We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little train ride back into history.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lehigh Gorge Scenic Railway

Lehigh Gorge Scenic Railway
1 Susquehanna St, Jim Thorpe, PA 18252
570-325-8485
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The 1-hour, 16-mile round-trip follows the Lehigh River over bridges, through Glen Onoko, into the Lehigh Gorge State Park. High-rising cliffs and mountain scenery surround the train along the route to Old Penn Haven. You will see hikers, rafters, mountain bikers, and wildlife around every curve of the railroad. You will learn about railroad lore, wildlife, flora, the history of the anthracite coal region, and the people who launched America into the Industrial Age.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice little train ride back into history.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We went midweek right before labor day with a 6 and 2 year old. The ride is located at the center of a very picturesque downtown Jim Thorpe. My 2 year old LOVES trains, so he was absolutely thrilled. My 6 yo daughter also had a very good time. The ride is an hour and runs along the Lehigh River. The view is only ok as there's lot's of trees between you and the river so you do not get long stretches of view of the river. The experience is authentic with period dressed conductors and the awesome sound of the engine tooting through the town. There's one part where to go a bit fast so you get the nice clickity clack of the tracks. At the end of the going out portion the engine goes forward and the engineer switches the track, then the engine comes back up to the other end of the train and hooks up instead of just going in reverse. Nice little treat for train folks. For adults I think it might be a fun diversion but its really a treat for little kids. One warning, we took the last ride out of the day and when we came back the gift shop closed! This was BAD for my 6 yo as we held off shopping until after the ride. Also, if the weather is nice go for the open car, it's great.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    78
    45
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boyertown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“always a great ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Took trip in the Fall and the foliage is beautiful especially travelling by train. You get to see parts of the gorge that you don't get to see from the road and of course the sound of the train on the tracks in the woods is always exciting. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Fun and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

3 choices: Most $$$: car with lots of glass, ie a better view? But, we didn't see one. 2nd: open sides, but just one long bench through the center. Best buy? The cheapest! like an old train ride, with comfy benchs and windows that open and close. Workers are super nice and dressed the part. Ride is just long enough and scenic; includes seeing white water rafters, kayaks, bikers, etc. Note: please don't go and talk loud, exchanging cellphone pics, disrupting the nice illustrative speaker. If you want to talk/yell, do it off the train, so others can enjoy the experience. Be nice. You aren't the only riders.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Get the "open air car" tickets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Nice nostalgic train ride. The open air car/tickets were great for picture taking. Train ride is an hour total.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fun Train Ride in the Poconos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our ride through the gorge on this wonderful railway. It was a very humid day, so we chose the open air carriage. The train takes you through the gorge where you see flora and fauna in the forest on one side and the river on the other. As these seats cannot be reversed on the return trip, you might want to consider sitting on the river side for both trips if you like to see the water. It was not a problem for us, though. We thought the views were great, lots of fun for young and old. The conductors were awesome, very friendly and helpful. Try not to miss "Little Niagara" on the forest side. We highly recommend taking this fun train.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lehigh Gorge Scenic Railway also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Lehigh Gorge Scenic Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lehigh Gorge Scenic Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.