We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short onHelp” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Through the Looking Glass Cafe

Through the Looking Glass Cafe
111 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA
570-325-8770
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 32 Restaurants in Jim Thorpe
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Short onHelp”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Decided to stop before attending a show at the Mauch Chunk Opera House. The restaurant is uniquely decorated. The first thing we noticed was it was in disarray and messy. Nevertheless we stayed and ordered The crab bisque was flavorful. I had a sirloin sandwich and my wife had some type of chicken sandwich. My sandwich was huge. It was literally a whole sleak on two over size pieces of bread. The meal took a long time to come out and quite a few of the patrons that were performing in the show had to ask for their food to go. There was only one waitress taking care of everything inside and outside. Management really needs to address staffing problems.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    27
    11
    9
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading,Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best grilled cheese ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband and I shared a lunch here at the recommendation from a local. Very eclectic interior. Get the grilled cheese with everything--Apple sliced, bacon and tomato on homemade bread. Fantastic!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Quaint, personal service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Sat outside on the patio on a beautiful July night. There service was casual but personal. I took a chance and ordered the blackened talipia and it was great. Cooked to perfection, crispy on the outside but moist on the inside with the just perfect amount of blackened spices. Everything on the dish was fresh and delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Slow Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My husband and I were in Jim Thorpe for our wedding anniversary and decided to have lunch at this restaurant because it was a beautiful day and had outside seating and had cute alice in wonderland themed tables. When we walked up, most of the tables outside were empty, but none of them had been cleaned off. We sat down and the waitress came over and took the previous diner's food off of the table and put our new utensils down, but didn't bother to wipe the table (should have been my first clue). I asked for water, and drank 1/2 of it, before noticing there was something stuck at the bottom inside my glass (ewwwww). Then we waited, what seemed like forever for our food (and we both ordered hot sandwiches, so wouldn't think this would take so long). No one even came out to say "your food will be a minute" or anything. Finally, our food came out, and our food WAS good, so I can't say anything bad about the food, but I would never go back because of the service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Decent choice after a 25 mile bike ride!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Friends and we (four all together) had a late lunch here after biking the Lehigh Valley Gorge rail-trail. Beautiful day, so we elected to eat on the porch area. Two of us were vegetarian and were pleased to see options for us. To start us out, potato sticks were put out (instead of bread) - not a very appealing option. We ordered a portabello mushroom salad and one of the pizzas. Pizza is quite large and tasty, but the crust is very thick. Salad was fine, but dressing is commercial. Friends had a chicken salad, also fine but unremarkable. Service was prompt and pleasant. All-in-all fine, but nothing that cried out "wow - we've got to eat here next time we bike!"

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Through the Looking Glass Cafe also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Through the Looking Glass Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Through the Looking Glass Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.