We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First B&B experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avoca House & Cottage Accomm Wollombi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Avoca House & Cottage Accomm Wollombi to your Saves list
Avoca House & Cottage Accomm Wollombi
2683 Wollombi Road, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Wollombi B&B and Inns
Albion Park, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First B&B experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Somewhat tentative at first about staying at B&B's as opposed to hotels, especially with children as we considered B&B's to be the realm of couples, however we pleasantly surprised when we stayed at Avoca house. the experience was enjoyable, our children had a great time with the farm animals and were able to be involved in many tasks associated with looking after the animals. the accommodation was large, clean and comfortable. we were made to feel like visiting relatives from Angela and Bob who were exceptional hosts. Breakfast was amazing with a large variety and selection, most of the breakfast items were made from scratch. We would recommend the home made baked beans and bircher muesli however there was still excellent selections of bacon, eggs(prepared to order), toasted muesli, freshly squeezed juice. All things considered this was a very enjoyable stay and family weekend away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely short break at Angela and Bob's Avoca House B&B just out of Wollombi. They were attentive but not intrusive hosts. The beds and living areas were very comfy. The farm is gorgeous and the breakfasts were delicious. It was nice not staying in the touristy part of the Hunter, yet close enough for visits each day. Wollombi is a great little town with some excellent food options. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Myself, husband and 1.5 year old son stayed at Avoca House for two nights. In fact we intended to stay only 1-night, but we were so impressed, we extended our stay by an additional night.
Avoca House is a small working farm with cows, hens (and yes, you get to eat the eggs for breakfast), horses etc and a dog that was extremely tolerant of a toddlers constant cuddles and kisses. The rooms have been recently renovated to a high standard. The beds were super comfortable. There was sufficient heating to keep us snug on the -2 degree winter nights. And all of the extras you would find in a 5-star hotel (ie dryer, shampoos and conditioner, big bath towels, etc).
Our stay included breakfast for two mornings and on the final night we opted for the home cooked dinner. Angela is an exceptionally talented cook. The produce was of a high standard, ie freshly thick cut break, freshly laid eggs (poached, scrambled or fried), home-made Bircher muesli, REAL coffee made by her son who is a trained barista, etc, etc. The dinner was served in our room (with the option to dine in the dining room). It was of a high restaurant quality - lamb with an extra tasty potato bake and beans served with slivered almonds and all of the trimmings. The desert was a lemon soufflé with delicious creamy ice cream. When considering the cost of the equivalent meals at a restaurant, it makes the rooms feel like exceptional value (not something we normally get a sense of in the Hunter Valley).
Last but certainly not least were the amazing hosts, Bob and Angela. What an amazing team they make!! Bob took my husband and son around the farm to bring the cows in, letting my son sit on the tractor. Later Angela took my son to collect eggs (two of which is broke!). They were very accommodating to our additional needs that come with a toddler and extremely generous with their time.

We have travelled extensively, having lived overseas for quite a number of years. Our experience of the hunter has generally being overpriced and poor service. It was such a pleasant surprise to find this hidden gem only two hours from home. There is nothing to fault about Avoca House and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Hunter Valley.

Room Tip: If travelling with a family, choose the family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Everyone should experience Avoca House. The accommodation is excellent, in individual cottages. Clean, well presented with great facilities.The farm is beautiful, but it s the welcoming friendliness of Angela and Bob which is so wonderful. My son and I stayed in May, when Angela offers an evening meal.. And what a meal!! She is an amazing cook. We all ate together, with hunter valley wine. Lovely evenings with interesting conversation, information and guidance. I cannot recommend Avoca House highly enough.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I was visiting my daughter and her family who have recently emigrated from the UK to Sydney. I wanted to visit the Hunter Valley and my daughter found Avoca House - what a find! Bob and Angela are the perfect hosts - warm, welcoming, nothing too much trouble but not in your face. We had two rooms in one wing of the property which faced out onto a lovely courtyard. Great food - both at dinner and breakfast - and excellent hospitality are the hallmarks of this place. Bob gave us some very useful advice on which boutique vineyards to visit - both local and slightly further afield.
The setting is spectacular and you are right in the middle of the wine country. We did go for a beer at the Wolombi Tavern (which is an interesting experience) but decided not to partake of Dr Jurd's Jungle Juice as it sounded a touch dangerous.
We were only in Hunter for 24 hours but we packed a lot in and Avoca House is the perfect base. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Having lived in Australia for 13 years, I had done much travelling, but when my mum and dad finally arrived for their first visit from the UK, I wanted it to be extra special. We were limited on time, and I had to make the most of their visit, so that they had a feel of why I moved across the other side of the world from them..... and stayed!

Ange and Bob made a huge impression on the folks, and they can see why I have stayed in Oz. Their hospitality was incredibly warm and welcoming, the accomodation was spectacular and the home cooked food amazing.

I would highly recommend Avoca House B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

This was our second stay with Ange & Bob which was just perfect again! The accommodation was so clean and comfortable (with a big fire in our lounge), the food was so generous and delicious and the hospitality was so warm. The farm stay was perfect as our 2 year old toddler loved the feeding of the chicks and cows. Didnt need to bring anything as Avoca House has everything for kids (cots, high chair etc..) Highly recommend anyone to stay and we look forward to returning, feels like home from home....
Debz, Malc & Ella

Room Tip: clean, comfortable, delicious food and warm hospitality
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avoca House & Cottage Accomm Wollombi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avoca House & Cottage Accomm Wollombi

Address: 2683 Wollombi Road, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wollombi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy warm hospitality, great food and private uncluttered cottage accommodation at this beautiful farm nestled in historic Wollombi.Hosted breakfasts with all the trimmings, served daily in the central courtyard overlooking the duck ponds and cows grazing or in the cooler months in the farmhouse dining room. Sleeps 8–10. Small groups, families and couples all welcome.North Wing: 2 Queen Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Large loungeroom with slow combustion LOG FIRE & air-con. Views across property, duck ponds & courtyard from each room. South Wing: 2 Queen Ensuites & Twin Romm (2 Singles), loungeroom with slow combustion LOG FIRE & air-con. Views from each room - across duck ponds, wetlands, property & courtyard. BBQ facilities in courtyard. No cooking permitted inside B&B. Kitchenettes : tea & coffee making, mini fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Avoca House & Cottage Accomm Wollombi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avoca House & Cottage Accomm Wollombi Greater Newcastle, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avoca House & Cottage Accomm Wollombi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.