We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Great Place To Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Sydney Airport

Save Saved
You added Mercure Sydney Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Sydney Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Levey Street, Wolli Creek, Rockdale, New South Wales 2205, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Wolli Creek
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Convenient Great Place To Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nites 15th and 16th Feb on business, whilst the Hotel is undergoing major refurbishment it made little difference to my stay and my overall experience was excellent!.

Friendly reception, great dining, food was excellent i had both breakfast and dinner in the Restaurant . Room i had wasnt refurbished but it was great and had everything that i wanted and required. The bed and pillows was real comfy and i probably had one of the best sleeps that i have ever had at this Hotel, as i usually find it extremely difficult to sleep............i hope they dont lower the standard of the beds with the refurb!.

There was no noise at al and the St George Rowers Club is a 5 min walk away which is a great place for a beer,sitting on their balcony overlooking the river and watching the aeroplanes land.

I highly recommend and will be staying here again in 6 mths. If you need a supermarket a new Woollies is a short 10 mins walk away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Airport, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear RayBrisbane,

We really appreciate your effort in giving us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that regardless of the renovations you were still able to enjoy your recent stay at Mercure Sydney Airport. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in six months and we look forward for your feedback in regards to the new and transformed Mercure Sydney Airport.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    603
    285
    107
    44
See reviews for
250
539
212
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suva, Fiji
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The only reason to stay here is for a late or early flight connection, and I was highly satisfied. The room was relatively generous in size, clean, and everything you'd expect for this kind of a hotel. The lobby is under reconstruction, but it didn't affect my stay at all and will make things nicer. The windows are double glazed, so noise (from the busy road nearby) is not an issue, and I had a nice view of the golf course.

The hotel is amidst tennis courts and parkland across a creek (estuary) from the airport. It is a 15 minute walk from International airport (Domestic is much further). Walk out from arrivals, under the left-side parking garage (follow the walkways - past valet parking), then out the back across the parking lot towards the estuary. Cross under the road bridge, then circle onto the road bridge sidewalk, and the hotel is straight ahead. (in reverse from the hotel, follow the bike path to get onto the sidewalk of the main road over the bridge). Alternatively the airport shuttle is on a 30 minute rhythm and costs 6$.

The parkland is nice for jogs, walks, picnic. I arrived at Wolli Creek train station (much cheaper than airport if you are coming from elsewhere), walked a block to shop at the Woolworths supermarket, where I picked up some take-away sushi, and strolled to the hotel between the cricket pitch and river, eating dinner on a picnic table. Nice. But the hotel has a restaurant too.

Note - my TV had a problem at first, but on calling the desk a repairman was there in 5 minutes and fixed it. Also an hour of internet is $11. Ugh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Airport, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Stian91,

Thank you for taking the time in giving us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you were highly satisfied with your stay at Mercure Sydney Airport. On your next stay, please take advantage of our free Wi-Fi down at the lobby. We look forward to welcoming you back into the hotel and to showcase a brand new Mercure Sydney Airport to you.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just to kick things off, the hotel is currently undergoing renovations. If I had of known this I wouldn't have stayed there at all. I picked it as it was close to the airport and booked it through Accor directly.

This all occurred on my second night of staying at the Mercure;

- minibar wasn't restocked, told by staff that it was housekeeping's problem and wouldn't get fixed till tomorrow (when I departed){

- the coffee capsules were not restocked, when I asked them to restock it the staff member brought me up a handful of decaffeinated coffee, when I asked for proper coffee he told me that 'decaffeinato' was the brand of pods (Nespresso) to which I informed him that was incorrect and can he please check for other ones as this was not satisfactory, he came back with 5 other ones which were actual coffees (thank you)

- we tried to have dinner in the restaurant, which was half full, and told there was at least a 40 minute wait...the attitude of the staff member when they told us to wait it was like we were just another burden walking in.

- the overall attitude of the staff from checkin to restaurant was the worst I've had for as long as I have been frequenting hotels (15+ years of business travel)

- ended up ordering room service, told it would be about 35 minutes, after waiting 50 minutes I rang up only to be informed that my order had been lost and they would send me a new order as soon as possible and that it would be at no charge (thank you)

- when the staff member delivered my room service he suggested I pay him cash for it, he quickly back pedalled when I told him it said no charge on the bill in his hand

- last but not least, their Internet service is slow and cumbersome, and you have to go get a passcode from reception, no online signup or anything to help you get online quickly.

This is without a doubt the worst hotel, with the worst staff attitude, I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Airport, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi there,
Firstly thank you very much for taking the time and posting your review on Trip Advisor. We value all feedback provided by our guests as your satisfaction is very important to us.
Our hotel is currently undergoing an exciting transformation and we thank you for your patience during this period. It is a great disappointment to us that you did not experience the great services at Mercure during your stay with us. However, it is through your feedback that we are able to be aware of these situations and we apologise for the inconvenience you felt during your stay with us.

We have spoken to each department and have reiterated the importance of customer service through the eyes of our guests. Our internet service is provided by a third party company and we understand how disappointing it can be when your expectations are not met. We have passed on your information with reference to online signups.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to the chance of welcoming you back to our hotel to experience the next level of service at Mercure.

Kind regards,
Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aelaide
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

A pilot friend of mine called the Mecure hotel the Manure hotel after we told him of our experience and how right he was. It was a disgrace!
Firstly-it is a building/demolition site at the moment. I have no problem with hotels having building works done but surely they are obliged to advise potential guests and /or reduce the rates. We arrived late on a Friday night to find a queue of disgruntled guests complaining about the air-conditioning not working in rooms at the very temporary reception desk. The only person who wanted to be there less than the guests was the reception staff who checked us in. our rooms were like saunas but we were lucky and eventually we got the air conditioning to work. Others were told to "go and sit in the bar area and make yourselves comfortable"-the bar area near reception comprising some plastic chairs in an area with black plastic for walls.Anyhow the bed was comfortable and we were only there for a few hours as we had to catch an early morning international flight.

Room Tip: Stay at a different airport hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear AussieMichaelAelaide,

Thank you very much for your recent feedback. We understand your time is important so we truly appreciate you taking the time to write a response.

Mercure is currently embarking on an exciting journey into the next phase at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel once this has been completed so we can demonstrate to you the changes we have made.

We have taken all your comments on board and will continue to monitor our product and services to ensure we are delivering to the highest standard possible. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable night in the room and hope you had a lovely flight.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to warmly welcoming you back to Mercure Sydney Airport.

Kind regards,
Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is an Accor property and to some extent has the Accor Mercure feel to it. Unfortunately the hotel is undergoing renovations and hence the exterior is still messy and the reception desk has been relocated. I got a very good price and at reception we were given an upgrade even though the room was pre paid. They recognised my Accor membership and we were given extra goodies in our room, very thoughtful. The shuttle to the airport works well and costs only a few dollars but it is better to take the shuttle to the hotel and walk to the Wolli Creek Station to catch a train to Sydney centre for a few dollars instead of the $16.00 pp for the Airport Link train. The shuttle to catch early morning flight got us to the airport in good time. Excellent stay for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Airport, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear eaa1947,

First of all thank you for taking the time in giving us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you had an excellent stay at Mercure Sydney Airport. We look forward to warmly welcome you back into the hotel.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaroa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The reason for choosing the hotel was its proximity to airport and shuttle. Both were good though chaotic bus parking at Mascot airport first thing in morning through no fault of shuttle or hotel made locating shuttle difficult

Hotel undergoing major remodelling so made entrance like a building site and very off putting.
However wonderful attitude of reception and -OH JOY- allowing us to use our room from 9am on arrival from international flight, more than made up for this.
All aspects of the hotel were better than first sight suggested and we rebooked to use it on return trip also.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Airport, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear heronpisces,

First of all thank you for taking the time in giving us your feedback and for your understanding as we undergo an exciting journey of transformation within the hotel. We have also forwarded your feedback to our front office team and please rest assured that their efforts will not go unnoticed. We trust you had an enjoyable flight and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return trip.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney Airport

Address: 20 Levey Street, Wolli Creek, Rockdale, New South Wales 2205, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Rockdale > Wolli Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Wolli Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney International Airport is conveniently located near both the international and domestic airport terminals, adjacent to the 18 hole Kogarah Golf Club and only 15 minutes from the city centre. Situated on the Cooks River and surrounded by parklands,the hotel features 271 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mercure Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Airport Hotel Wolli Creek
Mercure Wolli Creek
Mercure Hotel Sydney Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Sydney Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.