We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mystwood

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wollombi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mystwood
Save
You added Mystwood to your Saves list
117 Milson Arms Road, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at Mystwood for four days in October 2013. This place is truely amazing. The cabins were spacious. The jacuzzi was a nice addition and clean. The included breakfast was excellent with eggs and bacon. Highly recommended place for a weekend away in the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    6
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
75
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is the perfect escape to relax. Geared for couples so peace is assured. Not a lot to do which is perfect. Sit in the spa, relax and watch TV, read or just sit! The extra attention and meal prepared is so thoughtful. Supplies in the fridge, filtered water and everything you need to prepare your own meal if you don't want to go anywhere at all. Wollombi has a great café for lunches too. We saw a huge goanna from our cabin window and loved looking at the stars from the spa at night. Would recommend for couples looking for down time.

Room Tip: Cabins four and five are at the end and completely private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the cabins earlier this month. We loved the property, it was a very relaxing break and the owners were very welcoming. We slept very well in the comfy bed and enjoyed the peace and quiet this property offers.
The town of Wollombi itself was unexpectedly beautiful and we enjoyed dinner in town at Panino.
The property is around a 40 minute drive to Pokolbin and all the wineries.
Overall I would rate the stay around 4/5.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This place was absolutely great. The owners were lovely and very accommodating, from the start they made it very clear we could ask almost anything from them. The property is beautiful with many things to see and do and I would recommend to everyone, families and couples alike.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of escaping the busyness of Sydney over Valentines weekend to Mystwood. Both of us were amazed at what a beautiful, refreshing time we had. We started off our trip by sitting in the spa staring at the clear starry skies. The next morning we were we brought freshly baked bread that was absolutely delicious, and the breakfast basket was perfect! The wine tour was fantastic and so were our afternoon dusk strolls. The beds were comfortable and huge, as was the DVD selection. Its very rare that my husband and I can agree on a movie to watch, but we both ended up sitting on the lounge enjoying movies that we both liked.

Words cannot express how special Mystwood is. Every step I took in that valley refreshed my soul, and the owners truly care about making your experience comfortable and memorable.
I highly recommend Mystwood to anyone who just needs to get away and breathe!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I needed to get out of Sydney for a weekend and stayed at Mystwood. Wow, what a peaceful weekend it was. The cabin was perfect, stylish yet cosy and the bed was so comfortable that we slept like never before. Woke up to the views of the bush and the sounds of the birds, so refreshed and relaxed. The home made bread and private outdoor spa was just a bonus. We really got what we came for and will most definitely go back when we have the urge to escape the city. Thank you Mystwood!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Quintessential Aussie bush escape but so close to Sydney and the hunter valley. The spa is perfect after a hard day touring the wineries. Explore the property watch wild wildlife from the dam. Have a pub lunch 5 minutes down the road at wollombi village. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mystwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystwood

Address: 117 Milson Arms Road, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Wollombi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Mystwood Wollombi, Greater Newcastle, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.