We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants in the world...and I have eaten around the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wheel

The Wheel
107 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA
570 732-4264
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 32 Restaurants in Jim Thorpe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in the world...and I have eaten around the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The restaurant is so unique in its artwork and ambience...small, comfty, artsy, aromatic. Food is so outstanding. Creative, delicious, and well priced. Owner chef takes such great pride in every detail. I will look forward to going again and again. i just love the place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    14
    6
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Creative menu, funny owner, cool building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The owner entertained us while we ate his food. A bit pricey for what we got, but we had a good time. Entrees were excellent. Nice selection of wine and beer. Menus come inserted in old album covers. Funky inside and out. We'll come back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticowife
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“An experience for all your senses!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

It seems to be unanimous - Wheel is fantastic! I want to tell you about my experience without giving too much away. Like a great book or movie you don't want to ruin the experience for the next viewer and reader or in this case the next diner.... Prior to my visit there this evening I hadn't read or heard anything about this restaurant. I happened to pass by one evening and thought it looked very quaint and unique on the outside. I checked out the menu online and thought it sounded like a unique and ambitious offering. Macaroni and cheese with lobster as an appetizer - count me in! Great romantic atmosphere, beautifully and creatively decorated, excellent service, nice music and sound system, fantastic drinks and the food..... Ahhhhhh yes the food! I shall return! Be warned it is pricey but soooooooooooooooo worth it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Food Ever !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

OMG....this was the best meal we had in Jim Thorpe !! The atmosphere was eclectic and quaint. The food was fantastic !! We had the Maryland Crab Cake and Button Mushrooms with scallops for appetizer (really a meal in itself) . Our main entree was Roast Pork Thorpe which my husband devoured and I indulged in the grilled Salmon over fresh cut Apple ginger salad. Too full to even think about dessert !! Incredible meal...you will not leave disappointed !! Thank you Ellen and Richard Defeo for the recommend !!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Wow, the food is excellent. The chef comes to your table to make sure you like your dinner. I had shrimp and my husband had steak. The atmosphere was great and everyone was friendly. Just terrific

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wheel also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to The Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wheel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.