We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, fun atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wheel

The Wheel
107 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA
570 732-4264
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 32 Restaurants in Jim Thorpe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cambridge, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Food, fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I decided to try the Wheel solely because of the reviews we read in tripadvisor and the pictures and postings on The Wheels website. WE HAD A GREAT TIME!! The menu selections are very unique and the food was excellent. The ambience was quite relaxing and inviting, kind of a mixture of ecclectic and historic Jim Thorpe. The service was great, the chef and owner was fun to talk with and best of all ......the FOOD!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    12
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmerton, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Last Minute Dinner...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

At the last minute we decided to go out to dinner in Jim Thorpe. It was the height of the fall foliage season and the place was booked till 7:30. We got there about 7:30 and were seated right away. Very interesting place where the ambiance reflects the owner's unique and adventurous approach to cooking.

We started off with two bowls of shrimp bisque which was delightful! Just the right amount heat, creamy texture and was rich with a lot of shrimp. Our entrees were crab cakes and seafood in a Fra Diavolo sauce. Before the entrees came, the owner (Tom) came to our table and told us he only had one crab cake left. He said they are rather large and would charge us half price. We went for it.

Both were dishes were out of this world! We travel regularly and I would put my Fra Diavolo dish against some wonderful dishes I had in Barcelona, Spain!

A bit pricey for NEPA but you get what you pay for.

Planing to visit again soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice Anniversary Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I just celebrated our 28th wedding anniversary by taking our first trip to Jim Thorpe, PA. I was lucky enough to get a reservation for 2 at The Wheel Restaurant. While planning our trip, I read the many positive reviews on here about the establishment. We spent the day walking around the town checking out the many shops and our plans were to enjoy a nice early dinner - we made reservations for 5:30 pm and then go back to our hotel, change and do the Ghost Tour at The Old Jail Museum.

When we arrived at The Wheel, we were seated promptly. Evening was just starting to settle and we loved the cozy atmosphere inside the restaurant. The tables along the walls were illuminated by a light bulb located below the table which made for a really neat glow around the restaurant. Our waitress was very friendly and presented us with menus that were enclosed in actual album covers (those are the things we old-timers listened too before MP3's, CD's and even Cassette tapes!) In addition to the interesting menu items, she reviewed the many specials for the evening as well. She did also inform us that they were out of the button mushroom appetizer and the Aztec Chicken dinner item. I also wanted to order a bottle of sparkling wine, but was informed that was also not available this particular evening.

We didn't let this bother us. Apparently they were "slammed" at lunchtime! We didn't let this bother us. My wife ordered the Rack of Lamb and I ordered the Fennel Pork Special. Both were awesome choices! The portions were plentiful and the food was prepared perfectly! We somehow managed to keep room for dessert and we each ordered the Raspberry Chocolate Mousse Pie. Again great choices!

We lost count of the number of people who showed up without reservations who were turned away at the door. If you want to treat yourself to a very nice meal when you're in Jim Thorpe, be sure to make reservations at The Wheel. Like us, I'm sure you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun Place, with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Tom, the chef, has figured it out with "The Wheel"! It's a small, fun, eclectic setting in the heart of Jim Thorpe. The food was awesome and even though our waitress was a first timer, Tom made sure we were taken care of. He came out to the table to offer suggestions on the wine, food, and desert, all of which were perfect. We had the scallop dinner from the menu and the crab cakes from the specials...The sauces and sides were great with the dishes, and there was a ton of food. We finished with the bread pudding. What a night, great food, atmosphere, and people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience and Amazing Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I live in Florida and were visiting the Poconos for the first time. We absolutely loved this place. Tom Gorman was the best cook we have ever encountered and we travel alot and try new restaurants often. Everything was perfect from the creative and romantic ambiance to the amazing service by Don. It is hard to find at 107 Broadway, but so worth the hunt! We had the scallop mushroom buttons, roast pork and baked manacotti with chocolate mousse cake. You can tell that chef Gorman really cares about giving you a great experience. No other meal on our vacation compared to this. We highly recommend it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wheel also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to The Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wheel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.