We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Somewhere Unique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Somewhere Unique to your Saves list
Somewhere Unique
Narone Creek Rd, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely gorgeous accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

From the enquiry process right through to our stay, service and attention to detail was top notch. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable 4 night stay, with every whim catered for, from the generous breakfast provisions, complimentary bottle of wine, chocolates and more, foxtel, sound system, cds, dvds, wi-fi are all thoughtfully provided for use by guests, luxury bathroom products in the most luxurious bathroom you could hope to encounter (the enormous bath is amazing). The king size bed was extremely comfortable and we slept very well in such peaceful surroundings. The kitchen is very well equipped, and the BBQ on the deck is great for eating alfresco. The sun loungers on the deck are perfect for lying back and reading a book. It's an easy walk into lovely Wollombi village where there's a couple of coffee shops, tavern, restaurant and wine tasting. If you are looking for a relaxing break in luxurious accommodation, then this is your place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear chrissy88

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review. I'm glad you enjoyed a relaxing getaway in beautiful Wollombi, and took the time to make use of the sun loungers and read a good book (we should all take time to do that!)

The Wollombi village is a great little spot, and you can also enjoy the boutique vineyards along the Wollombi Wine Trail if you don't feel the need to head to the main vineyards district.

We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
117
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this Retreat for the period 2nd December to the 5th . From the marketing of the place on the website our expectations were high so it was to our delight that these were more than matched . The Retreat is situated in a place of tranquil beauty high up in rocky woodland . There is little chance of being disturbed by people , vehicles or machinery - only the wildlife which coming from England was jaw dropping ! But what sets this place apart from similar places we have stayed at is the attention to detail from the owners . All your needs are catered for from the gourmet food which lasted us the 4 days right down to the shoe horn that everyone occasionally needs - the list is almost endless but to say that this place is well thought out would be an understatement and we cannot wait to get the opportunity to return .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear courtgambla

Wonderful to read that the retreats exceeded your expectations! We certainly work hard to ensure that how the property is advertised is really what you get when you arrive.

A visit to Somewhere Unique is certainly a unique experience for all our guests, but especially so for our international guests - a beautiful, private, tranquil spot in a bushland setting, yet only minutes from the historic Wollombi village, cafes and vineyards. You may be lucky enough to spot kangaroos and wombats around the retreat, or simply take a walk or ride the bikes down our road at dusk to see the kangaroos grazing in the paddocks on the valley floor. We also have a huge range of birdlife, from the entertaining fairy wrens to sulphur-crested cockatoos.

We look forward to welcoming you again next time you visit Australia.

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutral Bay, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

It was lovely arriving and settling straight into relaxation mode. A mere 30 minutes to cook dinner, draw a bath and set up the fondue. Every little detail was thought of and executed perfectly.
We used the bikes to make the short trip into town, played scrabble whilst enjoying our cheese platter and made a very small dint on the the bottles we had acquired at our wine tour! The rain shower and air-con was lovely in 38 degree weather, the candles and petals were very romantic and the breakfast supplies were more than enough for two mornings (and super delicious and fresh).
Thanks so much Melanie for helping me celebrate Grahams birthday, cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Olivia

Thank you for your wonderful review, and the fantastic photo of the bath surrounded by lit candles. Sounds like you had a very relaxing weekend!

The bikes have been getting a lot of use lately - whether you are just looking for a short ride into the village for a coffee or lunch, a ride to one of the nearby vineyards for wine tasting or a picnic amongst the vines, or a longer ride to really get some exercise!

We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

It was 44 degrees outside but when we walked into our accommodation at Somewhere Unique the air conditioning was on, the music was plaiying and the complementary wine was chilling .....heaven. Beatifully appointed, biggest bath I have ever seen, bathrobes and complementary slippers. We asked for the BBQ pack which came with salad and chat potatos, the meat was great quality. My husband and I are definitely going back, maybe winter so we can take advantage of the fireplace..


  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Silvana

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your heavenly review! I should point out first that 44 degrees is much warmer than normal!! That was certainly one very hot day (I remember it well) ... our retreats have been architect designed using passive solar principles, so are easy to keep cool in Summer and warm in Winter. Perfect all year round! Depending on the time of year we make sure our guests are comfortable when they arrive, whether that is having the A/C on in the Summer, or the heating and lights on for later arrivals in the Winter.

I'm glad you enjoyed the BBQ pack - they are very popular. Guests can choose from Scotch Fillet, Salmon Fillet or Stuffed Chicken Breast, and all come with salad and potatoes. There is a gas BBQ on the deck so you can sit outside and take in the views with a glass of wine.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Winter so you can snuggle up in front of the fire!

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent our honeymoon at Somewhere Unique last year and returned for our anniversary. The perfect place to relax with everything you could ask for - delicious food and cheese platters, a peaceful retreat with a rural outlook, close to the Hunter Valley for a day trip and wineries close by. The cabin is beautifully appointed and I would highly recommend a getaway there if you want a quiet and relaxing place.

Room Tip: Both cabins are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Anne B

It was wonderful to welcome you both back for your first wedding anniversary! Sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet we are able to offer our guests, but as you say, still close enough to the restaurants, cafes and wineries of the Hunter Valley if you feel the need to venture out ...

We look forward to welcoming you again next year for your anniversary celebration.

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

From the opening of the door with music playing and the smell of beauitful oils.
I knew a made a great pick with going into Somewhere Unique.
The food was wonderful dinner, breakfast. (choc almond cake was beautiful)
The Muse Cafe where we had lunch was really good food plus when our dessert came out
they wrote happy anniversy around our dessert place which was very nice of them.

Every room was beautiful made you feel like not going home.
It is a must go to Somewhere Unquie

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Julie and Alan

I'm so glad we could make your 40th Wedding Anniversary such a memorable one! Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, and wonderful to hear you enjoyed your lunch at Muse - one of our favourite restaurants in the Hunter Valley.

We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, nsw
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

One of the rare occasions where the website pictures match the reality. This retreat exceeded our expectations. Everything was of the highest quality. It is obvious that alot of thought has gone into these cabins. It was exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Marion P

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review. It is lovely to hear that the retreats at Somewhere Unique exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somewhere Unique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somewhere Unique

Address: Narone Creek Rd, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Wollombi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Somewhere Unique’ is located near the historic village of Wollombi in the Hunter Valley, two hours drive from the Sydney CBD. Two completely private couples-only retreats combine a tranquil setting with superb comfort and attention to detail. The retreats are Eco-certified and feature a king-sized bed, two person bath, rain shower, bathrobes, gas log fireplace, air-conditioning, Foxtel, stereo with iPod dock, Wi-Fi, modern kitchen, mini-bar, BBQ and private deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Somewhere Unique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somewhere Unique Wollombi, Greater Newcastle, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somewhere Unique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.