We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, historical and welcoming with great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Molly Maguires Pub & Steakhouse

Molly Maguires Pub & Steakhouse
5 Hazard Square, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229
570-325-4563
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 32 Restaurants in Jim Thorpe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Lake Telemark, NJ
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fun, historical and welcoming with great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We eat here pretty regularly and I have yet to have a bad meal! You HAFTA ask to sit in Chad's section - he is an amazing waiter - and a great guy! Try the onion rings appetizer - they won't disappoint. I avoid fried foods and these do not bother me at all. The salmon wrap is absolutely delicious too. My favorite is the salad (can't remember the actual name on the menu) with bleu cheese, pecans and a raspberry vinagrette. Filling and delicious. Indoor and outdoor seating is available - I find it is sometimes a little chilly indoors. Try it for yourself. It is not a gourmet restaurant, folks...but it IS good food at reasonable prices!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    140
    64
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Food good..service great. Louis very attentative.,Caesar salad & burger tasty. Bruchetta delicious. Lots to choose from.

Convenient to Inn. Looks like a happening place on weekends.

Outside seating is a large tent setup., so NOT really outside.

I'm just sayin .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This Irish Pub has got wonderful service and great food! We ate lunch here on our recent visit to Jim Thorpe, PA. Our food was served in a timely manner, exactly the way we ordered it and the servings were huge!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Decent Place To Eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Molly Maguires Pub and Steakhouse was a nice place to stop on a really hot, humid day after touring the old prison up the hill. Casual bar food, a decent beer selection. The service was fine. Nothing extra special or extra horrible.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“It's a pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It's a typical pub, usually crowded and on the loud side, but an ok place to stop and grab some pub food (burger, sandwich or appetizers) and a drink. The fries were hot as well as the chicken tenders. Soft drinks were not refilled. They have a nice covered patio to sit and eat. Our waitress was not overly friendly and seemed like she did not want to be there. She also was eager to rush us out even though we were at the tale end of the lunch rush (and there for less than 40 minutes).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molly Maguires Pub & Steakhouse also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Molly Maguires Pub & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molly Maguires Pub & Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.