe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The Inn at Jim Thorpe is a great place to stay. Stayed there for 2 nights over July 4th weekend. The Inn is very clean and very well updated and modern for a hotel that was built in 1840? The room was clean, large, comfortable and modern and even had a view of the Aca Packer mansion. Every employee I encountered was pleasant and helpful. The Inn itself is quaint. A great location, easy to walk anywhere you might want to go. The front desk staff was happy to answer any questions or offer suggestions. Breakfast and lunch was excellent with great service. I somehow happened to leave behind some of my clothes (maybe the resident ghost had a hand in that) and the Inn was generous enough to box them up and mail to me quickly. I highly recommend the Inn at Jim Thorpe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    116
    30
    11
    7
See reviews for
32
228
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My daughter's wedding was in Jim Thorpe. The mother of the groom asked a year in advance to have rooms set aside. They assured us they would. I heard the conversation. Months later, when she called, she found out someone else had booked a group of rooms and there was nothing in the books for our party. She quickly got some rooms but not enough. My uncle who is almost 80 checked in and asked for help with luggage, they said no. Asked for an elevator, they said no. He was put into one of their extra "houses." He had to walk three flights of stairs. He promptly checked out. My sister had terrible service for a lunch during her visit. The grooms rooms were all to be charged to the groom's parents, but they charged some of the guests. All in all we were unhappy with the inn. It is beautiful, quaint, convenient, but their service is awful! I would not suggest using it for a wedding party.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnJimThorpe, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Jim Thorpe, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear VT-PSU Mom,
We were quite taken aback by your negative review and comments about your daughter’s wedding group here at the Inn, especially since you hugged our group manager on Friday and told her that everything was great. We feel we must clarify a few of the issues you brought up. Group room bookings are held until a certain deadline, after which they automatically get released back into the system. This is our policy and was explained to you. When the deadline approached, our group sales person got in touch with your group and generously extended the deadline by 2 weeks. Still, several rooms remained unreserved and were tossed back into our system. After this happened, your group requested that they did, in fact, need the rooms, so we were forced to scramble to accommodate you with whatever rooms were available on our property during this busy time of year. Despite all of this, when you arrived, you told us that 3 of the rooms weren’t needed. No mention was made of having to accommodate an 80-year old with limited mobility. Our Inn has an elevator, but 55 Broadway and the Broadway House do not. If we had known about his needs, we would have gladly assigned him to a different room in the main Inn. Our porter is usually available to help with bags until 8 pm. If he wasn’t there, or unavailable, our staff should have helped you with that, so we apologize if that wasn’t the case. Because of the confusion with the room assignments at the last minute (unneeded rooms and moving folks around), there was a bit of confusion with the billing at check-out, but everything ultimately was straightened out. So, as you can see, we’re a bit surprised by your comments, especially after many of the guests in your party commented positively about their experience and said they loved their rooms when they checked out. Our apologies if we fell short in your eyes, but we did the best we could for you and your daughter’s wedding group. Best wishes and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

It was a very good choice and all the little shops and restaurants were all in walking distance. Parking was challenging but I would not change a thing. The weather was perfect and the restaurant has a very nice selection for food. Everything was excellent from check in to check out time. Very efficient.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very spacious room for standard size- staff were pleasant- the voucher for the restaurant was much nicer than any hotel breakfast- nicer than staying in a chain hotel-relaxing stay- only issue was when we stopped at the bar on our first night no one acknowledged us and we eventually left-staff there seemed preoccupied but both days during breakfast the staff were awesome

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My wife and I loved this Inn and would stay there again in a heart beat. We stayed 3 nights in 2 different rooms. both rooms were roomy with nice bathrooms and comfortable furnishings. Cable TV, air and WiFi. We love to stay in historic Inns but I have never seen one that kept the charm and historic feel along with offering the modern conveniences. There is a bar and restaurant attached and a great second floor balcony fully roofed with wicker chairs and tables, games and books available for borrowing. The front desk was very helpful and you got a 7.00 per person voucher for breakfast in the restaurant per person. The food there was good and you could get it to take out but the service was a bit slow and reservations were recommended. Parking was free but not enough. On weekends they had a couple of other lots a block away.

Room Tip: I enjoyed having windows facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehoopany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful experience at the Inn. I could not think of a better place to spend a few days. The town is amazing. I have lived nearby all my 63 years and never stayed intown. The food was good and the beer selection good as well We will be back for sure. All we can really say is ALL GOOD, go there and enjoy!:-)

Room Tip: Great breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, MI
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We only stayed one night but their website and e-mail after I made reservations makes everything very clear. Streets are narrow, parking limited, they send you are parking pass! The building is well kept for an old building. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was nicely decorated.
We could hear some of the Thursday evening entertainment but it was done by 9 pm or so. I also discovered one of our windows was partially open at the top so I closed that.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Jim Thorpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Jim Thorpe

Address: 24 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1849 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn at Jim Thorpe combines old world charm with modern conveniences in the heart of one of America's most picturesque and historic small towns. Steps to shops, galleries, opera house, pubs, restaurants, train rides, river rafting, kayaking, and hiking/biking trails. Suites with whirlpools and fireplaces. Spa services, adventure packages, spa getaways, romantic couples escapes, midweek packages and show & stay packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Jim Thorpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Jim Thorpe Hotel Jim Thorpe
Hotel Jim Thorpe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Jim Thorpe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.