We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely incredible !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Edge Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wollombi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Edge Retreat
Save
You added Wild Edge Retreat to your Saves list
260 Craft Road, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely incredible !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in the natures mist pavilion over the weekend and were stunned at how incredible it was ! The online photos do not do this retreat any justice, and do need to be experienced to be able to witness the peacefulness, privacy and quality of the pavilions. Everything is well thought out by the owners and every attention to detail has been covered. The spa has incredible views of the valley as does the private pool and king size outdoor day bed. We could picture ourselves staying there forever ! We loved everything about Wild Edge Retreat and Alan was very welcoming and more then happy to help with any requests.
We will definately be returning !
Harry & Charlotte

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    0
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
56
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelly Beach, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have one word to describe Wild egde retreat unforgettable. On our arrival the management was welcoming and helpful. The rooms and food were amazing. As my partner planned a suprise proposal, Alan could not have done a better job setting up the room. I loved the rose petals candles and music.I would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to get away for a romantic weekend or to simply get away and relax. Thanks again Alan.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in the Nature's Mist Pavilion last year. The rooms were amazing but the service left a little to be desired. Management were quite abrupt and didn't really make you feel welcome.

The rooms themselves were incredible. We had a lovely fireplace which we kept running the entire time we were there which was so romantic. The views were amazing - looking down into the valley below through the gumtrees was brilliant. The bed was lovely and the breakfast provisions were nice too. When we entered the pavilion, some beautiful mood music was playing which was also thoughtful.

The negatives were that the towels were cheap and thin. We bought the romance package and I was surprised to see that they used fake rose petals which was a real let down. When you're paying that much money, you'd expect that they'd at least use real rose petals. As mentioned, management weren't really welcoming or warm and we felt like we were treated quite poorly...

Overall, our experience was ok but nothing spectacular. If management changed their tune, we'd consider going back for the rooms were simply amazing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear John,
Thank you for your review of Wild Edge Retreat. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your Pavilion, the log fire, bed comfort and views, but disappointing to read that you had not been satisfied with the level of service provided during your stay, which was in fact July 2011 and not October as you have stated.

Incidentally, you may recall that at the time of booking, the Pavilion you requested was not available and you were offered an up-grade at no additional cost.

Our records indicate that you actually ordered the silk rose petals on the day of your arrival, not the Romance Package as you state in your review. It is clearly written on our website and on your booking confirmation that we use silk petals.

As you can see from other guest reviews, we have received some excellent comments on the level of service and standards we provide. I do recall that despite being advised verbally and in writing, that our Pavilions are non smoking, you continued to smoke inside. Clearly you did not like being asked to conform to this request and presumably is why you didn't like Managements attitude. Further, I do not understand is why it has taken you 14 months to submit your review, which incidentally, is well over the 12 month time frame set down by tripAdviser. I also note that over the past week you have submitted some 26 reviews dating back over 2 years, which in itself is a little strange.

Finally, thank you for your generous offer to return if Management changed it's attitude, but in this instance, Management does not believe it's they who need to change attitude.

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Hard to describe how fantastic this retreat is. We have stayed in numerous places in the Hunter but none compare to the standard, views and genuine hospitality.
No the cheapest in the Hunter but the best never is!

Highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

It's only been a week since we stayed in Whispering Forest and we miss it already! The retreat is the perfect place for total relaxation and it far exceeded our expectations. On arrival, the owner made us feel very welcome and showed us to our immaculately presented pavillion. The scene was set for the rest of the weekend... cosy fireplace, warm spa,scented candles, soothing music and TOTAL relaxation. On departure we felt like completely different people, refreshed and rejuvenated and ready to start the working week. We would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

As soon as you arrive at the front gates you know that you are in for something special, then they open and you feel like all the worries in the world are left behind.
With manicured gardens and elevated timber walkways throughout the Retreat it makes the early morning walks just that little bit more spectactular. The view of the morning fog laying in the valley is just breathtaking from your private Pavillion and covered timber decking, and the sunsets are absolutely spectactular while laying on the huge daybed. With a massive bathroom and equally large spa and shower, fireplace, kitchen, dining and bedroom all in the privacy of your Pavillion, it makes Wild Edge not only 1, but 2 steps above anywhere else.
I cannot fault this Retreat in anyway, and cannot rate them high enough. If there was such a thing as 6 star accommodation they would still be above it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Not sure which of our recent guests posted the above feedback, but many thanks to you and to other guests who have taken the time to write such positive words about our Retreat.

Our goal at Wild Edge is always to surpass our guests expectations and judging by posts made over the past 12 months, on numerous occassions, we seem to have achieved this not only on Tripadviser, but also the comments made on our guest surveys and emails received.

At Wild Edge Retreat we believe in providing only the very best accommodation possible, with spectacular views, privacy and unobtrusive service, delivered in a warm and friendly manner.

Again, thank you for your feedback, it really is very rewarding to read that our guests appreciate the hard work we constanly put into making Wild Edge Retreat a truely unique and special place for our guests to enjoy.

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We've just returned from 2 nights at Whispering Forest pavilion and would have to agree with all of the positive reviews that we've read here. The setting is fantastic if you want to really get away from it all with little/ no mobile reception and a drive up a steep unsealed dirt track to reach the property.
We loved the welcoming music and scented oil burning on arrival, the huge spa bath overlooking the deck and one of the most comfortable beds that we've ever slept in. If we had to come up with one criticism, it would be the sofa not being the most comfortable for lounging around, reading papers/ watching movies. But that's a very minor criticism.
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Edge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Edge Retreat

Address: 260 Craft Road, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Wollombi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Edge retreat is a 'Couples Only' Retreat. Positioned within our 100 acre property on a Mountain Ridgeline and comprising of four luxury Spa Pavilions, each with it's own breathtaking view of the valleys and mountains beyond.Surrounded on three sides by State Forest, Wild Edge offers guests peace and tranquility with the benefits of modern luxury accommodation. Two of our Pavilions have their own private plunge pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wild Edge Retreat Wollombi, Greater Newcastle, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Edge Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.