We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eaglemania at the Opera House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mauch Chunk Opera House

The Mauch Chunk Opera House
14 West Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229
570-325-0249
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 8 Activities in Jim Thorpe
Type: Concerts, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Noted in National Geographic Traveler for its superb acoustics, the 1881 Opera House was an important stop on the old Vaudeville circuit. Today's schedule is diverse, from folk, rock, classical, and jazz. Recent renovations include a new steel roof, sound system and theater seats. Relaxed, intimate and all seats have a great view. The Opera House is located in the heart of Jim Thorpe's historic district, just a quick stroll to pubs, restaurants, lodging and shops.
Danville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Eaglemania at the Opera House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a marvelous time at listening to Eaglemania on 4/13/13 at the Mauch Chunk Opera House. We will be checking in from time to time to see what else is playing!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    19
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Free Range Folks CD Release Party was outrageously fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We loved everything about the , the food, and and the venue.
This wonderful place will remain a golden memory in our hearts long after it becomes wildly expensive or sells to new owners.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Enter the Haggis kicks off week to St Patty's Day 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Traveled from Philly to Jim Thorpe to see Enter the Haggis concert. We'd never been to Jim Thorpe and found the town and the Opera House charming and will return again in warmer weather. It was an easy 1-1/2 hr. drive. The staff of the Opera House was very friendly and accommodating. We lucked out this March with no snow on the ground as you need to park at the bottom of a hill in the community lot and walk a few blocks to the Opera House. In that short walk, we found some interesting shops and stopped for dinner at The Wheel restaurant which we would HIGHLY recommend (had a traditional Irish meal of corned beef, cabbage and potatoes as well as a roast pork w/fennel, spinach and cheeses - both delicious!!!). Eat before attending an event as the Opera House serves only drinks/snacks/desserts. The Opera House has the main floor, lower balcony (where we sat) and the upper balcony. I would say that all seats except for the very back of the upper balcony offer great views of the stage. Band members of ETH came out after the show to talk with the fans which made for an especially nice night. The Opera House offers a nice intimate size setting to enjoy a night out!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Something new every time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I would suggest if you are planning a trip to Jim Thorpe call ahead and find out what type of entertainment is at the Opera House. There was a hysterical Irish Band there when we visited. At Christmas time, they have book readings and plays. All year long there is something to enjoy at the opera house. Don't miss it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Tiny, homey & thoroughly enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is a surprisingly small place to see a concert or theater production, but that is what makes it all the more enjoyable. No matter where you sit, you are very close to the stage. I saw an adaptation of Dickens' A Christmas Carol, which was AMAZING!!!

Here is the description on the Opera House's website:

"A Christmas Carol like you’ve never seen! Back by popular demand, this adaptation of Charles Dicken’s A Coal Country Christmas Carol comes to the Mauch Chunk Opera House as a unique storytelling evening of magic, mechanicals and music. Presented as a classic old time radio show, performers summon the spirits of the coal region’s 19th century industrial Appalachia to tell this traditional tale of redemption and hope in a completely new and unconventional way."

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mauch Chunk Opera House also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to The Mauch Chunk Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mauch Chunk Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.