We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're about to experience something very special!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Edge Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wollombi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Edge Retreat
Save
You added Wild Edge Retreat to your Saves list
260 Craft Road, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“You're about to experience something very special!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

This place is just absolutely breathtaking.... It was the perfect weekend away!!!

From the moment we entered the gates, and our host walked over to meet us, we knew we were about to experience something very special!!

We stayed in the 'Whispering Forest' pavilion, and WOW, the attention to detail in EVERYTHING, was amazing!!

It's not just a place to stay, it's an experience. Words just can not explain the feeling this place gives you, and the mark it leaves on your heart.... It's beautiful ❤

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hi MsSami!

Thank you for such a great and heart felt review of Wild Edge. It was our pleasure to have you stay and a little humbling to read your review.

We do aim to give our guests that extra special experience that does leave a lasting impression, so it's great to read when we have.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for a little longer next time!!

Many thanks again,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Managert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    0
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
56
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Entrance, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

What can I say - my partner surprised me on a weekend away - I had no idea where I was going and we ended up in the Hunter Valley and then a couple of nights at the Wild Edge Retreat.

We were blown away to think accommodation like this was so close to home. The private rooms were beautiful, total modern luxury. We stayed in the Wind Spirit Pavilion having our own private infinity edge pool and spa the pictures on the website don't due this Pavilion justice you have to come and experience it to truly appreciate its beauty.

We highly recommend everyone who wants some time out with the ultimate indulgence. We believe everyone should come and experience this at least once in a life time regardless of your budget. The owners are fantastic and will do anything to make your experience truly unforgettable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. It's always great when one of our guests are 'whisked away' for a surprise weekend - and even more so when there is a marriage proposal involved!

So pleased it all went to plan. The engagement ring is stunning and congratulations to you both.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Alan
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful three night stay at Wild Edge Retreat. This place is immaculate and trust me, I’m a princess and wear my Tiara with pride. Everything is provided for your stay. The owners are welcoming then leave you alone to do your own thing. We only saw one other couple once when they walked past as they were departing.

The spa is huge, the king bed is comfy, the sheets are clean, the lounge is new and not saggy, everything in the kitchen is supplied that you would need. the balcony equipped with day-bed, BBQ and outdoor eating area were of huge proportion to accompany the amazing view.

Bring your own food as the local town does not have much to offer AND you won’t want to leave Wild Edge anyway!

I cannot recommend this place enough. We will definitely be back in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Kelly,

Thank you for submitting your review of Wild Edge. I was pleased to read that you had both enjoyed your three night stay with us so much that you didn't want to leave!!

We are very conscious of making sure are guests are comfortable, and it seems as though we hit the mark with you - which is great.

Many thanks again for not only staying with us, but also for sharing you experience here.

Kind regards,

Alan
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of celebrating our 30th wedding at Wild Edge Retreat. We're pretty sure that there is no other place on this earth where we could feel so pampered and at peace. As we walked into 'Nature's Mist', we were greeted by peaceful music, candle light and the most beautiful view over the valley and farmland below. Alan gave us time to recover from the 'WOW' factor and then walked us through the pavilion providing us with every detail needed to ensure that our stay was comfortable and uneventful. It was immaculately appointed. The food platters that we ordered were beautiful and contained everything that we needed and more!.....What more could you ask for than a lovely cup of plunger coffee with a Tim Tam while reclining on the lounge on the out door day bed. We felt privileged to stay at this most beautiful part of the world. Thank you Alan! Mary and Bruce

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mary and Bruce,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your 30th Wedding Anniversary with us and for posting your review.

It was our pleasure to welcome you both. I always get a 'buzz' when guests walk into their Pavilion and the first word I hear is 'WOW'!!

So pleased that you enjoyed your experience of the Retreat and the platters that you had ordered.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Very best wishes and regards,

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksmiths, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Breathtaking and Beyond perfect

Having read all the reviews of Wild Edge we had extremely high expectations. These were met and well exceeded. I could describe in detail the welcoming by Andrew, the feeling of complete relaxation as we were escorted to our pavilion, the overwhelming joy as we entered Wind Spirit, that can only be described as paradise ( yes there were tears), and the feelings of complete peace and togetherness that we felt the whole time we were at Wild Edge. However, words are not enough to begin to describe the most perfect honeymoon/vacation/retreat, you really need to experience it yourself. I am still overwhelmed as I recall our stay ,from the booking and arrangements, to the welcome, to the location, to the pristine condition of the pavilion, to the 6 star service, to the farewell by Alan. I cannot recommend Wild Edge highly enough. We will return to this amazing piece of heaven on earth. Thank you Andrew and Alan for providing us with the most amazing few days of our life. Iain and Annie

Room Tip: We had originally chosen Earth Song, were graciously upgraded to Wind Spirit. I think any of the fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Iain and Annie,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you spend your Honeymoon with us and I am probably almost as overwhelmed by your review as you were with our property!!

It's difficult to know what to say, except thank you so much for not only taking the time, but for writing such a positive review. Our aim at Wild Edge is not to just offer guests fantastic accommodation, amazing views and service, but a total experience, which it seems we succeed to do for you.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Wild Edge....maybe for your anniversary!

Again, sincere thanks.

Kind regards,

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

After a great day of sightseeing around Wollombi and surrounding vineyards, we were looking to spend the rest of the weekend to unwind and relax. Wild Edge Retreat was certainly the place for us !!! With spectacular views during day and night, beautiful ambience and a wonderfully appointed pavilion (we stayed in Earth Song) we really didn't want to leave. The host of the resort, Alan, was keen to ensure that we were always comfortable and that our stay was all the more enjoyable. Thankyou for your great hospitality. George and Lydia

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear George and Lydia,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your Pavilion and the hospitality we aim to extend to all of our guests.

Having travelled extensively ourselves, we know how important it is to feel welcomed and to actually be greeted by your hosts on arrival.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Thank you Alan for once again welcoming us to Wild Edge. It was a pleasure to celebrate my birthday at your unique, 6 star retreat and create the kind of lasting memories that will bring us back again and again.

Upon entering our immaculately presented pavillion, Whispering Forest (and yes, the forest does actually whisper!) one word springs to mind - Faultless. The attention to detail is amazing and our very kind, respectful hosts ensured that our stay was perfect in every way.

Things we loved.....the cosy wood fireplace, the soft music, the 2 person spa (sheer bliss), the spectacular floor to ceiling windows, the dreamy bed, the modern furnishings, the well equipped kitchen.

We spent much of our time on the private deck, just taking in the glorious views and were in awe of the ever-changing landscape from sunrise to sunset. We were fascinated with the abundance of bird life and watched as they happily pruned the native shrubs by day and were treated to a spectacular display of stars in the sky at night.

We wish we could keep this our little secret but that would be unfair to our hosts who work so hard creating such a unique experience for their guests.

We feel sure we leave the retreat as better people - appreciative of each other and at peace with the world.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Angela B,

What can I say?? It was our pleasure to welcome you back to the Retreat and your review has left me somewhat stuck for words! Naturally, we are always pleased to receive positive reviews and judging by yours, we hit the mark on every count, which is what we always strive to do. The only trouble now is.....how are we going to top that when you visit next time!!

Many thanks again and we hope to see you back at Wild Edge soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Edge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Edge Retreat

Address: 260 Craft Road, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Wollombi
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Edge retreat is a 'Couples Only' Retreat. Positioned within our 100 acre property on a Mountain Ridgeline and comprising of four luxury Spa Pavilions, each with it's own breathtaking view of the valleys and mountains beyond.Surrounded on three sides by State Forest, Wild Edge offers guests peace and tranquility with the benefits of modern luxury accommodation. Two of our Pavilions have their own private plunge pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wild Edge Retreat Wollombi, Greater Newcastle, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Edge Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.