We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee ... and even greater rock mural” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strange Brew

Strange Brew
79 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229
570 325-2916
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 32 Restaurants in Jim Thorpe
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
PA
Top Contributor
407 reviews 407 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
“Great coffee ... and even greater rock mural”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The coffee shop would expect and look for in a tourist town ... stop in

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    14
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“LOVED THE COFFEE!!! Nice place to hang out! If you get a chance to stop in for GOOD COFFEE", it is on the corner .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

It is a nice place to meet friends. I have been there on many occasions and always LOVE going back. It would be a great place to spend time with friends or make new ones.

I Keep going back - it is the best in the area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cool Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Good coffee, good service in a really cool old building! Was nice!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Small Coffee Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Started stopping by there a couple of years ago . Enjoy their organic coffee , very smooth. Espresso is great , all types of yummy teas : ) ... The Chi shakes are awesome, really sinful ! . The owner is a hoot , fun to talk to. This is Not Starbucks , thank goodness ! Comfy chairs , reading materials , broad games and neat stuff to look at .

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Watery and rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

The staff was rude abut providing a receipt, and was rude when I tried to order a regular coffee instead of something more unique from the menu. We ordered hot apple cider and java soda. The hot apple cider was watery and had a wet dog after taste. The coffee soda was also terrible. We threw out our drinks shortly after leaving the coffee shop, and the person I was traveling with apologized for suggesting we go in. The mural on the wall was interesting, but unfinished. It was the only redeeming quality about the shop.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strange Brew also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Strange Brew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strange Brew, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.