We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Learn about Butterflies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary

Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary
18 Church Road, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229
(570) 325 - 4848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 attractions in Jim Thorpe
Attraction Details
Bethlehem
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great Place to Learn about Butterflies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hands on stuff for kids to do ..they'll love it!! They even have a Fluttertarium!! Film presentation on arriving. Self tour with great displays, butterflies, and poison dart frogs. Butterfly Tender to help you with any questions you care to ask. Loved it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
You guys did seems to be having a lot of fun and really connecting to the little critters we house. Thanks so much for visiting. The experience can become even richer and more educational as your children grow up. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    5
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, PA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very cool little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Visited here recently w/ my almost 3 year old daughter. She was a little too young for the educational side (we skipped the video and such), but we enjoyed going into the butterfly room where the guide was very knowledgeable about butterflies and their whole life cycle. The place is super kid friendly, and although you won't spend forever here, it is something nice for the kids.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
We are so please that you enjoyed your visit and hope you will visit us again and again as your child grows . There is always a new opportunity to experience the wonders of nature . Our Thursday morning pre school " Butterfly Friends " program is perfect for 3 year olds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfordsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love the nature show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

A little off the beaten path, but well worth the small admission fee. There is a video and a speaker that provide a lot of information about butterflies. We then went into the butterfly room where you can actually hold the butterflies and feed them. There is also a tank with various poison dart frogs. Very educational, worth the drive!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
We do really love doing the butterfly show. Its wonderful to see the kid's eyes light up when they see the Blue Morpho's quick change or the owl eyed butterfly's cool trick. And who wouldn't love meeting live butterflies in an up-close and personal way. I love how butterflies are not the least bit shy around people. I wonder if they understand how awesome it is for us when they alight on a little finger .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

I am just leaving the butterfly sanctuary in Jim Thorpe. I had an amazing time. I have both a toddler and twin boys and they were all engrossed and enthawed. Yes the sanctuary is not huge but small and personal which is exactly what we wanted. We learned as a family and as individuals. The movie was great and the interaction with the staff was incredible. No question was left unanswered or was dumb love this place. Would reccommend this sanctuary to anyone. Taught my kids about conservstion which is so important Also came highly recommended from The owner of the campsite we stayed at. Loved every minute of our stay Can't believe someone would complain about a small admission.

Joanna
Nj

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed the visit. We had a great time with your family also. The pre-school program does seem like a good fit for our younger visitors but even toddlers light up when a butterfly comes close. We want the Sanctuary to be a place where people can have a meaningful and joyous time be it a quick 15 minutes in the flight room or the whole ball of wax. The experience you and your family talked about in the review is what we strive for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A most peaceful place for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Today me, my wife, and 4-year old had the most relaxing experience of our week long stay in the Poconos. We made plans to visit the sanctuary the night before on the fly and got there at 9:20 a.m. just before the doors opened so that we could arrive on time for the preschool presentation.

We were warmly greeted by the founder of this great non-profit...One of the most caring, and sincere souls we have encountered in a very long time. She showed us the display of dart and tree frogs, and explained the special anatomy of the tarantula she had on display. All the while my little boy had his nose practically pressed against the glass. What a treat as all of the families watched a 10 minute video, learning about the life cycle of butterflies. We had unfortunately overheated and killed 5 of the chrysalises during the car ride up to our vacation rental and were at the sanctuary to learn about the right way to raise butterflies.

It was clear to my wife (an elementary school teacher) that the educator had previous experience with kinesthetic learning, and did a great job keeping the attention of my 4-year old boy for the almost two hours we spent at the sanctuary.. I was even dressed up as a butterfly to describe the different parts of a butterfly. It was a good time. We then went and did some drawings to illustrate and reinforce the important relationship between butterflies and their environment. After that we went into the butterfly room and handled and fed a variety of different butterfly species. And we got to see a variety of chrysalises and a couple of newly emerged butterflies. We all had a great time. It was as about as serene and relaxing as could be. All of the dozen or so participants gently handled all of the butterflies. We even got to see the "senior" butterfly area where the older butterflies were kept so that there was no chance of them being injured by us bigger creatures.

The gift shop was of course focused on butterflies and other insects. My wife found a beautiful necklace displaying a portion of a butterfly's wing. It's like a gem. My son picked out an insect book that we later discovered was actually less expensive than the same book on Amazon. My little boy practically sobbed when it was time to leave (and he is not a crier). We promised to bring him back again, and we will. You will have a fun, interesting, and relaxing time at the sanctuary. It was well worth the $5 admission fee. Although the sanctuary building looked small on the outside, the contents were gigantic. And my wife got some great pictures of the butterflies we got to handle.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary to your Saves list