We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice weekend get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Jim Thorpe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Jim Thorpe to your Saves list
Inn at Jim Thorpe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A nice weekend get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We just wanted to get away for a long weekend. My wife found Jim Thorpe, PA just by surfing the web. The Inn sounded interesting. From the time we checked in unitl the time we left the staff were very helpful and caring. A special shout out to Lynda. Karol, Renee, and Dave. They were especially friendly and helpful.The room was a little small for a standard room. The bed was comfortable. They provide feather pillows. The bath was fine. Soap and conditioner, in the shower, was provided by pumps mounted on the wall. A little unusual. I felt like I was at my gym. There was no dresser to put clothing away so we lived out of our bags. Not bad for only two nights. When you check in they give you vouchers you can use towards breakfast in their dinning room. The food was good and plentiful. A western omlete was not on the menu but they made one for me. They also give you chocolate chip cookies from a local bakery. They were great. The porches on each floor are fun to sit on and watch the passing parade. We will definitely return to the Inn in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the rear of the hotel to minimize the noise. The Inn is on a main street in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    138
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
41
273
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a quick trip to Jim Thorpe and stayed overnight at the Inn. We had a very nice standard room on the second floor. However, because the veranda was right outside our window, my husband was kept awake by loud talking by a couple outside the closed window. Next time would request a third floor room as we go to bed fairly early. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay here. We had a delicious dinner in their adjacent restaurant and hardy breakfast in the morning, they include a voucher towards breakfast with your room.

Room Tip: Not off the veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in May, 2014. It is an old Victorian Hotel with all of the modern amenities. There was a mini-fridge, microwave and Keurig coffee maker in our room. When I mentioned to the front desk staff that there was no place to eat or work in the room except on the bed, a table and 2 chairs appeared that same day. Everyone on staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in our room one day and there was a basket with fresh towels, toilet paper and coffee (including tea and cocoa) placed outside our door. The hotel has limited parking in 3 areas. Guests are given a parking placard to allow parking in their lots. The hotel is on Broadway, which is the main street in town and you can walk to shops and restaurants. Be warned: many of the attractions (Asa Packer Mansion, Butterfly Exhibit, the Old Jail) are not open until after Memorial Day; and the steam train only runs on the weekends. October is their busiest month and the hotel may be completely booked for October by the end of May which is why we made our October reservations before we left. The hotel has a small exercise room with 2-3 pieces of equipment. There is a large porch on the second floor where we sat and listened to the Westminster chimes from the Court House down the street. When you check-in, you are given breakfast vouchers ($7.00/person) for the attached restaurant. This makes breakfast reasonable ($10-12 for 2) but dinner can be a bit pricey. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Inn.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a spa. Ask if there are any weekday rate specials when you make your reservations or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

if you live in NJ and are looking for a quick getaway weekend to a nice spot where you can enjoy outdoor activities, this is it. Very nice place in a quaint town. nice rooms and nice balcony to have a drink and catch a little sun. Friendly people at front desk...Great base for enjoying Lehigh Gorge State Park(biking,whitewater rafting, fishing and hiking up Glenn Onoko Falls(so cool).
I'l be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My husband and I spent our 30th anniversary here. I had booked a standard room but when the manager heard that it was our anniversary, he upgraded us to a suite along with a bottle of wine. Thank you! When we checked in, we also got a package of cookies. This is our second stay here, and we love it. The Inn is an old hotel, and has a lot of character. Our suite was very comfortable and had a jacuzzi. We enjoy being able to walk out the front door and walk around town, enjoying the shops and restaurants. We especially love sitting on the balcony, enjoying our bottle of wine and talking with other guests. We had a great conversation with guests from Ohio. We each had a $7 off coupon for breakfast and had a very delicious breakfast. We live about a half hour from Jim Thorpe, and it's a great small town to visit for the old architecture, the shops, art galleries, restaurants, hiking, biking trails, and whitewater rafting on the Lehigh River. The train station is a block away for train rides on the weekends. The Asa Packer Mansion is open for tours, also the old jail. The town lies nestled in the mountains and the scenery is beautiful. Nationally known acts perform at nearby Penn's Peak, which has a panoramic view. Located a few miles outside of town are two campgrounds, one of which is Mauch Chunk County Park which has a large lake and beach. You can easily spend a couple of days here and find a lot to do. You can tell I love Jim Thorpe and the Inn at Jim Thorpe!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife and I just stayed at the Inn for a mini break from our very hectic lives. How beautiful and peaceful Jim Thorpe is and the Inn is a must stay to get the full flavor of this "Switzerland in the States" quaint town. As soon as you step into the Inn it takes you back in time. We stayed in room 410, very nicely kept, window in the room but no view. History all over the walls of the Inn. Take the time to read it all. Step outside onto the open deck on level 3. Makes you think of New Orleans with all those balcony views. Dining at the Broadway Grille and Pub... I thought it would be a little more romantic... it was too well lit and a little like a diner feel for such a beautiful Inn, food was just OK I thought. The bar portion was very nice though. The Lehigh Gorge Sate Park is only a few miles away. Beautiful!!!!!! Walk through the cave, a bit intimidating at first, but do it. And definitely see the Glen Onoken Falls in the middle of the forest. very easy to get to. We took in a show at Penn's Peak while we were there. At the top of the mountain. My wife and I have been married for 25 years.... This quaint little town with old world charm brought the two of us back to when we were 18 years old together. Stay at the Inn if you visit Jim Thorpe, worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My fiancee and I usually stay at Bed and breakfasts( B&B's) , and the Inn has all the ambiance of a B&B. The decor is Victorian and comfortably furnished,while preserving and proudly displaying the history of the inn. We stayed in mini suite 319 which provided us all the amenities in a spacious open floor plan. There was no view( which we were informed of ahead of time) but the two skylights provided ample sunlight allowing us to keep the blinds closed. We did however get to enjoy the sights and sounds( church bells) each day of our stay from the second floor balcony. Some of the shops and attractions were closed ( which we knew), yet we were able to spend most of an entire day leisurely wandering up and down Broadway and Race street. All of the shop owners/employees were pleasant and eager to engage in conversation. We took advantage of the small Big Creek Winery on Race street to taste their wines before buying several bottles of our favorites. We enjoyed a delicious and generously portioned breakfast at the Inn each morning ( happily using our $7 vouchers to offset the already reasonably priced menu items) before heading out to take in the history, architecture, shopping and scenic views of Jim Thorpe. we had lunch at the Bear Appetit Cafe, dinner at the Broadway Grille and Pub, and enjoyed music at the Mauch Chunk Opera house Thursday night. (I have separately reviewed them)
We are very satisfied with our stay in Jim Thorpe. It was a very laid back , relaxing getaway punctuated by the B&B atmosphere of the Inn and attitude of the staff in a small town laden with history and architecture. We were well prepared for our trip from the Inn website, the pre-arrival literature sent by the Inn and of course Tripadvisor.
We would definitely stay at the 'biggest little bed & breakfast' Inn, the next time we are in Jim Thorpe""

Room Tip: rooms are accurately described on the website, but call to get any questions answered. There is an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
3.2 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony
17.4 mi away
The Village at Pocono
The Village at Pocono
#1 of 1 in Long Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
19.2 mi away
Glasbern Inn
Glasbern Inn
#1 of 2 in Fogelsville
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Jim Thorpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Jim Thorpe

Address: 24 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Jim Thorpe 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1849 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn at Jim Thorpe combines old world charm with modern conveniences in the heart of one of America's most picturesque and historic small towns. Steps to shops, galleries, opera house, pubs, restaurants, train rides, river rafting, kayaking, and hiking/biking trails. Suites with whirlpools and fireplaces. Spa services, adventure packages, spa getaways, romantic couples escapes, midweek packages and show & stay packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Jim Thorpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Jim Thorpe Hotel Jim Thorpe
Hotel Jim Thorpe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Jim Thorpe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.