We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a nice stay at the Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Jim Thorpe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Jim Thorpe to your Saves list
Inn at Jim Thorpe
24 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
new jersey usa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Always a nice stay at the Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

One of the best weekends ever staying at the Inn with a Romantic Getaway Package. Check in was immediate. We could not park behind the hotel, but were able to across the street. The room was very clean and our bottle of local wine was waiting for us when we got in. We took it right away to the balcony over looking Broadway and people watched for an hour in the warm sun. We then got changed and went down for dinner and drinks using our voucher. Dinner was quite good and very filling. We sat in the bar because it is more active an atmosphere. The drinks were generous and the service was good.
We then walked up the street to the Opera House and saw the Cast of Beatlemania. Great show!
The next morning we used vouchers for an excellent breakfast. I found out what Scrapple is!
Our day consisted of hiking and shopping. Then we had our side by side couples massage (part of the package). Very nice! After a shower w walked up the street to Crave and tried Absinth up the street before checking out Moya - extremely wonderful meal!

Room Tip: If you don't like ghosts - say so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    116
    30
    11
    7
See reviews for
32
228
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed in room 315 the weekend of April 26th. What a great weekend! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room (a mini-suite) was very large and very clean. The Jacuzzi tub was a little small but was very nice. We were hoping for a ghost encounter but that didn't happen. We enjoyed spending time on the second floor balcony watching people below. There is a winery tasting room about a block away on Race Street which was very convenient.

Some other reviews complained about street noise. We were in a street-side room and were aware of street noise but it was not so loud as to be worth complaining about. Someone else complained about the church bells. We only heard them on Sunday morning and, hey, it's Sunday morning and it's a church! They were beautiful!

We ate at Moya one night which was excellent and reasonably priced. The Inn is close to everything. The prison is the furthest attraction and that was an easy walk of less than half a mile. We parked on Friday afternoon and didn't move the car until we checked out on Sunday. Though we were there off-season, almost all shops were open. Just about everyone we met was very friendly. Shopkeepers were friendly and helpful. The lady at the Historical Society was a wealth of information as was the gentleman at the Mauch Chunk museum and Marge from the toy store.

We went on a Groupon discount coupon. Some places have treated us as second class guests in the past when we used one of these. The Inn did not! We will be back and look forward to it!

Room Tip: We liked the street-side, third floor room. You do hear some traffic noise. That did not bother us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the quaint Inn on Thanksgiving Weekend. The balcony at night overlooking the town is so cool. The town is a must see, walking through the town, checking out the unique shops. We took a train ride through the gorge, which was awesome. The room we stayed in was in the back of the Inn and at night time we could see the illuminated mansion through our window. We plan to go back this Thanksgiving for a 1 year anniversary. The only negative was the restaurant at the Inn, I felt the food wasn't all that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We enjoyed a night at the Inn after a great hike to Glen Onoko Falls. The hotel is chock full of charm, being very well restored and/or preserved. The first and second floors boast lovely balconies overlooking Broadway. And I LOVED that the shower area held shampoo, soap, and conditioner in refillable containers attached to the wall for an eco-friendly touch. We also ate dinner in the attached Broadway Grille. Very good meals.

Room Tip: Although staying in the front of the building allows easier access to the balcony, our room (201) wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hills, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

After you get past the front desk staff, that gives you the feeling that you're bothering them with your silly check-in, this was a very nice experience.

what we liked the best: the room, the balcony and the lovely little town, the courteous, accommodating, helpful, friendly maintenance man
what we liked the least: the front desk staff, except Karol who was very helpful, via e-mail, prior to our visit

First thing I was told when I got there at 1:30pm "your room is not ready" I spoke to Karol the night before and she told me it was okay to drive in early (we drove 5 hours) and check in as nobody was staying in our room the previous night, so it would be ready. I regurgitated that back to this lady (dark hair and glasses) and to that she said "I wish she wouldn't do that", so then she made a private call to housekeeping to see if the room was ready...it was-we assumed. So then she gives me the keys to the room, never says the room is ready, just gives me the bill, takes the credit card and hands me the keys to the room. We had to ask where we bring our luggage in etc...how do we to get the room etc? So don't expect a big friendly welcome at the front desk....it doesn't happen. So then we get up to our room and can't get in the door, both keys failed. My husband had to go back to the lobby while I stayed with the luggage outside of our room. Turns out the dark haired lady with the glasses gave us the keys to someone else’s room. Oh and by the way, anytime you approach the front desk which we did 2 other times-just for general questions, nobody looks up at you, you must address the front desk people first, and usually 1 would respond and the other would never look up and have eye contact, just a cold feeling.

So because the keys wouldn’t open the back door into the lobby (where you bring your luggage in) we ran into the maintenance man. This man was the nicest, friendliest, accommodating person we ran into. He helped us get in the door, helped us with our TV issues, helped us when a plant blew over on the balcony and he was the one that told us there was key to our balcony door that we could get down at the front desk. This was never discussed with us by the front desk personnel. He even went out of his was to go down to the front desk and get the key for us. What a great welcoming employee. He deserves a raise and he should be greeting people at the front desk.
All of the housekeeping staff was also very friendly and accommodating and went out of their way, when you needed anything.
The room was very clean and well stocked with everything we needed. 1 TV didn’t work and the telephone didn’t work by the bed-but there was 1 by the Jacuzzi that we were able to use-and once we got help-we were able to use the TV at the base of our bed. We stayed in the last room that was available in the hotel, room 200 which was the master suite and it was wonderful. The only downside to this room: you can hear the band downstairs on Friday night, right under where our bed was-but we knew that coming into it. We slept in the 2 queen beds that night in the back room, until the bar festivities were over. We loved the Jacuzzi, the king sized bed and having a Keurig in the room.
We loved the balcony and shopping at the little shops on Broadway.
We knew parking was at a premium that’s why we drove down early on Friday in the hopes of obtaining a parking spot for the weekend and we did. Everything you need is within walking distance.
Food is available within walking distance. Try the Chinese place just down the street it was very good. We ate many meals at the Broadway Grill and Pub. I will review that separately.
All in all, I would go back and stay here again, I just would not expect much from the "greeters" at the front desk.

Room Tip: go for it, get room 200 and enjoy the private access to the balcony, the jacuzzi and the spaciousnes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnJimThorpe, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Jim Thorpe, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi, Lisa, and thanks for your detailed comments about your recent stay. We're so glad you enjoyed your room, our balcony and the town, but we're sorry to hear that our front desk let you down. Our usual check in time is 3 pm; however, Karol was able to see that your room was unoccupied the night before and an early check was possible for you. Unfortunately, sometimes wires get crossed and the other front desk gal didn't realize that Karol had already talked to you about an early check in time. We're so sorry. I've passed along your comments to the front desk; hopefully, when you come back to visit they'll greet you with a smile! We're happy our maintenance staff made up for it, though. I will pass along your compliments to Jim, who helped you out. Unfortunately, you didn't mention the non-working TV or phone while you were here, otherwise we would have quickly fixed those issues for you. We hope you'll give us another chance and come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Although they've advertised as a B&B, this is clearly not. The breakfast voucher simply reduces the breakfast price from usual-hotel-outrageous to merely expensive (my husband had an omlette, I had french toast and bacon, we both had coffee; cost us $13.50 after the voucher deductions.) The usual B&B "afternoon gathering" is represented by a cookie in a paper bag handed to you at check-in.
That said (but it was a BIG irritant), the rooms were clean and large, very nicely furnished. We stayed in a mini-suite the first night and really enjoyed the Jacuzzi and fireplace. The next day, the toilet stopped up, which is just one of those things that can happen anywhere- but we came back at midday and it wasn't fixed. I overheard the maintenance man and housekeeper talking down the hall - she was adding several more tasks to his apparently already long list, so I figured it might take awhile. However, when we came back again at suppertime and it still wasn't fixed, I asked to be moved. They put us in what might be the largest suite, Room 200. It could easily sleep a family, although since it was one floor closer to the street noise, at the end of the communal balcony, and- most importantly- directly over the thumping music of the bar (we had been warned by the desk clerk), it had better be a family of sound sleepers. It was a really beautiful suite. The plumbing worked, but the fireplace and the phone did not.

Bottom line- NOT a B&B. Clean, pretty, spacious rooms, but clear indication of a trend to maintenance problems in the hotel overall.

And BTW- for timing your trip to Jim Thorpe: before Memorial Day, the town is really, REALLY dead during the week- worse than going down the seashore in off-season.

Room Tip: Third floor was good, not on the communal balcony ( you can still go down to the second floor and si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnJimThorpe, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Jim Thorpe, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello, and thanks for taking the time to write a review. We'd just like to clarify and explain a few things you mentioned: You're correct, we aren't a B&B -- we're a hotel. Our web site, our brochures and our internet listings describe us as a hotel or inn. One glance at any of our information prior to your stay would have cleared this up. Guests love getting homemade cookies at check in, but nowhere in our advertising does it say we hold an "afternoon gathering." Perhaps you were mixing us up with another place you read about? We try our best to give guests fabulous service, but occasionally we make mistakes. Our front desk gal forgot to report your toilet problem until the next day, unfortunately, and we apologize for that. We're glad you were able to get an upgraded room, though. We do have maintenance staff on-site, so issues are usually taken care of promptly. Regarding the $7 breakfast vouchers -- there are several items on our breakfast menu that are less than the voucher value. Unfortunately, you chose food that was more expensive than the voucher. Again, we apologize that your stay wasn't what you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Inn, Jim Thorpe, PA is a perfect place to step back in time while still having all the modern day amenities at you finger tips! Very family friendly! We took our teenage daughter with us and she had a blast! The Inn has a game room where you can play a series of different games. We played ping pong and darts. What fun! We got to town early so we walked from one end to the other. Lots of great history to see. One tip though not everything is open in April so if you are looking for the crowds you will need to go after Memorial Day. We liked the quiet bonding time though. Will without a doubt return.

Room Tip: Rooms with the jacuzzi are big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Jim Thorpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Jim Thorpe

Address: 24 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1849 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn at Jim Thorpe combines old world charm with modern conveniences in the heart of one of America's most picturesque and historic small towns. Steps to shops, galleries, opera house, pubs, restaurants, train rides, river rafting, kayaking, and hiking/biking trails. Suites with whirlpools and fireplaces. Spa services, adventure packages, spa getaways, romantic couples escapes, midweek packages and show & stay packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Jim Thorpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Jim Thorpe Hotel Jim Thorpe
Hotel Jim Thorpe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Jim Thorpe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.