We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solitary Islands Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolgoolga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solitary Islands Lodge
Save
You added Solitary Islands Lodge to your Saves list
3 Arthur Street, Woolgoolga, New South Wales NSW 2456, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 5 Woolgoolga B&B and Inns
Yamba
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Simply great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2nights recently and were very comfortable and wonderfully looked after. Rooms and views are terrific and nothing was a problem for our welcoming hosts. Just a short stroll down the hill to sample the delights of Whoopie or to the beach.
Even the people downstairs smoking like chimneys on their deck was not enough to put us off.
We will certainly return!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanview435, Owner at Solitary Islands Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
I do apologise on behalf of the smokers! We do have a no-smoking policy and will certainly endeavour to make this clearer so other guests are not effected in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
26
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay. It is quite close to a wonderful beach and the small town of Woolgoolga is a great place for a seaside holiday. Our lovely room had spectacular views of the sea, beach and islands. Our hosts couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and a good breakfast was left in the fridge in our room. Can highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Warm welcome and excellent accommodation with coastal views. The breakfast idea with all the items for a tasty continental brekkie ready in your room is novel and gets over the B&B curse of a set time for breakfast. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We returned to Solitary Islands Lodge for our second stay there. This time we stayed in the North Solitary room for 2 nights (last time was in East Solitary for 3 nights). The place is as good as ever, and Denise is an excellent hostess. The room was spacious, well fitted-out and perfectly clean, with wonderful views. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

This is our 3rd visit to Solitary Islands Lodge. It now feels like coming home when we arrive. We have stayed in all three ensuite rooms and they are all equally lovely. The green room has a view and a nice balcony. The red room has a more panoramic view and is a good size. The blue room does not have the view, but has a balcony and the size of the the room is huge, (also with bathtub in ensuite You can't go wrong with any room. The beds are really comfortable with wonderful linen. Hosts Denise and John are delightful and very welcoming.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanview435, Owner at Solitary Islands Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dale thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review. Always nice to see you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here for just one night in December and was so pleasantly surprised it was a shame we could only stay one night.

Denise was a wonderful host and her information prior to arrival and upon arrival was of great help.

The house is lovely....spotless and very spacious rooms, parking available at the house and on the street.....lovely water views.
Lovely and quiet little area. Lovely walk down to the beach and restaurants.
The breakfast was wonderful and most importantly from local businesses/growers.

Cant wait to return and stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This totally lived up to our expectations after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. The house is on a hill and so close to the sea, with wonderful views from all rooms. The noise of the waves helped me to have a great night's sleep too! Denise welcomed us when we arrived and showed us round. I did express some disappointment that our room did not have a balcony, but Denise explained that as we preferred twin beds the top room was the biggest. She was right, and the views were so great we felt we did have a perfect room. The room was fitted with a fan too, plus all the windows opened (with fly screens of course) so we were never too hot. We had everything we needed, including a lovely continental breakfast each morning, and also 2 bottles of wine!Denise even washed a couple of tops for me. John was extremely friendly too, and helped us with planning the next part of our journey. All in all, a fab place to stay.

Room Tip: The top room does not have a balcony, but if you prefer twin beds it's the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanview435, Owner at Solitary Islands Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such helpful information and letting us know well in advance that you required split beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solitary Islands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solitary Islands Lodge

Address: 3 Arthur Street, Woolgoolga, New South Wales NSW 2456, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Woolgoolga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Woolgoolga
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayside, ocean and mountain views make Solitary Islands Lodge unique accommodation. Each room has ocean views and en-suites. A continental breakfast is provided in the rooms to have at your leisure while enjoying views of the Pacific Ocean. Just a short walk to the beach and restaurants. Woolgoolga is a seaside village located halfway between Sydney and Brisbane making it the perfect stopover. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solitary Islands Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.