We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Jim Thorpe

Save Saved
You added Inn at Jim Thorpe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Jim Thorpe
24 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Couples Escape!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Jim Thorpe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Drinks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited the bar area for some drinks in the middle of shopping. The waitstaff sat our party of three outside on the balcony which overlooks the street. I had the Mano Tango drink which was refreshing and my mother said their mojitos were good too. Service was quick and Drinks not too pricey. I will be going back to try the food at some point.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    104
    29
    12
    7
See reviews for
31
208
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have stayed for one night at this hotel with my boyfriend during our road trip through Pennsylvania and overall this was a good experience. The Inn is conveniently located at the heart of Jim Thorpe and the building itself is beautiful; the room was clean and had all the necessary amenities. This being labelled an “inn” I was expecting more of a B&B –type personable service, but this turned out to be more of a “hotel” experience, which was still fine. We have also enjoyed breakfast and dinner at the hotel restaurant. The town itself is really charming in the fall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We arrived in a cute little town that we were eager to explore celebrating our Anniversary. When checking in the front desk was very cold and not pleasant. Our room wasn't ready so we went exploring until our guaranteed 4pm room would be ready. We parked in the assigned garage that was like a sardine can, we were scared once we parked that we would not be able to get out. We returned to check in and when we arrived in our room it was a smelly and not clean. I called the front desk and asked them if we could pay extra for a clean, better room and she said she would call me back. So much for our guarantee. Never got a call back and 30 minutes later 2 people came in and spent 5 minutes cleaning the room. We recognized them as the 2 women walking in front of us on the street eating ice cream as we were exploring the town. Of course i was just creeped out feeling like they didn't clean anything. The main Inn was nice and food in restaurant was excellent which i will give a better review under them. But when we visit Jim Thorpe again we wont be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Discovered Jim Thorpe by accident earlier this year, we were planning on going to see a Eagles cover band perform at the Mauch chunk opera house, and in looking for nearby lodging the Inn at Jim Thorpe seemed a logical choice.
The town itself known in the 19th Century as "The Switzerland of America", is cute and has an abundance of antiques & crafts stores, museums & a historic (haunted no less) jail, the Inn is located at the foot of Broadway and the building itself is quite nice, the hotel has three private parking lots, and if the first two are filled, don't worry, even the third one is a short walk to the hotel.
We had a room on the top floor, complete with whirl pool, the room was large & clean.
The dining room down the stairs is large, we had dinner there and dinner was OK, I had a grilled pork chop there with sauerkraut, the chop was overcooked, but the sauerkraut was great!
There are a few very good restaurants nearby (in Jim Thorpe everything is nearby though), but make sure you check if you need reservations, we were planning on dining at a recommended seafood restaurant, alas, the place was booked solid.
The breakfast area in the hotel is large and breakfast was quite good, the only remark I can make is that due to the old carpeting on the floor the room makes a stuffy & dated impression, it would have been better if the room had wood flooring, likely easier to keep clean as well one might suppose.
We stayed there a long weekend and had a blast, the earlier mentioned Mauch Chunk opera house was fun also, if you find yourself in Jim Thorpe check their schedule, might be something good, for what it's worth the Eagles coverband was quite excellent!
The Inn at Jim Thorpe & the town of Jim Thorpe were quite lovely and we expect to go back there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I visited recently and read most of the reviews. We did not experience anything that was not mentioned in other reviews. The parking is tight but we knew that coming in and we had no problem parking across the street. We enjoyed our stay and the town as well. As mentioned in other reviews you can walk to everything in town from the hotel. We did receive our breakfast vouchers and we both enjoyed our meals. The icing was the two guys that played in the pub attached to the Inn. We look forward to a return visit in the future.

Room Tip: They have rooms that have a public balcony on the street. Nice to view but may not be for everyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Rooms under $100 are usually not something to brag about.. but the inn is a 'keeper,"

Two queen beds for comfort, updated baths & Keurig coffee maker in room made this stopover a wise choice.

We ate on the New Orleans-style veranda. Christine was kind enough to bring our food up at breakfast and we really appreciated her extra effort.

Very romantic but also very convenient to everything in town.

Worth the trip!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed in an awesome room with a little sitting area. When we first got there, there was a problem with the room we booked - and they even offered to upgrade us one class of room. But I really liked what I had booked and they were able to put us in the exact same type of room. All within about 3 minutes. Super friendly check-in and great service. Oh, did I mention they give you fresh-baked cookies when you check in? Delish! The room was really charming, comfortable bed and couch, quiet, just lovely. We hit the Broadway Grill for a couple of cocktails - REALLY cool old-timey bar. Then it was off to see the sights in Jim Thorpe, which was super easy as the location of the Inn was fantastic - right smack dab in the center of things. Our room also included breakfast which was awesome. Take a tip from me - get the Maple Vanilla French Toast. It just might have been the best thing I ate in an entire week's vacation! All in all a really charming hotel, very historic, great location, great value, great customer service...you just can't beat it!

Room Tip: If you're looking to book this and it shows it's sold out on popular travel websites, go dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Jim Thorpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Jim Thorpe

Address: 24 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1849 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn at Jim Thorpe combines old world charm with modern conveniences in the heart of one of America's most picturesque and historic small towns. Steps to shops, galleries, opera house, pubs, restaurants, train rides, river rafting, kayaking, and hiking/biking trails. Suites with whirlpools and fireplaces. Spa services, adventure packages, spa getaways, romantic couples escapes, midweek packages and show & stay packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Jim Thorpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Jim Thorpe Hotel Jim Thorpe
Hotel Jim Thorpe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Jim Thorpe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.