We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Asa Packer Mansion

Asa Packer Mansion
Packer Hill Drive, P.O. Box 108, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229
(570) 325-3229
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Jim Thorpe
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Landmarks
Attraction details
Totowa, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

The tour guide we had was very knowledgable and was engaging, really able to hold our attention. The tour lasted approximately 40 minutes. Definitely worth a stop while in Jim Thorpe.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    46
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Talleyville, Delaware
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“This mansion belongs in Newport, RI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Asa Packer made his money by moving coal on boats and railroads. He founded and funded Lehigh University. When he died, his wealth ranked right behind Rockefeller and Carnegie. Who would ever have expected such an incredible story in the modest town of Jim Thorpe!

The details and character of this house put it on par with many of the mansions of Newport. Make this house your first stop when visiting the town.

I am a museum professional and have spent many hours in historic houses. This is one of the best. Our tour guide, Tom, was exceptional. He held our attention the entire time. The tour lasted just over an hour and was very personal.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Tour guide brings the house to life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Having lived in the area most of my life its one of those places where you say you should go but never get around to. My husband had done a college project on the house years early and always wanted to go back. We finally got there. Kathy our tour guide was a gem and an excellent story teller. The house came alive with her descriptions. Everything is original to the house and great care is taken to preserve it. The guides seem to care as much for the house as the original owners. The detail of the walls and ceilings were spectacular. Each room different from the last. You also learn about the Packer Family and their generosity to the people who worked for them and the town. Its a must see for anyone visiting Jim Thorpe.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim Thorpe, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A slice of history frozen in time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Visiting the Asa Packer Mansion is like stepping back into the Victorian era.
It was left just as it was with everything in place. Is as if the Packers just walked out the door.
This is a must see for a sense of our past.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Must see for history lover's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We visited the mansion in mid-July and were impressed by how many of the original furnishings were still there. The woodwork and glass windows were beautiful and it was interesting to see the 'modern' conveniences the house had in it's day. The guide was very well-informed and knew as much about the surrounding area as the mansion itself.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asa Packer Mansion also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Asa Packer Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asa Packer Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.