We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous weekend at the Harry Packer Mansion in Jim Thorpe, PA.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harry Packer Mansion Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Harry Packer Mansion Inn to your Saves list
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   19 Packer Ave., PO Box 458, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Jim Thorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Fabulous weekend at the Harry Packer Mansion in Jim Thorpe, PA.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We had a really awesome weekend at the Harry Packer Mansion. The inn is beautiful, the food is delicious, the staff is friendly and there is a fun Murder Mystery. What more could you ask for??? If you're looking for a relaxing getaway in a romantic setting, this is the place. There is an adorable town filled with historic buildings, wonderful restaurants, shops and a train that takes you for a ride through the scenic countryside. Everything is within walking distance of the inn. We enjoyed it very much and can't wait to go back again!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    19
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
10
90
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waretown, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

What a great time! This is our (Husband and myself) second murder mystery weekend at the Packer Mansion and we couldn't be happier! Bob, Pat, Taylor and Kristin are extremely friendly and hospitable. The mansion is just awesome! We were in Annie's Suite this year...absolutely beautiful, large and clean! I'm very impressed in how dedicated this family is to the house and its history, not to mention their guests! The breakfasts and dinner were lovely. Coffee and tea every morning served in the most beautiful room. The way the mystery is conducted is probably the most practical and least awkward way of doing it. There are 16 or more strangers in the room ( we were with 8 other couples this time) which is kinda uncomfortable initally so, having Bob (who by the way is great) guide us through is nice. By lunch on Saturday everyone is comfortable and relaxed (arrive on Friday evening, depart on Sunday morning) By Saturday night we usually have 4 more friends! Everyone is exchanging email addresses and adding new Facebook friends! This takes a great host!
We had a great time and want to come back for a 3rd year......time to start writing a new mystery Bob! Thanks guys!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We booked here to do the Murder Mystery, but sadly it was cancelled because a large number of the other guests cancelled. Nonetheless, we had a nice weekend.

The breakfast is good, the innkeepers are nice and the room was clean and really beautiful.
The porch is a lovely place to have a glass or two of wine and the cheese plate.

Visit the Asa Packer mansion next door for sure!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We were guests for the murder mystery in early November. The mansion is spectacular, with a very friendly staff. We stayed in the carriage house next to the mansion which was nicely appointed and very comfortable.
The murder mystery is still a mystery to me. I was given a part to play with instructions concerning what my role was and and what to prepare for. Thru the first two sessions I was never involed at all so I decided not to attend the final session. I mean, why sit there for 2 hours and twiddle your thumbs?
The breakfasts were first rate. Very tasty. The evening meal however was anther story.
Salad.......awesome
Entree......... meat was cold and dry, beans were undercooked and cold also and
I'm sure the scalloped potatoes came from a box.
Dessert...........excellent
So, overall the experience was nice, but would not attend their murder mystery again.
I would go back perhaps in the Spring for just a regular stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Harry Packer Mansion over Labor Day weekend 2011 and stayed for three nights. We stayed in the carriage house and the room was nicely decorated and very clean. The carriage house is next to the mansion and was quiet even with guests in the adjacent rooms. The breakfast is phenomenal with a nice selection of food, I have been thinking about the quiche since we left! We enjoyed eating breakfast out on the veranda and sat out there in the evening as well with a glass of wine. The inside of the mansion is beautiful and I am sure that the fireplaces would be cozy in winter. The owners are very welcoming and made us feel at home. This was our first time in a B&B and we truly enjoyed it, we are already talking about going back. The town of Jim Thorpe has many unique shops and fantastic restaurants. The ghost tour was a great way to learn the history of the town. Make sure that you tour the Asa Packer Mansion next door to the Harry Packer Mansion.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

My husband and I participated in the Harry Packer Mansions "Murder Mystery Weekend". We booked the Linderman Suite on the third floor and friends of ours stayed in the other 2 third floor rooms. All I can say is what a fantastic and entertaining weekend it was! This went way beyond any stay at a traditional B&B by bringing all the guests together as characters in solving a historically based murder mystery!

Bob, the owner, began Friday evening by giving us a history of the eccentric and wealthy Packer family and assigning each guest a role as a family member or associate. The murder played out and then over the course of the weekend you tried to solve the mystery via clue sheets and discussions with other players. It was such a unique and fun filled way to spend the weekend together with friends!

That being said, there was plenty of free time Saturday to explore the cute town of Jim Thorpe, or do what you please. The breakfasts were different each day and so delicious! (Some items included quiche, Belgian waffles, sweet breads, breakfast meets and egg cassaroles.) Our hosts also served
us an amazing formal dinner of perfectly cooked steak, scalloped potatoes, and variety of vegetables.

The mansion itself is beautifully maintained and beautiful to relax in. The bathroom was small, simple, but clean and adequate. Our bed was very comfortable. The front porch was a wonderful place to enjoy a fruit and cheese plate with one of the wine flights from their Libations Lounge.

All in all a fantastic and memorable weekend!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Lakes, NJ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I was very pleased with our weekend getaway to Jim Thorpe, PA. The staff of the HPM were phenomenal, tending to our every need and request. The murder mystery was lots of fun, and I particularly enjoyed that it included actual historical information, with a twist!
The food was fantastic, and our bachelorette party particularly enjoyed that the mansion is walking distance to many bars in town. I recommend this as a great getaway for couples or small groups like ours.

Room Tip: We stayed in the carriage house and all rooms were fantastic and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harry Packer Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry Packer Mansion Inn

Address: 19 Packer Ave., PO Box 458, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harry Packer Mansion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a wedding present in 1874, the Harry Packer Mansion now serves as a luxury inn within the Mauch Chunk Historic district of Jim Thorpe, PA, just 1 1/2 hours from Philadelphia and NYC.The Mansion was used by Disney as a model for the Haunted Mansion so it is only fitting that it is known for its award-winning Murder Mystery Weekends. Voted the best Murder Mystery weekend by the Book of Lists and recently the best on the East Coast by NPR. Come for the murder weekend, visit during the week for a quieter experience, stop by and enjoy a glass of wine on the veranda or take a tour through the mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Harry Packer Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harry Packer Mansion Hotel Jim Thorpe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry Packer Mansion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.