We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour of the mansion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asa Packer Mansion

Asa Packer Mansion
Packer Hill Drive, P.O. Box 108, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229
(570) 325-3229
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Jim Thorpe
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Landmarks
Attraction details
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tour of the mansion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It tells of a different time period. very interesting. There is a lot of history in the mansion. A nice view. You can sit on the porch and relax.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    46
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well worth the price of the tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very interesting tour, beautiful home, well preserved, and tour guide was very informative. Price was reasonable as well. If you're in the area it worth your time. Beautiful antiques and the wood work is gorgeous.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaghticoke, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“DisneyWorld's template for the Haunted Mansion.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

No, really!! Take the tour and hear the story for yourself. Lovingly restored, and an excellent reflection of the period. Such great history. Our tour guide was exceptionally knowledgeable, making the tour worth the wait and the money.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Must see in Jim Thorpe, PA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We went to Jim Thorpe, PA with the specific objective of seeing the Asa Packer Mansion and we were more than impressed. Our guide was tremendously knowledgeable about all the features and artifacts as well as the history of the house and the area. The house and artifacts are about 95% original which makes this an even more interesting visit. You see all three floors and all the rooms of the house. Very complete tour at a reasonable price and it lasted an hour.

If you go, would really recommend spending the whole day in Jim Thorpe...maybe two. This town is a best kept secret with incredible shopping, scenic train rides, river rafting, historic churches and plenty of restaurant options. The town is nestled between high mountains on the Lehigh River. In the late 1800's, when there were only about 15 millionaires in the US, 9 of them lived in this town. An amazing place to visit in a beautiful area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wow, looks JUST like MY house! (NOT!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a gorgeous home! I was fearful that we'd be standing there for 15 to 20 minutes as the tour guide would talk about how the door knob was imported from Germany, or list the birth dates of each child, and then their children, yada yada yada. But it wasn't like that. It was interesting. The hand-carved woodwork along the doors is amazing, as is the embossed walls and rich feel. Neat seeing the bedrooms, and contrasting the family's bedrooms to that of the cook's bedroom. Wished we paid attention to detail like this today.

The stairs really weren't so bad. Thing is, people, PLEASE be careful if it's raining. The stairs leading to this mansion are safe (concrete), but once you hit the town, there's a brick flooring and my shoe slipped in the slick brick and I almost literally broke my back or hip or neck. Be careful!

I paid $8 to get it. It's $7 if you're over 55 years old.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asa Packer Mansion also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Asa Packer Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asa Packer Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.