We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice weekend......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Times House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jim Thorpe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Times House
Save Saved
You added The Times House to your Saves list
25 Race Street, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Midweek Bike Package
Ranked #1 of 19 Jim Thorpe B&B and Inns
Cudjoe Key
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What a nice weekend......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

As we walked up to the building, i was a little nervous about my choice for a weekend getaway. The exterior was quite simple and somewhat uninviting. But the minute we unlocked the door, I knew I hadn't made a mistake. You enter into the living/sleeping/lounging area which is spacious and immaculate. The furnishings are nice, all antiques and vey tasteful. There was a freshly baked apple cake in dining area along with lightly stocked refrigerator and coffee and tea fixings....very nice. We met Chris and Diane almost immediately upon our arrival and they were both sooooo nice. We would highly recommend this place. We will come again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary in early December and to say that The Times House was the perfect place would be an understatement. The room was beautiful and very comfortable, Chris and Diane were friendly and helpful, and the surprises of homemade baked goods every day in the room made you feel almost like you were at home rather than traveling. I would HIGHLY recommend Times House to anyone looking for a relaxed, romantic experience. And make sure to try Moya while you're there. The food was incredible.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Booked a last minute overnight in Times II Suite. No false advertising here, the room is as pictured on the website and very clean. Small flat screen TV, electric fireplace kept the room warm and cozy, comfy queen bed, 2 large closets in kitchen area. The bathroom was cleaner than any high end hotel chain I've visited. Fluffy white towels (looked new), assortment of bathroom items: hair dryer, shower puff, body lotion, shampoo, soap, etc Nicest feature is the in suite breakfast. The kitchen dining area was set up for breakfast when we returned from dinner. Individual chocolate mini cakes on fine china, mini frig stocked with juice, water, soda, fruit cups, yogurt, coffee/tea/hot chocolate, snack jar and basket of breakfast items (bagels/fruit). Private parking for guests - note this is accessed via a narrow alley off main road through town. Private entrance into suite from street. Park and walk to everything in town. Highly recommend staying here. Take the ghost walk in town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This is a beautiful bed and breakfast that is in walking distance to all of Jim Thorpe's attractions. We stayed in the Times II Suite. The bed was very comfortable; the high ceilings and decor were very tasteful and made us feel like we were going back in time; the clawfoot tub was awesome; the owners were very nice and did a great job making us feel welcome and special. The room was private and quiet. The kitchen was stocked with snacks, water, juices and plenty to eat for breakfast. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay to celebrate our 25th Anniversary. From the roses and wine on check-in to all of the other personal touches (chocolate covered strawberries on our second night!) in the room, our hosts made this a memorable experience. The room was well-appointed and breakfast was provided in the suite. Location is ideal, walking distance to everything but far enough away from the action on Broadway. It was the best B & B experience I've ever had.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunterdon County
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent trip to Jim Thorpe, and The Times House was a wonderful place to stay. The decor was tasteful and the spacious bedroom with high ceilings created a lovely atmosphere. Our hosts were friendly and hospitable and the walk to town was convenient. While staying here, don't forget to reserve a table at MOYA restaurant which is right across the street. There is also a great local winery right next door. Tell them about your anniversary and folks say you'll receive a complimentary bottle of wine. At $162 after tax, we found The Times House to be a bit on the pricey side. Especially since Jim Thorpe has so much to offer and you are rarely in your room. In the future, it would be nice to see fresh baked goods provided in the morning. The tiny kitchen is lovely and makes you feel like you are at your grandmother's house. The only thing missing is the homemade touch!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

This was my first bed and breakfast encounter and I must say it will be difficult to stay in a hotel after my experience at the Times II suite. The first thing i noticed when walking into the room was that it was larger than the pictures had made it seem. The electric fireplace put off great heat and really warmed me up after a brisk walk around town. I was surprised by the amount of food that was provided daily in the dinning/kitchen area, muffins, bagels, fruit cups, yogurt, bananas, apples, juices, bottled water, coffee, & a snack jar with treats for the road or trail. The owners were very nice and accommodating. The sheets were soft and the bed was comfortable. To top everything off this place was clean! You will not find a cleaner room to stay in than the rooms at the Times House.

I had a great weekend. Thank you Times House! I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Times House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Times House

Address: 25 Race Street, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on historic Race Street in the heart of Jim Thorpe, you’ll enjoy the comfortable elegance of the circa 1870 Times House Bed & Breakfast, just steps away from shops, restaurants, galleries and more. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Times House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.